new wii update

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by thedudederp, Jun 2, 2012.

Jun 2, 2012

new wii update by thedudederp at 4:31 AM (2,487 Views / 0 Likes) 31 replies

  1. thedudederp
    OP

    Newcomer thedudederp Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Did anyone else get a new update today? I got on and a message popped up saying if I didn't update new games probably wouldn't work. I know your not suposed to update but it sounds like something major (still 4.3u). So far I've only noticed two problems. I use two usb loaders. usb loader gx and neogamma. Neogamma for usb flash drives and gx for my hdd. First up is neogamma no longer reads my flash drive. Second is whenever I press the home button and select wii menu I loose all audio/video. sort of like it went to standby but the light is still green and it won't start back up untill i hold the power button for 6 seconds. Although both of these problems could be purely coincidental. Anyone else get this?
     


  2. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,652
    Country:
    United States
    Wow another inspiring original username.
    So wait did you update?
    Captain Hind Sight here: if you did update you should not have. I am on 4.0U and i have been for 3 years. Everything works. Even new stuff like Xenoblade.
     
  3. thedudederp
    OP

    Newcomer thedudederp Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Yea I know I shouldn't have, but I like to take risks lol. The update added a couple of new channels and updated the shop I guess. I don't think it was anything major really so I think the problems I have are just coincidental.
     
  4. loco365

    Member loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,459
    What's it showing in the System Settings? 4.3U or something else?
     
  5. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    And yet another reason to install priloader and block updates of all kinds.
    You took a risk and lost.
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. loco365

    Member loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,459
    @DeadlyFoez should come in here and punish you for updating a hacked Wii.
     
    2 people like this.
  7. RchUncleSkeleton

    Member RchUncleSkeleton Skeletron 9000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Looks like you really derped dude! Too bad for you, I got a message from Nintendo about 3 weeks ago when I turned on wiiconnect24 but I would never think to install an official update without first confirming the safety of my hacks. There's really no point in updating as the end of the Wii's life cycle is upon us and I don't think they will implement a mandatory update on any new games.
     
  8. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    There isn't an update as far as I can tell. There aren't new channels either.

    @OP: You were stupid and didn't block updates with Priiloader. All you did was overwrite your cIOS's with stubs. Just because something "sounds important", that doesn't mean you should do it. I'm still on 4.1U because I'm not stupid enough to think that newer always means better.
     
  9. Shano56

    Member Shano56 noobie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    877
    Country:
    United States


    Yes we all know you think this joostin lol
     
    2 people like this.
  10. Katsumi San

    Member Katsumi San GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    422
    Location:
    Kyoto
    Country:
    Japan
    Well you gotta think... Nintendo knows about hacked/modded Wiis. So of course they will always implement in their future updates(if any hahahaha) a backdoor that deletes/removes the hacked content of your Wii and possibly, most likely bricking it. Don't just assume because you got some channels added that's it...


    So lesson is... Never update a hacked wii and make sure to make a backup before you do anything else to it =)

    P.S. And sorry if it sounded harsh. Not meant to.
     
  11. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Well the OP needed a reminder. :P

    Joostin caresses 4.1U
     
  12. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I agree with Joostin.
     
  13. thedudederp
    OP

    Newcomer thedudederp Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Meh, say what you will. Some body's got to test the updates. None the less it doesn't matter to me if it got bricked or not. Got it used cheap off ebay. I fortunately have a big boy job and made the money to pay for it while sitting on the can at work. As for the loosing a/v I believe the data for that game may be corrupt because it only does it on that game. As for neogamma who knows. It would appear though that they just added a couple channels.


     
  14. keran22

    Newcomer keran22 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    Whoops, guess everyone on this thread should apologise to the big boy about offering advice. If it means that little to you, i'm sure everyone here will be happy to not give you any more help.
     
    3 people like this.
  15. thedudederp
    OP

    Newcomer thedudederp Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Didn't know calling me stupid was help. But I will not sit here and argue about this over the internet. I just wanted to share what happened and see what others had thought. So if there is nothing constructive or helpful to be said then I think we are done here.
     
  16. air2004

    Member air2004 Air

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,534
    Location:
    Anytown
    Country:
    United States
    Would new updates erase bootmii ?
     
  17. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Unless you have a boot2 version below v4 it shouldn't remove BootMii boot2.
     
  18. air2004

    Member air2004 Air

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,534
    Location:
    Anytown
    Country:
    United States
    cool , I do have bootmii installed as boot2 :D I just wanna make sure my son or wife doesnt mess up my wii ....preety sure i have priloader installed with updates blocked
     
  19. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,355
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    just make sure to backup your nand 1st
     
  20. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
     

Share This Page