Move your saves from m3 to game card?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Nintendude49, Oct 25, 2006.

Oct 25, 2006
  1. Nintendude49
    OP

    Newcomer Nintendude49 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Is it in anyway possible to put your saves from an emulator (in my case m3 CF) onto a game card. For example, Rogue Agent ROM to Rogue Agent Original?

    Or even to other way around?
     
  2. Firon

    Member Firon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    Perhaps REIN can do this?
     
  3. jhoff80

    Member jhoff80 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    I've never used it since the name change, but REIN definitely does this. I used it to transfer saves to and from original carts with my M3 SD. The program has had M3 CF support for even longer than that.
     
  4. x_comp

    Member x_comp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,054
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, REIN definitely works with the M3. I've been using it to transfer my save files in and out of my original carts. It's really easy to work with [​IMG]

    http://www.pat.hi-ho.ne.jp/sata68/nds.shtml

    Only thing is when you're importing saved files over to your original carts, be sure to create some saved data on your original carts first. Otherwise you won't be able to import your M3 saved data into your carts.
     
  5. Nintendude49
    OP

    Newcomer Nintendude49 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, before I try, a few questions...........:

    The sites in Japanese, is the .nds file the same way?

    What's the newest version of Rein, r17? or is that just a beta?

    Is it possible to damage the game cartridge?
     
  6. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    The program is fine, r17 will work, I've never had a problem using r16 despite the disclaimer that it's not responsible for destroying your nds game etc etc. I haven't heard people have trouble with rein. Good luck.
     
  7. x_comp

    Member x_comp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,054
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The program itself is in English so don't worry. And also, I've used it with over 20 original DS game cards. None of them have ever been corrupted.
     
  8. dsrules

    Member dsrules GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,278
    Country:
    The G6 have the option to sent the Save file from DS Card>G6 or G6>Ds Card when you push Select on the game...and M3 is made by the same company, I thought it also have that function???????
     
  9. Skyhunterjim

    Newcomer Skyhunterjim Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Greece
    To transfer an M3 save to an original game cartridge using M3+Passkey2, you must at some point have to take out the Passkey and insert the original cart only,right?

    If that is so and the DS is not flashed will it not hang?
     
  10. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    M3 doesn't do that I don't think, haven't tried.
     
  11. accolon

    Member accolon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    Germany
    You can remove the Passkey as soon as the DS has booted to the M3 menu, the DS won't hang. The DS will only crash if you remove something (game cart, Passkey...) from the slot while playing a game, because they are programmed to catch this to prevent corruption of save data.
     
  12. Skyhunterjim

    Newcomer Skyhunterjim Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Greece
    Thanks, I didn't know that!
     
  13. Nintendude49
    OP

    Newcomer Nintendude49 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, so ive downloaded r17, extracted it. put it on the root of the CF card. and when i try to boot it, it shows the loading, then the top screen goes white, and in the bottom, the light goes out; and everything freezes.

    What did i do wrong?? [​IMG]
     
  14. Nintendude49
    OP

    Newcomer Nintendude49 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, problem solved.

    On the M3s, i guess u need to open the file as a demo. If you try to use it as a regular game, its just freezes up.

    Works like a champ now! Very nice.
     

Share This Page