Nintendont

By sabykos, Jun 10, 2013 7,579,838 41,172 167

  1. Gamer

    Gamer DS Gamer
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    633
    Country:
    Mexico
    So, I decided to try this after a while and Mario Kart Arcade GP 2 is broken on latest version, right? I updated to the latest dol file and now it doesn't work :( (black screen after verification screen). MKAGP1 works fine. Does anyone have a link to the most recent build where it boots fine? I can only find links to the latest version. Thanks!
     
    Last edited by Gamer, Dec 19, 2020
  2. Maq47

    Maq47 Founder of Woolooism
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    948
    Country:
    United States
    Can xinput controllers OTHER than Xbox controllers be used with Nintendon't without an adapter, or is the adapter used only to convert the xinput calls to sdl calls, and that's why it is necessary? I don't understand the need for an adapter when simply coding support for them is possible, even if said support converts the calls just like an adapter. My xinput controller doesn't work on an actual Xbox or PS3/4 console (although it is advertised as working with the Switch), so I'm wondering if it will work on Nintendont. Any ideas?
     
  3. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,486
    Country:
    Portugal
    gp2 works just fine for me on 491 version of nintendont, maybe you are forcing settiings one it or something or have a bad save file?
     
  4. Maq47

    Maq47 Founder of Woolooism
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    948
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a 100% working controller.ini creator for PC? The only one I know of hasn't been updated in 4 years, and is missing some features.
     
  5. ccfman2004

    ccfman2004 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,530
    Country:
    United States
    What controller are you using? Maybe it's a fake controller and that's why it doesn't work on an actual Xbox as licensed Xbox controllers have a "security chip" from Microsoft that tells the console that it was authorized my Microsoft. This is similar to they way code signing works on the console so only "authorized" stuff works.

    PS3/PS4/PS5 cannot see Xinput controllers without an adapter as they use HID calls.
     
    Last edited by ccfman2004, Dec 20, 2020
  6. Shinigati

    Shinigati GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    337
    Country:
    So how do we get the latest version now? github says it has no releases for download and i can't figure out how to compile from the source code myself.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    So how do we get the latest version of nintendont if our only option is to compile it from the source code now? github shows that there is no releases.
     
    Last edited by Shinigati, Dec 23, 2020
  7. ccfman2004

    ccfman2004 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,530
    Country:
    United States
    https://github.com/FIX94/Nintendont/blob/master/loader/loader.dol

    Rename loader.dol to boot.dol.
     
  8. Shinigati

    Shinigati GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    337
    Country:
    Sorry just had a big brain fart on my part, i have an old version of nintendont installed so i didn't bother reading the main page and figured there would be a releases page for current builds.
     
  9. ccfman2004

    ccfman2004 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,530
    Country:
    United States
    There has never been a release page for Nintendont. It's always in the Loader folder in the directory.
     
  10. Shinigati

    Shinigati GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    337
    Country:
    Yeah but not many projects do it like that and it's been a few years since i last used nintendont.
     
  11. Jimmy_Threecocks

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Do any Wii U forwarders have networking enabled? I've launched Nintendont and a forwarder for the Homebrew channel from the Wii U in order to launch Nintendont, and neither have networking. If I go to the Wii menu from the Wii U normally, then networking is fine, but obviously I can't use the gamepad then.

    I was setting up MKDD with LAN mode to play with my Wii in the other room and wanted to use the gamepad, but doesn't seem like that's happening.
     
  12. N7Kopper

    N7Kopper Proud lover of a three-inch girlfriend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    600
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There shouldn't be any differences in networking compatibility between vWii and Wii VC. I'm playing with the GamePad in a LAN game right now to try it.

    Are you sure you're not somehow disabling BBA emulation, or have a config that's doing it for you?
     
  13. Goodtwin

    Goodtwin Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    When Nintendont forces widescreen, does this change the rendering resolution of the game? Normal 480p 4:3 display would be 640x480 native resolution, but with a widescreen display it would be 854x480. Is Nintendont increasing the resolution or just stretching a wider view over those 640 lines of resolution? I would assume its anamorphic widescreen seeing as how thats what developers typically used on Gamecube and Wii. I cant remember if a 854x480 framerbuffers even fit in the 2MB of embedded ram on the GPU.
     
  14. N7Kopper
    This message by N7Kopper has been removed from public view by Foxi4, Dec 24, 2020, Reason: Deleted upon request.
    Dec 23, 2020
  15. ccfman2004

    ccfman2004 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,530
    Country:
    United States
    If Nintendont has a widescreen patch for a specific game then it should be native widescreen. Most games that use a generic should also be also native widescreen.
     
  16. Jimmy_Threecocks

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    BBA emulation is on, but even before Nintendont I think networking is just disabled. Even if I launch the HBC forwarder, the network never initializes. If I go to the Wii menu normally, then launch the HBC, I can see the icon blink and go solid and I can see the Wii's IP. Then if I launch Nintendont from the HBC everything is fine. For some reason networking just doesn't seem to be enabled or something for both forwarders. Is that an option in how you can make them maybe? Not sure where you got yours from but it almost seems like it's something that can be enabled or disabled for different forwarders.
     
  17. ccfman2004

    ccfman2004 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,530
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe your forwarder is out of date and doesn't know that Nintendont has BBA emulation. It me sending the wrong configuration to Nintendont.
     
  18. Maq47

    Maq47 Founder of Woolooism
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    948
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a way to force Nintendont to use IOS249? My USB drive isn't detected under IOS58, only 249.
     
  19. ccfman2004

    ccfman2004 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,530
    Country:
    United States
    I doubt it since it can only use the stock IOS58. The change would need to be in the source code. Don't count on it.

    Post your exact setup so we can see what is going on.
     
  20. Maq47

    Maq47 Founder of Woolooism
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    948
    Country:
    United States
    Can't post a Syscheck right now, if that's what you're asking. I have stock IOS58 (softmodded using wii.guide, and used ModMii to get required files), and recommended d2x cIOS 249-251, plus Waninkoko cIOS 222-224. I'm using a Kingston flash drive formatted with FAT32 GUI Formatter. Nintendont (and USB Loader GX when set to use IOS58) won't detect games on the flash drive at all (Nintendont cannot mount it). I also have a generic flash drive that won't detect even under IOS249, but I didn't mention it here since it is redundant.

    I have never modified IOS58 in any way.

    Edit: games are in usb1:/games/<ID>/game.iso (I had to put some in sd:/games/<ID>/game.iso, but cannot fit all of them on my 8GB SD card)
     
    Last edited by Maq47, Dec 25, 2020
  21. ccfman2004

    ccfman2004 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,530
    Country:
    United States
    There is your problem right there. USB Flash Drives are not recommended to use as they are unreliable. Use an SD card or USB HDD.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Nintendont,