Gaming My x360 can't play L4D 2

Revolution89

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Somewhere in My Room
XP
111
Country
My uncle give me a modded x360 after my examination and he also said that the firmware already been updated. Yesterday, he gave me the new L4D 2 game(pirated), but when i run the game,the console alwys telling me to update my 360. The only way i can play the game is by removing the hardrive and it can only play the single mode. I wanted to play the multiplayer mode with my brother.Can anybody help me?
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
36,796
Trophies
3
XP
28,412
Country
United Kingdom
Several things could have happened here:
1) the game has been patched to wave 3 (I ventured onto the torrent sites and was shocked at what I saw going on). You can check the disc with abgx360 and it will tell you if you.
The game however looks for what is the current dashboard update and will tell you it needs to be updated before it can play (if you have patched to wave 3 this update will not be included), removing your hard drive probably just makes the game fall back to a "compatibility mode" of sorts which will allow basic play.

Two options here:
a) If it is not homebrew capable or you just do not care for it then update by hand: http://www.xbox.com/en-US/support/systemus...stemupdates.htm

b) If by some miracle you are still on a 7 series kernel then I would suggest sorting homebrew out and using the rebooter app (development has slowed but a homebrew capable 360 is set to be a wonderful thing- region free and beyond). This is in the territory of full blown homebrew though and somewhat complex.

2) You have a 1.61 on a samsung or benq drive or a hitachi drive with 1.51 (the only modern hacked firmwares that can boot wave4 and seemingly beyond unaided) and have been blocking the update by yourself. Let it happen if you want.
 

Revolution89

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Somewhere in My Room
XP
111
Country
FAST6191 said:
Several things could have happened here:
1) the game has been patched to wave 3 (I ventured onto the torrent sites and was shocked at what I saw going on). You can check the disc with abgx360 and it will tell you if you.
The game however looks for what is the current dashboard update and will tell you it needs to be updated before it can play (if you have patched to wave 3 this update will not be included), removing your hard drive probably just makes the game fall back to a "compatibility mode" of sorts which will allow basic play.

Two options here:
a) If it is not homebrew capable or you just do not care for it then update by hand: http://www.xbox.com/en-US/support/systemus...stemupdates.htm

b) If by some miracle you are still on a 7 series kernel then I would suggest sorting homebrew out and using the rebooter app (development has slowed but a homebrew capable 360 is set to be a wonderful thing- region free and beyond). This is in the territory of full blown homebrew though and somewhat complex.

2) You have a 1.61 on a samsung or benq drive or a hitachi drive with 1.51 (the only modern hacked firmwares that can boot wave4 and seemingly beyond unaided) and have been blocking the update by yourself. Let it happen if you want.
Thanks for the information.
 

martin88

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
988
Trophies
0
XP
406
Country
Canada
Maz7006 said:
No intention of hijacking this thread but what is the possible solution for people with ixtreme 1.6 on lite-on.
Can't you just use activate.iso to play Wave 4/5 games on Liteon iX 1.6?
 

Maz7006

iSEXu
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
3,649
Trophies
1
Age
31
Website
Visit site
XP
567
Country
martin88 said:
Maz7006 said:
No intention of hijacking this thread but what is the possible solution for people with ixtreme 1.6 on lite-on.
Can't you just use activate.iso to play Wave 4/5 games on Liteon iX 1.6?

So activate ISO will work fine with wave 5 games as well with lite-on ix 1.6?
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
36,796
Trophies
3
XP
28,412
Country
United Kingdom
Activate.iso disables checks (although it will still use/comply with stealth if it can) which are what is triggered when attempting to play a wave not officially supported.
 

moosh01

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2008
Messages
305
Trophies
0
XP
184
Country
United States
@ OP. Just update. If you are playing online then it is just a game patch. If offline it is just a dashboard update.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    S @ salazarcosplay: :blush: :D :evil: :tpi: @AncientBoi good morning how are you