Multiple "Broken" Gba Roms

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by ImNotSkilled, Dec 20, 2012.

Dec 20, 2012
  1. ImNotSkilled
    OP

    Member ImNotSkilled The Pokéman

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    United States
    So I decided to put some new gba Roms on my dstwo and some aren't functioning properly one is "Classis Nes Mario Bros" and the other is "Classic Nes Donkey Kong". Yes they are gba Roms, just ports.


    If anyone could help me figure out as to why they don't work, that would be great.


    Thanks!!
    Alex
     
  2. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,763
    Country:
    United States
    the "Classic NES" gba games are different then normal gba games
    the might need an IPS path

    also
    emulators need to be coded to run the classic NES gba roms
     
  3. ImNotSkilled
    OP

    Member ImNotSkilled The Pokéman

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    United States
    And how does one do that?
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I can confirm that the Classic NES series tend to show problems everywhere, even on GBA-slot flash carts.
     
  5. Chary

    Reporter Chary GBAtemp's #1 Naoto

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    3,110
    Location:
    Steins Gate World Line
    Country:
    United States
    On the compatibility list for DSTWO, the Classic NES series is shown to have issues.
     
  6. xwatchmanx

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    I've yet to play a single GBA emulator that would run the classic NES series games... Even the unlockable NES Metroid on Metroid: Zero Mission won't run.
     
  7. 2ndApex

    Member 2ndApex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    672
    Country:
    United States
    GBA NES games don't work well with emulators. Why not just use an NES emulator?
     
    gloweyjoey likes this.
  8. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    Patches like these ones should solve the issues you're experiencing with Classic NES games on the GBA. You should be able to patch the games using these files with Lunar IPS or any other IPS patcher for that matter.
     
  9. tatripp

    Member tatripp GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    349
    Country:
    United States
    you should just download an nes emulator. It has so much more functionality than the gba emulator.
    For other GBA games that won't work, you will mostly have to just deal with it because they won't work.
     
  10. xwatchmanx

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Plus, they'll honestly look better. If I'm not mistaken, the GBA has nowhere NEAR The resolution to properly handle NES titles, so they look sorta "crammed".
     
  11. ImNotSkilled
    OP

    Member ImNotSkilled The Pokéman

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    United States
    There is an Nes emulator for the dstwo?
    I've only heard of an Snes emulator.
     
  12. xwatchmanx

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    There is, but the DS doesn't have proper resolution either, so NES games look kinda weird.
     
  13. ImNotSkilled
    OP

    Member ImNotSkilled The Pokéman

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    United States
    Is it a plugin on the actual dstwo site?
     
  14. xwatchmanx

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    I really don't remember. It's been so long since I've used it. I'm pretty sure it's on filetrip, though.
     
  15. ongo_gablogian

    Member ongo_gablogian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    United States
  16. tatripp

    Member tatripp GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    349
    Country:
    United States
    You could make it into a plugin but any ds card that can run .nds files can run the nes emulator. I think it's called nesds. It is amazing. You can speed up games by pressing R or reverse the flow of time by pressing L. you can also use a savestate. I don't know if the resolution isn't correct but I think it looks pretty good.
     
  17. ImNotSkilled
    OP

    Member ImNotSkilled The Pokéman

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    United States
    Just got it. Love it.
     
    tatripp likes this.
  18. ImNotSkilled
    OP

    Member ImNotSkilled The Pokéman

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    United States
    Just came across another issue.

    My Super Mario Bros 3 Gba rom is not working. It's not the nes classic.
     
  19. tbgtbg

    Member tbgtbg Shaking the ring ropes up in the sky

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,951
    Country:
    United States
    Are you using version 1.30 or 1.21 with game_config.txt?

    The compatibility page shows that Super Mario Advance 4 (GBA SMB3) is "a bit laggy" without game_config.txt.

    Also, have you tried the ROM in other emus? Like on a PC? Just to rule out a bad ROM?
     
    xwatchmanx likes this.

Share This Page