My Wii's GPU core is fucked

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by Retal, Dec 14, 2009.

Dec 14, 2009

My Wii's GPU core is fucked by Retal at 1:41 AM (6,178 Views / 0 Likes) 25 replies

  1. Retal
    OP

    Member Retal GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    914
    Location:
    England              Sex: Daily
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]

    My Wii is just under two years old but warranty in the UK is only for twelve months.

    [​IMG]
     


  2. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    yeah i had that problem a few years ago only thing you can do is send it to N
    lucky i had no chip at the time [​IMG]
     
  3. Retal
    OP

    Member Retal GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    914
    Location:
    England              Sex: Daily
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you know what they did to it? Did they just replace the GPU or send back an entirely new Wii? I don't want to get a new Wii with a drive that can't do disc loading.
     
  4. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    they sent a new wii cos i remember i had to register on the wii shop again and all my saves were gone.
     
  5. Retal
    OP

    Member Retal GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    914
    Location:
    England              Sex: Daily
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]

    So basically I have to trade in disc loading and cboot2 vulnerability (i.e. brick protection) for fixed graphics. And I'll probably have to pay for it.
     
  6. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    what i would do i send it in let them fix it, sell it than buy a 2nd hand wii.
     
  7. Retal
    OP

    Member Retal GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    914
    Location:
    England              Sex: Daily
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Even though my console was two years old and thus clearly out of warranty, they decided to "repair" my console for free, for some reason and without consultation. Nevertheless, I ended up with a completely different console with a GC2-D3-2 (v2) drive and protected boot2. My saves had been copied across by the engineer, but another sure sign that it was a different console, besides a visible chip on the outer casing, was that I had to sync the Wiimote to get it to work again.

    So I take it this means that all my burned discs are now completely useless?
     
  8. purplesludge

    Member purplesludge anyone have any ideas for this space

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    wv
    Country:
    United States
    You can always swap out the drives.
     
  9. Sjaz

    Newcomer Sjaz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I've got the same problem as you. But I'm not going to send my Wii to Nintendo, I'm not crazy.

    I'm playing on my Wii with this problem for a year now, I guess it doesn't annoy me alot (however, you can see those lines in Twilight Princess too much. Good thing I don't play that game anymore [​IMG])
     
  10. Retal
    OP

    Member Retal GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    914
    Location:
    England              Sex: Daily
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why would it be crazy? Obviously I removed all the hax first.
     
  11. Am0s

    Member Am0s Mojo Risin

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no your burnt discs are not usless you can use wiibackup manager and wbfs manager and transfer them to a usb device,
     
  12. blackacidevil

    Member blackacidevil GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Vancouver Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Ouch Ouch,

    Its not your GPU, theres a couple of questions though first

    Obviously does this occur ont he black screen, the wii menu channel ?

    Does this occur just for SSBB or all games that you play on the wii?

    GPU problems dont give you the benefit of noticing theres something wrong, they usually greet you with a big bad black screen or stop the system from booting all together


    My two guess for your problem is (ER two of them)

    1) Redo your downgrade, get all the IOS's from network not download to SD card,
    ---- Reason : Pal games/etc out of region use a different format of picture, not much but slightly different, for example, if youvve got a PAL iOs or something corrupt anything, problems....

    Im going to assume your using the Orginal Disc (ill get to the back up later) so if you using this, Nintendo wii reads a NTSC U disc and forces the video to such. So if you are using an old disc / orginal disc some of the changes you might have made are the problem.

    ---- The first thing you need to do is try a different TV and change the video mode to see if you can duplicate the problem

    2) ONce you've done the above (and I mean go again and do the above)m comment tell me more ,
    I'd Honetly then say theres either again TV problem or Nintendo WIi wrong ios or problem.

    However, if all this happens to be the worst,

    then its your laser that reads the DVD, NOT the GPU

    Unfortunately what always does the trick is to open the system and remount and clean it , via air duster / compressed air, you'd be suprised the amount of dust in the wiis.

    Get back to me

    And again

    Discount everything youve gotten comments about, Boot2, burned discs, etc. This is not the same thing, and you dont need to bother with the answers above, do this first.

    Your wii will thank you.

    Thanks

    Ill be here all week

    Rhos

    Tp better explain its not your GPU, try and think of the GPU as (Well it is) a computer Video card, its made by ATI after all, if I had problems in my screen it aint the video card on its last legs. There much more complicated than our old Nintendo/etc U/A/T video out coxial.

    Well I wont get into more, just get back to me

    Oh one more thing, I was upset bout Renee Walker in 24 dying, what a FEISTY red head. She was really cute, and 24 now killed her off, and no wonder its going under. Reiko Alysworth was Michelle Dessler , she was great.
    And I cant help feeling attracted to Anna Gunn on Breaking Bad.

    Yeah I thought I'd add that 2nd edit.

    kk
     
  13. Retal
    OP

    Member Retal GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    914
    Location:
    England              Sex: Daily
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  14. Social0

    Member Social0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    528
    Country:
    Belgium
    Euhm, Europe has 2 years of warranty, so email Nintendo
     
  15. VashTS

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,653
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    tell them you updated and now your system won't turn on. they most likely will replace it for free.
     
  16. DunkrWunkah

    Member DunkrWunkah GBAtemp's Official Dunkr

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    582
    Country:
    United States
    Try it on a different TV to see if it still screws up. If it does, reply back and Rhos will be happy to help.
     
  17. Retal
    OP

    Member Retal GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    914
    Location:
    England              Sex: Daily
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I like the part where you all missed the fact that I've already had it replaced. And as it turns out they didn't copy all of the saves back to the NAND. They left a few, including Twilight Princess, Mario Kart and Paper Mario off. I backed them up to the SD card but they cannot be copied back due to console ID mismatch.
     
  18. Shadic

    Newcomer Shadic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    Country:
    United States
  19. blackacidevil

    Member blackacidevil GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Vancouver Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Well good then, I guess I speak for everyone that good, its fixed been replaced

    Retal : like the part where you all missed the fact that I've already had it replaced. And as it turns out they didn't copy all of the saves back to the NAND. They left a few, including Twilight Princess, Mario Kart and Paper Mario off. I backed them up to the SD card but they cannot be copied back due to console ID mismatch

    We all missed the part where we were so blind and arrogant that we should have called you on the phone or nintendo to check on the consoles status condition. Would have helped to "Tell us" not mock us.

    I think south park did it best (Smug alert Hybrid Cars)

    GOOD FOR YOU!!! THANKS!

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Retal
    OP

    Member Retal GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    914
    Location:
    England              Sex: Daily
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Possibly. The saves were backed up using the system menu though, not a special backup tool. Further, applications like this one, that I've seen, require you to first create a dummy save using the game so that the save exists in the NAND before copying over the one you want to replace it with. Since I can no longer launch games from disc, and I don't have an available external hard drive at this time, I can't verify this method at this time.
     

Share This Page