Hacking my 3ds is wanting to update. how to stop it?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RichardFlores

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
1
Trophies
0
XP
5
I am getting an update on my 3ds to ask me to update the firmware. I have an acekard 2i installed and working well. (v1.8.8)

I read that the update stops the acekard from working.. How can I stop the update from trying to download. I have my lil girls that play with my 3ds and dont want them accidently hitting yes to update and then I lose my acekard functions.

THanks for the help.
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,100
Trophies
2
XP
18,242
Country
United States
If your Acekard 2i shows up as Prince Caspian on the 3DS menu, then you are free to update to 3.0.0-6. If not, first update your Acekard by running this update file on your Acekard. After that is done, it should show up as Prince Caspian.

Edit: if you're worried about updates affecting your Acekard, I recommend you setup parental controls on your 3DS so no one can accidentally update it. It should also be noted that AKAIO 1.8.9z is the latest firmware for playing games on your Acekard.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

Tom Bombadildo

Dick, With Balls
Editorial Team
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
14,404
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
I forgot
Website
POCKET.LIKEITS
XP
18,029
Country
United States
If your Acekard 2i shows up as Prince Caspian on the 3DS menu, then you are free to update to 3.0.0-6. If not, first update your Acekard by running this update file on your Acekard. After that is done, it should show up as Prince Caspian.

Edit: if you're worried about updates affecting your Acekard, I recommend you setup parental controls on your 3DS so no one can accidentally update it. It should also be noted that AKAIO 1.8.9z is the latest firmware for playing games on your Acekard.
AKAIO is not a firmware, it's a loader.

As he said, if you activate Parental Controls it would stop the system from auto-updating.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

Tom Bombadildo

Dick, With Balls
Editorial Team
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
14,404
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
I forgot
Website
POCKET.LIKEITS
XP
18,029
Country
United States
AKAIO is not a firmware, it's a loader.
You're right; I meant loader, which is why I included the "for playing games" part.
Figures, but you don't want to get the two confused else he might think AKAIO is the firmware I originally posted about and he'd just go and download that.
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
29,393
Trophies
2
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
27,287
Country
Poland
AKAIO is not a firmware, it's a loader.
You're right; I meant loader, which is why I included the "for playing games" part.
Figures, but you don't want to get the two confused else he might think AKAIO is the firmware I originally posted about and he'd just go and download that.
AKAIO is a firmware which features loaders. Acekard cards have two types of firmware - "internal" firmware stored on the on-board chip that deals with basic I/O operations between the flashcart and the DS and "external" firmware with its system files stored on the SD card which deals the software side of things and interacts with the "internal one". Loaders are just a part of the "external" firmware.

To prevent confusion, the internal one is called "firmware" and the external is called "OS" or "OS Menu" or just "Menu".
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

NathanDuma

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2012
Messages
114
Trophies
0
XP
57
To clear something up, you cannot stop it from updating (there's no softmodding of the OS for the 3DS yet), which is why the answers focus on making sure the Ak2i still works after the update.
You can just set parent controls and then you can't update if you press cancel. I did that so my 3ds wouldn't update it self.
 

AC/DS

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2008
Messages
176
Trophies
0
XP
267
Country
Sorry, I'm a new 3DS user and thought this would be an appropriate thread to ask (as I am obviously too lazy to search for answers on the web).
Can the 3DS update itself to a higher firmware without any user interaction, i.e. without the user knowing?
Thanks in advance for info.
I too have been using a DS flashcard and would not like to wake up one morning to find out that... you know what.
 

pelago

Member
Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2006
Messages
1,019
Trophies
0
XP
530
Country
Apparently minor updates (such as the list of Nintendo Zone valid SSIDs) can happen automatically, but major updates require user confirmation. If you're really worried, you could disable Wi-Fi on your 3DS, although you would still be vulnerable to updates on game cards.
 

pje122

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 24, 2013
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
36
Country
United States
Do you need to set a specific restriction or does even setting up a PIN + Security Question put the Systen NAND update lock in place?
 

Sicklyboy

#JOYCONBOYZFOREVER
Global Moderator
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
6,271
Trophies
1
Location
[̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
XP
7,084
Country
United States
There's no way to block the 3DS from updating via parental controls on more recent firmwares (iirc it was removed around 4.5)

In the future, if you have a question, please create a new topic in the appropriate subforum rather than posting to a topic that has been dead for two years.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: https://www.operanewsapp.com/us/en/share/detail?news_id=3dab7b2419e0a4719ae30b1b4441e20a&news_ent...