Media: Freeloader In Action!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by DaWiis, Mar 11, 2008.

Mar 11, 2008

Media: Freeloader In Action! by DaWiis at 2:25 PM (17,301 Views / 0 Likes) 195 replies

  1. DaWiis
    OP

    Newcomer DaWiis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Norway


  2. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    [​IMG]

    and yup, freeloader.. glad to see it's working, not sure if I'll end up with one
     
  3. psykopat

    Member psykopat GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i believe that the freeloader works perfectly.
    But... we don't have any proof that this wii is really pal.. i prefer to see the console's firmware before any demo ^^
     
  4. hanndn

    Newcomer hanndn Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Italy
    amazing
     
  5. Rulza

    Member Rulza GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Sweden
  6. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Great, it even excludes updates from running!

    It seems a better method than Trucha-Signing and VideoModePatching every game [​IMG]
    This until Nintendo patches it [​IMG]
     
  7. Jokiz

    Member Jokiz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    Norway
    Oh! Someone HAS to dump it!
     
  8. buggy

    Newcomer buggy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    yum yum yum
     
  9. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Nice. Hopes this gets dumped soon
     
  10. bailli

    Member bailli GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Germany
    Hm I want to know how they get SSBB to work without the IOS updates...

    Trucha signer + Patcher seems the better solution to me since you only need to do this once.
    With Freeloader every time you want to play you need to swap discs...
     
  11. EarthBound

    Member EarthBound a/s/l?

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Fort Worth,Texas
    Country:
    United States
    yum yum yum [​IMG]
     
  12. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well trucha signed discs make use of an error in the wii's firmware. that can easily be patched by nintendo.
    but perhaps this freeloader is more futureproof
     
  13. markongc

    Newcomer markongc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Italy
    how about naruto ex 2??
    is there any proof that it works...otherwise is better the trucha method [​IMG]
     
  14. tomqman

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just was about to up my video of freeload lol but i was too slow. i was like omg when i saw it was a mini dvd.
    it does not work with mod chips or copyed games. i had to turn my wiikey off ot use it
     
  15. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    It doesn't work with modchips and copied games? This... this... just FAILS.

    Maybe editing Freeloader with Trucha Signer? [​IMG]
     
  16. tomqman

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    il try and dump it 2morrow [​IMG] and have a look whats in it [​IMG]
     
  17. Marticuno

    Member Marticuno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    Wow, cool.
    Yeah you do that tomqman, I want the dump [​IMG]

    (Does a dump of the freeloader work with chips? It seems to good to be true, someone please help a noob out [​IMG] )
     
  18. Vater Unser

    Member Vater Unser GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,184
    Location:
    Pen Island
    Country:
    Germany
    How should we know if there's not a dump yet?
    But I see no reason why it wouldn't work...
     
  19. Neko

    Member Neko Been a while.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    799
    Location:
    #gbatemp.net
    Country:
    Germany
    So , this uses some kind of exploit in the Wii firmware trying to load some GC game , but it fails and the freeloader code manipulates the wiisystem ram thus disabling regionprotection and making NTSC copies boot. hm. Now If I knew a shop were to buy this. [​IMG]
     
  20. Navarre

    Newcomer Navarre Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I wonder if its the same as the original Super Smash Bros. Brawl

    Copies work with the chip in but the original wont?
     

Share This Page