Micro SD not working in computer

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by tguellich, Feb 1, 2008.

Feb 1, 2008
  1. tguellich
    OP

    Newcomer tguellich Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    United States
    I have an A-Data Micro SDHC 4G in an M3DS Real. It has worked for about a month and all the sudden last night my computer cannot find it. I tried using the USB reader and the SD card converter, neither one worked. So, I cannot get to the contents of my card to alter it. The weird thing is...the card works fine in the DS. No problems at all in the M3DS Real, save games, etc. So what could the problem be and how can I fix it?
     
  2. soybean84

    Newcomer soybean84 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    You can try restarting your computer. Sometimes there are driver issues or problems connected with continually adding and removing memory card. Just try restarting and replugging after restart. Hope that works.
     
  3. ray00110

    Newcomer ray00110 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Australia
    Hmm. I had a problem like this a few months ago when my computer couldn't read my MicroSD card. Windows said something about the USB port or something corrupt. I can't remember

    Anyway, I bought a new card reader for 20 bucks and my MicroSD could be read again. Pity I bought another MicroSD before I got the card reader.

    But before you buy a new card reader, try using a different card reader other than the USB reader from M3. Then try read your MicroSD on other computers. If it still can't be read then buy a new card reader.

    Btw. This was on my R4 with a 2GB Sandisk MicroSD, so yeah.
     
  4. BinarySoup

    Newcomer BinarySoup Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i'm having similar problems with a kingston 2gb (japan). it works on the m3dsreal (there are a few problems there though). but it will not mount on my mac at all.

    is the m3dsreal corrupting microsd cards?

    thinking of getting the supercard ds one i always wanted (now dealextreme has v3!).
     
  5. tguellich
    OP

    Newcomer tguellich Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    United States
    I figured it out! [​IMG]

    I tried it in a different computer and it still didn't work in the USB MicroSD adapter or in the SD card adapter. So now it doesn't work in 2 different computers. Hmm? So I went to Best Buy and bought the Dynex internal all in one card reader they have for about $15 that is capable of reading any card, even the MicroSD by itself (still labeled Transflash on the reader). I installed it in my computer and it reads and writes the card with no problem. So thanks for suggesting a new card reader, it eventually worked.
     
  6. dwindelicous

    Newcomer dwindelicous Newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Philippines
    I have a similar problem with tguellich. I had my mr ds real for aaround 2 months it had worked perfectly until recently. It still works fine with my NDS but not with my computer so I think the problem is my card reader. I tried using another computer but it didn't work. When I plug my m3 ds real usb nothing comes out but my computer does say something like this corrupt file...reformat needed...so i did click yes...it didn't work...Oh I also tried to restart my computer..
    Is there a solution other than buying a new one...or is it the only way?
    Help please!
     
  7. dwindelicous

    Newcomer dwindelicous Newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Philippines
    I have a similar problem with tguellich. I had my mr ds real for aaround 2 months it had worked perfectly until recently. It still works fine with my NDS but not with my computer so I think the problem is my card reader. I tried using another computer but it didn't work. When I plug my m3 ds real usb nothing comes out but my computer does say something like this corrupt file...reformat needed...so i did click yes...it didn't work...Oh I also tried to restart my computer..
    Is there a solution other than buying a new one...or is it the only way?
    Help please!
     
  8. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    its the reader, just buy another one (not another crappy one, actual namebrand one)
     
  9. ZyberMaster

    Newcomer ZyberMaster Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    CA
    Country:
    United States
    yep the card reader that comes with most flash card are crap you never no when it will corrupt your sd card and make it unreadable. And just because it still works in the ds just mean that the system folder wasn't corrupted.

    @tguellich you should format your card if you havent. even if everything seem to be working with the new card reader more then likely there are corrupted sector and/or files.

    @dwindelicous what joe88 said get a decent card reader... but it possible your card is beyond repair if it started reformatting and stop
     

Share This Page