new iedge is really new CycloDSi,

Discussion in 'EDGE' started by eddieontime, Oct 30, 2009.

Oct 30, 2009
  1. eddieontime
    OP

    Newcomer eddieontime Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i think that the new iedge is really the new cycloDSI but relisted early and unfinished to make as much money before the new dsi ll is relisted with ant pirate on it
     
  2. shinnyuuya

    Member shinnyuuya GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Town of Rainstorm
    Country:
    Indonesia
    are you sure about it [​IMG] ?
     
  3. unknownsoul

    Newcomer unknownsoul Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    No it's not. People shouldn't assume clones are really by the same manufacturers.
     
  4. NeSchn

    Member NeSchn GBAPimpdaddy.

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,533
    Location:
    Troy,New York PimpStatus: King
    Country:
    United States
    You sir, are an idiot.

    EDGE and CycloDS are two different companies, its just that the EDGE Card is a clone of the CycloDS and a very good clone at that.
     
  5. Todderbert

    Member Todderbert GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    411
    Country:
    United States
    Observation over the past year has led me to believe the Edge is a daughter product of the Cyclo label. Why would Cyclo make the Edge? To compete on the low end. When one site would go down the other did also. That happened at least three different occasions last year and this year. The build quality is almost identical to the cyclo, like they were made at the same plant. So dont call someone and idiot because you think you know. There are others here who believe that the Edge could be a cyclo product in disguise.
     
  6. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Then what would be the reason for EDGE having a Chinese domain? Would they just be an offshoot of Team Cyclops working much further away?
     
  7. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    is just another flash cart ...
    nothing so special~!

    mehhhh
     
  8. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    i think the cyclo will wait for dsi XL
     
  9. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    i think cyclo quit
     
  10. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't. They often disappear for a long time but they've always come back. That's what earned them the nickname, the "Phantom Dev Team".
     
  11. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    hopefully nintendo will drop the dsi once the dsi XL comes out
     
  12. Krisboo

    Newcomer Krisboo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Near a Magic place...
    Country:
    Chile
    I don't think so. That "new" DSi will only be a normal one with a few more inches in the screens. I don't think nintendo will make a change in the software, it's just a matter of Hardware.
     
  13. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    when i said drop i ment in price sorry
     
  14. Technik

    Member Technik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    No because they're the same price
     
  15. zuron7

    Member zuron7 RBYG

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,369
    Location:
    GPS not available in this area
    Country:
    India
    The DSi XL doesn't look worth it to me.
    The wii2 looks more worth it.

    The iEDGE is like any other flashcart they just copied their DSL one.
     
  16. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yay another shovel ware train.
     
  17. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    if they are the same price and dont reinforce anit-piracy ill get it
     
  18. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    I 'm pretty sure that the Cyclops and EDGE teams are different teams.

    A fact:
    The Team Cyclops website is in proper English (and only English), while the EDGE website is trilingual (Chinese, English and Indonesian).
     
  19. GH0ST

    Member GH0ST Your Hero is a Ghost

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    I was here... before...
    Country:
    France
    iEdge new manual is based on Cyclo manual v1.4 look, feel and examples.

    They moved to China for ... practical reasons, they removed the onboard firmware to avoid legal issues.
     

Share This Page