MegaZeux DS 10/7/09

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Another World, Oct 18, 2009.

Oct 18, 2009

MegaZeux DS 10/7/09 by Another World at 4:08 AM (2,313 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    [​IMG] MegaZeux DS 10/7/09
    Update
    [​IMG]

    This port of MegaZeux to the DS supports smaller game worlds. Extract the files to the /games/megazeux in the ROOT of your MicroSD card. A Slot-2 RAM expansion pack can be used for larger worlds. For those interested, MegaZeux is a ZZT clone originally written by Greg Janson and is now Open Source. ZZT was a game creation system for DOS written by Tim Sweeney.




    [​IMG] Download
    [​IMG] Project Homepage
    [​IMG] ZZT WIKI
    [​IMG] Discuss
     
  2. m3rox

    Member m3rox GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    OMG, MegaZeux is so NOT a clone of ZZT. If you had EVER used ZZT, you'd know that right off the bat. MegaZeux was inspired by ZZT, but is in NO WAY a clone.
     
  3. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    thanks for that useful bit of drivel.

    i love the use of "OMG" and the caps lock key, really states your case.

    now lets quote the authors homepage, and then you can say you're sorry for ripping on something I typed as news.

    http://kvance.com/archive/mzx/

    i agree with the statement, it is a clone of zzt, regardless of anything else the core element remains the same.

    -another world
     
  4. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    For those of us civil, yet slightly uneducated people...
    Just what is ZZT? [​IMG]
     
  5. pecet

    Newcomer pecet Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Poland
    Cool, but it doesn't detect my 3-in-1 expansion RAM.
     
  6. monaug5

    Member monaug5 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    459
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This looks like a very well designed piece of homebrew.
     
  7. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Who ever owns that ds needs a new one, or atleast a new housing.
     
  8. Raika

    Member Raika uguu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,864
    Location:
    uguu
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Looks okay, but woooow the DS in the pic is missing one hinge, I wonder how it's still able to function.
     
  9. Fat D

    Member Fat D GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Country:
    Germany
    The hinge is just a piece of plastic. The top-screen data lines are transferred by ribbon cable, and while that is obviously at higher risk due to not being kept straight by a functioning dual hinge, but not broken yet.
     
  10. connor_walsh

    Member connor_walsh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Shame that the ds isn't as well designed
     
  11. kvance

    Newcomer kvance Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    DSMZX author here.

    The hinge broke almost exactly after it went out of warranty. The hardware works fine, except you have to hold the screen up with a finger, so it's too much of a hassle to play games on. Now I use it for homebrew development/testing, since I don't really care what happens to it.

    There definitely seems to be a problem with EZFlash hardware. Unfortunately, I don't have any to test. Can anyone who's having problems run this memory tester for me: http://www.pineight.com/ds/memtestARM-0.03.zip If that works, but DSMZX doesn't, I'll switch to that version of the RAM Unlocking API. If neither of them work, can DSLinux detect your RAM?

    Thanks!
     
  12. velocity37

    Member velocity37 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    Test hardware:
    NDS Lite
    EDGE v1.45
    EZ-Flash 3-in-1 [First version]

    Megazeux: Fail
    memtestARM "EZ-Flash": Fail
    memtestARM "Unknown": Works! (Detects "EZ-Flash")

    Strange that memtestARM didn't detect my pack when I correctly specified the type...
     
  13. kvance

    Newcomer kvance Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Interesting! Since dsmzx doesn't specify the type, it may work. Here's a test version with the RAM Unlocking API code from memtestARM: http://kvance.com/fora/mzxrun-eztest.nds.zip That's just the .nds image, make sure you have the rest of the supporting files in /games/megazeux. Let me know how it runs!
     
  14. m3rox

    Member m3rox GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    The dude can type what he wants, it doesn't make it true.

    Go google ZZT.
     
  15. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    and your opinion is not fact.

    -another world.
     
  16. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    this time it booted up with no issue using the 3in1new. i tested with proton but that still gives a GURU mediation error as others have said. i'll try some other levels to see what happens.

    [​IMG]

    [edit]john smoov boots up and plays fine[/edit]

    -another world
     
  17. kvance

    Newcomer kvance Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I've had a report of the new RAM unlocking code working for EZFlash hardware, so I've bumped the version to build 2.1 with that code added. There's no other changes.

    Thanks for your help!
     
  18. kvance

    Newcomer kvance Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the info. Proton crashes on the first board (their cave/hideout thing) on my SuperCard CF, so there may be a different problem with this game specifically.
     

Share This Page