1. xonn

    OP xonn GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Spain
    Hello to everyone.
    I have included a swap screen option through key combination SELECT+UP / SELECT+DOWN in nds-bootstrap to enjoy NDS titles in GBMacros or DS with one screen damaged.
    To use it follow those instructions:
    1. Download it from this repository and copy it to _nds folder of TwilighMenu++.
    2. In your console, press Y in a NDS title and select nds-bootstrap = nightly
    3. Start your game and use key combination whenever you want.
    I have checked some games, and for now, I only have found one that is not swap-screen-friendly: Mario64 DS. Some games reset the screens (like MKDS) when a level is completed, or a cinematic is displayed. In this case, just re-swap again :)
     
    Last edited by xonn, Feb 18, 2021
  2. banjo2

    banjo2 gamer
    Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    1,981
    Country:
    United States
    I was curious to try it out
    (Don't have a GB Macro or broken top screen, but I do have some dead pixels)

    IMG_20210203_172028292.jpg
    Seems to work on Mario Party DS

    Unfortunately it didn't work for me in Metroid Prime Hunters, it would just instantly switch back to the regular screen setting when in-game or menus

    Also, if anyone's having trouble, it may help to know that you have to hold the button combo for ~1 second :)
     
    Last edited by banjo2, Feb 4, 2021
    Lolight4 likes this.
  3. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,229
    Country:
    United States
    That's great! I've merged your code via a PR!
     
  4. xonn

    OP xonn GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Spain
    I was thinking about two options to swap:
    A) L+R+UP for a second (safer but slower)
    B) SELECT+UP / SELECT+DOWN to set main screen up or down. This option could be activated instantly (usafer but fast)

    What would be better?
     
    Aphelios and banjo2 like this.
  5. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,229
    Country:
    United States
    I've made it so that holding L+R+Up+X for 1 second swaps the screens.
     
  6. whywhy2

    whywhy2 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    does the swap screen option also possible for B4DS or is this only for nds-bootstrap?
    also thank you very much for your contribution to nds-bootstrap! never thought that it was possible to swap DS screen on software because all i ever see about swap screen is only through hardware
     
    Last edited by whywhy2, Feb 5, 2021
    banjo2 likes this.
  7. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,229
    Country:
    United States
    Probably wouldn't work on B4DS, due to memory limitations.
     
    banjo2 and whywhy2 like this.
  8. whywhy2

    whywhy2 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    ah yeah i figured that was the case, but still this is very cool to finally have such feature on DSi/3DS
     
    banjo2 and Robz8 like this.
  9. MorningBlunt

    MorningBlunt Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2017
    Messages:
    89
    This is really cool, but what's the advantage of this? or is it just preference?
     
    Last edited by MorningBlunt, Feb 5, 2021
    banjo2 likes this.
  10. MikaDubbz

    MikaDubbz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    1,710
    Country:
    United States
    Seems like the key demographic would be for people that turned an old or broken DS or DSLite into a GBA Macro as they've become known (some people completely remove the hinge part, others leave it or add things like that glow rod, but it's all the same idea, the bottom of half of a DS can function as a nice sized GBA), so for any DS game that only needs the top screen, this adds more game compatibility for GBA Macro owners, as you can still put DS games in it and boot them up too. But it does seem you could also use this if you'd prefer for DS games on any fully intact DS/3DS to display the top screen on the bottom.
     
    Mr.Faq2015, Robz8, ruffo and 3 others like this.
  11. banjo2

    banjo2 gamer
    Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    1,981
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, it can actually be really nice to have the top screen be the "primary" display (like in MPDS, although it'd take some getting used to), I typically prefer it that way.
     
  12. ruffo

    ruffo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Chile
    what if I awnt to try this with a NDS Catdrige game? I have Skate it DS and my top screen is broken. There is a black cloud covering half of the skater's body u__u

    Also I don't understad how this runs instead of "nightly" bootstrap. It doesn't even replace the nigthly file
     
    Last edited by ruffo, Feb 5, 2021
    banjo2 likes this.
  13. xonn

    OP xonn GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Spain
    I want to take this opportunity to thank all the people who have made nds-bootstrap a reality. Thanks to them, the foundations are built to reach high in the scene. My collaboration is a simple patch ;)
     
  14. xonn

    OP xonn GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Spain
    I have updated here the release with two alternatives:
    • Old version: Swap screen option through key combination L+R+UP (press for 1 second)
    • Fast version: Set main screen on top or bottom just pressing SELECT+UP or SELECT+DOWN (instant change)
    Due to code size limitations, I have commented the soft-reset feature in ARM9 to save lines in fast version. If I try to compile with all code, it fails and throw following error message: cardengine_arm9_dldi.elf section `.bss' is not within region `vram'
     
    ruffo, banjo2, zerofalcon and 2 others like this.
  15. xonn

    OP xonn GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Spain
    Fast version live video :D

     
    Last edited by xonn, Feb 28, 2021
    banjo2 and ruffo like this.
  16. ruffo

    ruffo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Chile
    Man, this is great, thank you for your work
    I've tried this with Skate it DS (with a rom, can't get it to work with the original catgridge) and it works flawlessly. It's cool how the touch screen keeps its touch input actions while displaying what is on the top screen at the same time.

    I have also tried with Taiko No Tatsujin which requires to run in DS Mode since there is an issue of screen flickering/swapping and it doesn't work, doesn't swap screens, probably due to be running under DS Mode.

    Also doesn't seem to work with Animal Crossing Wild World.

    I'll be checking with your new version to see if there is changes about these points I've mentioned.
     
    banjo2 likes this.
  17. xonn

    OP xonn GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Spain
    Some games are constantly setting the order of screens in each frame. When you force swap screen, it's "fixed" instantly.
    For now, this problem can't be solved :(
     
    Robz8, ruffo and banjo2 like this.
  18. xonn

    OP xonn GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Spain
    Hey @Robz8 , I have modified the source code to make the user screen configuration persistent. Now, the program remembers which screen has been selected as bottom screen and changes it each vblank event. It seems that performance has not been affected. I hope it will be interesting for you :)
     
    ruffo, banjo2 and Robz8 like this.
  19. Lolight4

    Lolight4 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2021
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Portugal
    Is there any way to run homebrew with this?
    It would be amazing to run JenesisDS or even the new Cave story DS port on a macro, but at the moment no matter what I do I can't seem to get this functionality to work.
    I suspect its because of some difference in the nds bootstrap for homebrew and the nds bootstrap for official games?
    Also @Robz8 , would it be possible in any way to add the option to choose the screen swap button combo to Twilight menu?
    I personally really prefer the (Select + up/down) instant screen change as its a much easier button combo to remember, but I assume I am a minority here.
    Thank you both for your hard work! It is greatly appreciated :)
     
    banjo2 likes this.
  20. MikaDubbz

    MikaDubbz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    1,710
    Country:
    United States
    See, now that's cool, almost feels like a true lost GBA successor.
     
    banjo2 and Lolight4 like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - bootstrap, modified, screen