Homebrew Mediaplayers for Wii, is there actually one that works?

sj44k

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Netherlands
I started playing around with some of the different mediaplayers on the wii last week. Its almost christmas so I will be going to my parents for a while and given that they live in the stone age I thought it would be nice to take my wii and atleast be able to watch a movie or two.

Well, I dont think that is going to happen. So far I tried: Geekbox, Mplayer CE, Mplayer (normal?) and another mplayer port. First thing I noticed is how goddamn unstable they all are. I'm lucky if I have a 50/50 chance of them not crashing on boot.

Lets start with geekbox. Well not much to say other than the navigation is the complete opposite of what would be inutive. I tried some converted files. Performance is terrible. And with terrible I mean files my old pentium 2 could play, my phone does play, work terribly slow. You wont watch a movie like this.

Mplayer (normal?). DVD playback works nice. Takes a bit to load but who cares? Too bad I cant play anything other than dvd with it because it wont see my usb hdd.
Mplayer CE. Well, from what I read this one should be good. Not really. It does detect my hdd but format support is horrible. The site states it supports a whole range of formats but it just doesnt. Dont even bother converting your media to .avi because it will either crash mplayer CE or it wont even display the file on the hdd. The .avi files I did manage to open have no sub support. Mplayer says subs are enabled but doesnt bother showing time. No idea why.