Hacking Suggestion Nintendont?

Do you think FIX94 would create a switch version of Nintendont?

  • YES!!

    Votes: 16 22.9%
  • no.

    Votes: 54 77.1%

  • Total voters
    70

TechDark

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 6, 2018
Messages
44
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
351
Country
Norway
When Homebrew Launcher is completed on the Nintendo Switch, i would love to see a Gamecube emulator on the switch like Nintendont
Wat'ya think?
 
  • Like
Reactions: blinkzane

Brawl345

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2012
Messages
774
Trophies
2
Website
wiidatabase.de
XP
2,828
Country
Germany
Nintendont is not a Gamecube emulator - it's a "bridge" which "converts" the GC functions to Wii functions and emulates a few (Disc reads, Memory card, etc.). This is not possible on the Switch obviously.

EDIT: And can we please just wait until the HBL is actually released before we talk about what is possible?
 
Last edited by Brawl345,
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
641
Trophies
0
Age
82
XP
832
Country
United States
Not happening. Nintendont took advantage of the hardware in the Wii (dunno about the WiiU or if Nintendont is even on there) being compatible natively with Gamecube games. The Switch doesn't have that.

Nintendont is not a Gamecube emulator - it's a "bridge" which "converts" the GC functions to Wii functions and emulates a few (Disc reads, Memory card, etc.). This is not possible on the Switch obviously.

EDIT: And can we please just wait until the HBL is actually released before we talk about what is possible?

Basically this.

HOWEVER! There is hope!

https://www.engadget.com/2017/12/05/nintendo-wii-gamecube-nvidia-shield-china/

Gamecube and Wii games are running natively on the Nvidia Shield in China right now. Given how similar the hardwares for the Switch and Shield are, I think it's fair to assume that they may come to it in the future. Whether it's near or far however remains to be seen. So, to say Nintendont specifically (or something like Nintendont) will come to the wii, that's for sure not happening. But Gamecube/Wii games as a whole coming to the Switch? Definitely possible.
 

sj33

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
4,073
Trophies
2
XP
4,719
Country
Japan
https://www.engadget.com/2017/12/05/nintendo-wii-gamecube-nvidia-shield-china/

Gamecube and Wii games are running natively on the Nvidia Shield in China right now. Given how similar the hardwares for the Switch and Shield are, I think it's fair to assume that they may come to it in the future. Whether it's near or far however remains to be seen. So, to say Nintendont specifically (or something like Nintendont) will come to the wii, that's for sure not happening. But Gamecube/Wii games as a whole coming to the Switch? Definitely possible.
They're not running 'natively'. Nvidia Shield is ARM/Tegra, GameCube/Wii are PowerPC. They're completely different. It's emulation just like anything else.

Hypothetically, if GameCube/Wii games came to the Switch then injection may be possible. Pure speculation at this point.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Vorde

froggestspirit

D/P/Pt Demix Guy
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2011
Messages
1,280
Trophies
1
XP
1,557
Country
United States
If it's anything like on the Nvidia, those are basically recompiled for the different processor. If that's the case, no injection. Nintendon't is already not possible due to the different processors. Then again, our best attempt at n64 emulation on wii is still outshined by nintendo's virtual console (minus the lack of compatibility). You also have to keep in mind that there is different processing power for handheld vs tv, and they might not make the games only run on TV, but who knows?
 

Jackson98

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2017
Messages
235
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
330
Country
Australia
Im pretty sure the virtual console has been confirmed to support up to the original Wii, so Gamecube will definitely be possible. Nintendont was used more than anything to run game downloads in ISO format and was only possible because the Wii and Wii U already had built in backwards compatibility, it never emulated the games as such. Dolphin ports and other such emulators are what you can hope for :).
 
  • Like
Reactions: Fadi5555

CMDreamer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2014
Messages
1,633
Trophies
1
Age
38
XP
3,360
Country
Mexico
Nintendont used the Wii's default from factory capabilities for running NGC games and just "translated" the instructions between both platforms.

Switch isn't even compatible with NGC, at least not so far.
 

Chuardo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2015
Messages
418
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
1,020
Country
Uruguay
What? Dolphin. ;)
It isn't working all that well, maybe if Nintendo does some of their vc magic me might see something, but I doubt it.

Who would like to play Melee with Joy-Cons anyway? I know that anyone can use a GC Adapter but if isn't all that exciting to use it in portable mode
 

pedro702

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
12,711
Trophies
1
Age
33
XP
8,619
Country
Portugal
thris thread is useless since swithc is not ppc and doesnt have a Gx gpu , nintendont cant be made period, if you want a gc emulator you only have dolphin and that is it basicaly and i dont see dolphin running all that well on switch 1ghz quadcore gpu, since shield tv has a 2ghz quadcore unlike the switch half speed one.
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,493
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
22,539
Country
Antarctica
The switch is basically a nvidia shield, which is fully capable of emulating wii / gamecube :P
but then why would you do it if you can just do it on your pc

I keep forgetting that thing even exists haha.

My not so powerful laptop can run Dolphin at 60fps in Mario Jart Wii. It’s all about optimization

Last Dolphin build I tried was 2.0 or something.
Haven't kept up with development ever since due to having a 10 year old laptop.
 

Alkéryn

Moon Dweller ~
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2015
Messages
1,665
Trophies
1
Age
25
Location
Albategnius, Moon
XP
2,392
Country
France
I keep forgetting that thing even exists haha.



Last Dolphin build I tried was 2.0 or something.
Haven't kept up with development ever since due to having a 10 year old laptop.
Well things have changed a LOT
now i would even rather play on dolphin than on the original console for many reason :
You can upscale the game resolution (so yeah you can play in 1080p or even 4k)
You can add custom HD textures
you have a better framerate
You can improve graphical element (ex anti aliasing, shadows etc...)
You can import / export / sync saves
And many more

I believe emulation is always better than original once it matured
and the switch is powerfull enough for it, you could even withstand some quality improvement and anti aliasing)
 
Last edited by Alkéryn,

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,493
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
22,539
Country
Antarctica
Well things have changed a LOT
now i would even rather play on dolphin than on the original console for many reason :
You can upscale the game resolution (so yeah you can play in 1080p or even 4k)
You can add custom HD textures
you have a better framerate
You can improve graphical element (ex anti aliasing, shadows etc...)
You can import / export / sync saves
And many more

I believe emulation is always better than original once it matured
and the switch is powerfull enough for it, you could even withstand some quality improvement and anti aliasing)

Nah, you can keep your fancy 1080/4k.
Your AA and shadows.
Nothing beats the feel of playing on original hardware.
Besides, the cost of running GCN/Wii games in 4K would be what, 1500+ quid for a desktop?;p
There's only 1 100% cycle accurate emu that I know of and that's Bsnes (or Zsnes, one of the two).


Emulation can be good, don't get me wrong on that.
I use the Xbox emulator on 360 quite a lot due to the 360 controller being superior to the Xbox S and Duke.
But it doesn't beat the good old feel of original hardware.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alkéryn

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Bout time, you should of been in bed by now, being grounded.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Make sure you two keep the door cracked
    +1
  • YukiHomura @ YukiHomura:
    food
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    best i can do is a nicotine pouch and a grape NOS energy drink.
  • DuckDealer @ DuckDealer:
    question
  • DuckDealer @ DuckDealer:
    would anyone happen to know why trying to install the sonic cd port is just
  • DuckDealer @ DuckDealer:
    not doing anything at all
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    bad download?
  • DuckDealer @ DuckDealer:
    i was thinking that but ive tried it through Universal Updater and thru the github
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    run as administrator? dunno
  • DuckDealer @ DuckDealer:
    its for 3ds, shouldve mentioned
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    That is neat, but I wonder bout lag/ delay with it
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i remember have this for rca inputs over rf in the late 90's, iy was neat but i bet has a chunk of input lag when gaming.
    +1
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    thousand arm on ps1 is pretty cringe, but i can't stop playing it.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    $100 is still too steep
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I use to wire rca from vcr to coax in my teens fun times
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    yeah a decent long hdmi is $20 at best, i still have a came stop branded component and s video splitter.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    gamestop*
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Wish I could drill holes where I rent I'd have hdmi socket plates
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    You can get K3nv2 mum for less than $20, n that bitch has no lag at all.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    bro, hdmi and cat6 in every room is my dream home goals
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Good thing I already drilled @BigOnYa's wife
    +1
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    row row fight the powah!
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Cat6 is meh these days wifi pretty stable unless you ftp a bunch of shit all day
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Cat6 is meh these days wifi pretty stable unless you ftp a bunch of shit all day