Hacking NOOB PARADISE - ask away

chinmi

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 6, 2003
Messages
46
Trophies
0
XP
228
Country
Indonesia
Hello, I have 2 wii, 1 which is bricked with 003 error and 1 which have the latest dvd rom drive that cannot read dvd-r, both is using softmod, and both is korean... and since the bricked one doesnt have any bootmii/priiloader installed i think this thing i beyond repair...

what i'm curious is, does the bricked one dvd rom drive can still function ? the reason i'm asking this i want to swap the dvd drive from the bricked one to the one that have the unhackable dvddrive model...

thanks in advance
 

screwed

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 19, 2006
Messages
87
Trophies
0
Age
36
Website
Visit site
XP
185
Country
Norway
I have a softmodded wii (and also a drive chip), but with the the new update I cant access the Wii shop channel or even load original purchased games in the DVD drive, original Mario Kart Wii tells me to update. Is there a workaround for this to make the Wii at least think its been updated so i can easily run my original games without going to HBC and Gecko (or similar)?
 

gramin

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 20, 2009
Messages
31
Trophies
0
XP
38
Country
United States
I have a NTSC WAD of Super Metroid VC I'm trying to run on my freshly hacked PAL Wii. But when I try to run it I just get a black screen and frozen Wii.

Not sure what I'm doing wrong. I have made the Wii region free with Priiloader.

EDIT: I've gotten Yoshi's Story N64 VC NTSC to work, though the sound is screwed here and there and performance is a bit crap. Not sure if this is related.
 

GundamXXX

Ergo Ego
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
1,140
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Australia
Website
Visit site
XP
297
Country
Im having issues with my Wii, the awnser is most likely somewhere in here but I admit im too lazy to search 463 pages ;p

I have a 3.2 softmodded Wii (twilight hack) with HBC and 0.3 Gamma loader

I was able to load everything, but at the moment almost everything gives me error #002

I can do originals and some backups but most backups give this error.

Anyone any clue as how to fix this? Thanks in advance
 

Shuyinsan

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
1
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
Netherlands
I hope somebody can help me in the right direction here.

I had a 4.2E softmodded wii, running Neogamma etc etc.
Bootmii 2 was installed on it.

Now the person who owned the wii bought SMG2 for his kids and updated via the disc (which was weird since I inatially told it to block disc updates i believe) anyway.

The game works fine (SMG2) but the softmod is gone ofcourse.

Now with the 4.3 firmware being released what is my best way/option to do and softmod this wii again?

Shall I just use the SD card hack to install the HBC and an install new IOS/cIOS files and a loader.
Or should I just update to 4.3E and softmod from there (however that works)

I don't own Indiana jones or Super smash brawl either.

in short:
I need to softmod a disc updated(SMG2) 4.2E wii, that also plays NSMB and SMG2 without problems.

Thanks in advance
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
gramin said:
I have a NTSC WAD of Super Metroid VC I'm trying to run on my freshly hacked PAL Wii. But when I try to run it I just get a black screen and frozen Wii.

Not sure what I'm doing wrong. I have made the Wii region free with Priiloader.

EDIT: I've gotten Yoshi's Story N64 VC NTSC to work, though the sound is screwed here and there and performance is a bit crap. Not sure if this is related.

Corrupt wads...
 

Riley

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
1,123
Trophies
0
Location
BC Canada
XP
186
Country
Canada
Shuyinsan said:
I hope somebody can help me in the right direction here.

I had a 4.2E softmodded wii, running Neogamma etc etc.
Bootmii 2 was installed on it.

Now the person who owned the wii bought SMG2 for his kids and updated via the disc (which was weird since I inatially told it to block disc updates i believe) anyway.

The game works fine (SMG2) but the softmod is gone ofcourse.

Now with the 4.3 firmware being released what is my best way/option to do and softmod this wii again?

Shall I just use the SD card hack to install the HBC and an install new IOS/cIOS files and a loader.
Or should I just update to 4.3E and softmod from there (however that works)

I don't own Indiana jones or Super smash brawl either.

in short:
I need to softmod a disc updated(SMG2) 4.2E wii, that also plays NSMB and SMG2 without problems.

Thanks in advance

Dont update to 4.3.
Use this guide.
 

superman101

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
25
Trophies
0
XP
28
Country
United States
hey, i was running super mario galaxy 2 from usbloaderGX and at certain points the game stops playing sound, i can still move between planets but whenever it starts loading something(aka the home place after you get the star) it just blackscreens, the second time this happened i tried going to the wii menu, but it also blackscreened there, is this a problem because a bad rip or is it an actual technical problem
 

ChokeD

The Contributor
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2009
Messages
968
Trophies
0
XP
167
Country
United States
superman101 said:
hey, i was running super mario galaxy 2 from usbloaderGX and at certain points the game stops playing sound, i can still move between planets but whenever it starts loading something(aka the home place after you get the star) it just blackscreens, the second time this happened i tried going to the wii menu, but it also blackscreened there, is this a problem because a bad rip or is it an actual technical problem
Could be the rip but I had problems with 222v5x so if you think it may be a good rip try installing 222v4 and give it a try.

USBLoaderGX system default is 222v4 and works great.
 

optimus357

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
I am a noob who some months ago put Homebrew on his Wii to try the Balanced Brawl mod. When my Wii disk drive stopped running I deleted Homebrew from the data menu and sent it to Nintendo only to have them refuse to repair it. I have since had my Wii fixed by a 3rd party and I have no use for Homebrew or any other mods, but I would like to update to 4.3 for Wii Shop priveleges without all the workarounds. Is there any danger in this update, short of burning my bridges back to some of the mods? I still have a gap in my data menu from where Homebrew was and for some reason Super Paper Mario can't save due to a perpetually corrupted file (even after deletion and without having repercussions anywhere else in my system memory). My dream is that update 4.3 will fix these festering issues without bricking my Wii. All insight is welcome and thank you for reading.
 

Sharkface

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
20
Trophies
0
XP
45
Country
United States
I have a Wii on very ooooold firmware. I want to update it so I can play a few newer games. I think my last time I needed an update was... before No More Heroes 2 so It was the update that first supported those games... not so sure. I can double check, but yeah.

I want to update so I can play some newer games, but I know that when you have a modchip or whatever it could brick your system.

Is there a safe way to do this so I can play some newer games on my Wii?

I have a D2Pro chip, I believe... so, yeah. If anybody could assist, thank you.
 

3dd

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
2
Country
Hi, my friend had hardmoded my wii a long time ago but recently softmoded it, hes a pain in the backside as he is vitually impossible to get hold of so im trying to fix this problem myself. My wii is ver 4.2E and I currently have THC (upside down), Neogamma R8 b12, Gecko OS, Configurable USB Loader, BootMii (not sure which version), Priiloader v0.2 (says in brackets next to it (r30)) and on the Priiloader screen also says IOS v70 and under that Systemmenu v482.

The problem is that I can't play back up discs, the odd one worked before he softmoded it but now the few that did work no longer work and on top of that one of my official games won't play anymore (it works on my friends wii which hasnt been moded). Today I used WBFS to put a game onto my external hard drive(formatted) and tried playing it through confurable USB loader but I get the message "[+] error: custom IOS 249 could not be loaded! (-4100)". In future I plan on playing games via external hard drive rather than back up discs. If you can help fix that problem without me re-softmoding it that would be great if not I am trying to re-softmod it myself (using the guide on completesoftmodguide) and am having problems so far these are the steps I have followed from the site -

1. Bannerbomb loads files from the root of the SD card, so in this case, put the hackmii installer there.
Download the hackmii installer and extract it. Open the folder that was extracted and you will see a file named boot.elf. Copy this file to the SD card

2. Downloading bannerbomb from its official site.
Go to the bannerbomb website. You will see some instructions there, ignore these. Download the aad1f.zip file (abd6a.zip for 4.2) and extract it to the SD card.

3. Insert the SD card in the wii and turn on the Wii.

4. Executing the bannerbomb exploit.
On 4.1/lower: Go to the Wii options (the big Wii button on the bottom left). Choose Data management, then Wii, go to Channels and finally click SD card at the top right.
On 4.2: Go to the SD Card Menu (SD button in Wii menu)

5. You should now see the following prompt: Load boot.dol/elf
Choose Yes. It will boot the Hackmii installer.

6. You will see a Scam warning screen:
Wait for the message at the bottom to appear, then press 1.

Then I get "This installer can NOT continue, no Vulnerable IOS installed!" so I follow the instructions to fix it -

1. Download and extract the contents of the Hackmii Installer-No Vulnerable IOS Solution.rar and extract it somewhere.

2. Run/double-click the batch file (Hackmii Installer-No Vulnerable IOS Solution.bat). You may need to right click it and select run as Administrator for it to work.

3. Wait for it to finish downloading, then copy the contents COPY_TO_SD folder to the root of your SD Card

so I've done as instructed and I then put the SD card back in the wii and try again but I still get the same error message so I don't know what to do now.
Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks.
 

NinjaOC

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 16, 2010
Messages
1
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
Alright, this is the problem that I am coming accross.

My Wii is 4.2U and is a black model (has the chip which will not allow me to play DVD-R).

I do not understand much of anything of what I have done, i just simply followed this guide 100% (http://sites.google.com/site/completesg/hacking-guide/the-basics). My problem now is, that since I cannot play DVD-Rs, I want to use the USBLoader option, however everytime I open it (it shows up on HBC) it just is a black screen with white letters and it says that it is dumping something and then brings me back to the HBC main page.

What I need to know, is what files/folders/whatever do I need to have in my SD card for USBLoader to read my USB? Did I do something wrong when going through the soft mod?

Thanks a whole lot to whoever replies. This has been a headache.
frown.gif
 

ether2802

we have the techno...!!
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
4,349
Trophies
0
Age
39
Location
Pto. Vallarta
XP
292
Country
Mexico
NinjaOC said:
Alright, this is the problem that I am coming accross.

My Wii is 4.2U and is a black model (has the chip which will not allow me to play DVD-R).

I do not understand much of anything of what I have done, i just simply followed this guide 100% (http://sites.google.com/site/completesg/hacking-guide/the-basics). My problem now is, that since I cannot play DVD-Rs, I want to use the USBLoader option, however everytime I open it (it shows up on HBC) it just is a black screen with white letters and it says that it is dumping something and then brings me back to the HBC main page.

What I need to know, is what files/folders/whatever do I need to have in my SD card for USBLoader to read my USB? Did I do something wrong when going through the soft mod?

Thanks a whole lot to whoever replies. This has been a headache.
frown.gif


Have you checked wiibrew.org ...?? it might help for all the apps, cause it is bassically the same folders order, nothing to do with USB loaders, but it can give you a general idea of how HBC works...!!
wink.gif
 

blizeH

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
465
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
UK
Website
www.zestdesign.net
XP
309
Country
Hi guys, a few quick questions still:

1. When I try to view the SD card from the main menu my Wii freezes up, is that normal?
2. Any WiiWare titles I install show up just fine as a channel, with music and animations etc, but they won't load.
3. Can I get the uLoader 2 or whatever to load instead of the homebrew channel when I turn on my Wii please?

Thanks!
 

Riley

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
1,123
Trophies
0
Location
BC Canada
XP
186
Country
Canada
blizeH said:
Hi guys, a few quick questions still:

1. When I try to view the SD card from the main menu my Wii freezes up, is that normal? Try removing the private folder off your sd card.
2. Any WiiWare titles I install show up just fine as a channel, with music and animations etc, but they won't load. Install IOS 38, 53, 55 using DOP-mii.
3. Can I get the uLoader 2 or whatever to load instead of the homebrew channel when I turn on my Wii please? Install Priiloader and set it to load installed file. Install the uloader .dol.

Thanks!
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras: I'm not dirty anymore