Mario and Luigi Bowser's Inside Story (u)

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by fallinroxas, Sep 11, 2009.

Sep 11, 2009
  1. fallinroxas
    OP

    Member fallinroxas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    United States
    Alright so this game has Anti-piracy just like the (J) version. Do you think the patch that worked on the (J) version will work for this?
     


  2. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They changed the protection, in the J one, it crashed when you engaged a battle, now it locks the save file controls.

    I'm sure that there's also a few more protections...(J one didn't give you an special block ability for example)
     
  3. Gintoki-San

    Newcomer Gintoki-San Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    I downloaded this yesterday, and everything works fine on the start menu, but when you have to choose a save file, I kept pressing Start and A, but it froze... However the game music was still running... Anyone know how to make the rom work? As in make it START the game?
     
  4. JohanX

    Newcomer JohanX Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    There is a patch out that lets you get past the save file select screen. However, it doesn't work for all cards. See:
    -snip-

    People that are working on a full patch say there are at least 30 different "anti-piracy" checks in the USA version of the game.

    We just have to be patient and wait for them to finish the complete patch
     
  5. RayJT9

    Newcomer RayJT9 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm having trouble with that too, either with the patched version it doesn't get past the first screen where it creates a save file, or the unpatched version, it doesn't get past the choosing-a-save-file thing. Using a Supercard DSONEi with the latest firmware. Anyone have any suggestions?
     
  6. JohanX

    Newcomer JohanX Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    The patch appears to work with my AceKard 2i (1.4U Firmware).

    However, I occasionally see graphic glitches on the top screen, so, while the game appears to work, things may not be 100%....
     
  7. Xoo00o0o0o

    Member Xoo00o0o0o Xoo00o0o0o is in the house

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Country:
    United States
    RayJT9, use this .scc file. it bypasses most anti piracy measures. http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?zjujtrnizj3
     
  8. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    the graphic glitch?
    i remember seeing that on the J one [​IMG]
    is like a line cracking through then go vanish right?
     
  9. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't work. I compiled that cheat file. It's done properly using Normmatt's code, and it WILL get you past the file selection, but it has other problems. It will freeze every time you save, and you cannot get past the first battle with Mario vs Bowser. Freezes after that battle.

    There is no current fix for the game. I've heard you can get the patched rom, disable all supercard settings, and it will run the game, but that has not worked at ALL for me.
     
  10. RayJT9

    Newcomer RayJT9 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, thanks CAP99. The .scc file you linked enabled me to get to the file select menu, and I could actually select a file this time, but unfortunately it just blackscreens immediately after that.

    EDIT: Hmm, I'll try turning all the SC Settings off and seeing what happens.

    EDIT 2: Nope, no luck. [​IMG]
     
  11. JohanX

    Newcomer JohanX Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    That is exactly what I see.
     
  12. OGTiago

    Member OGTiago GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    London, England Rank: Temp God
    Country:
    Portugal
    I'll wait for cheats.

    This sucks though. Developers just want to annoy us, they know people will patch it to work.
     
  13. nutella

    Member nutella Low Glycemic Index

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,097
    Location:
    Your nearest supermarket
    Country:
    Australia
    yep. expect to see a lot more of it by december. eventually, it will be on almost all games...
     
  14. JohanX

    Newcomer JohanX Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    I wonder how the program knows that it is being run from a flash card and not a real ROM?
     
  15. NDStemp

    Member NDStemp GBAtemp?! No! NDStemp

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Magic.

    But seriously, I'd like to know also.
     
  16. gameguy95

    Banned gameguy95 Needs More Furries!

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    Furrytown
    Country:
    United States
    ask nintendo XD
     
  17. syko5150

    Member syko5150 GBAtemp Syko!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    The funny thing about it is the game is out 5 days before the actual release date and the anti piracy they put on the game has been cracked well at least for some flash carts.So while they put all the effort into trying to block piracy it doesn't hold off long and we still play the game before it hits store shelves lol =P
     
  18. knl

    Member knl I can change this?

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    658
    Country:
    Brazil
    I recall from Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles's topic, someone said it had to do with the data sent from the DS to the cart. Usually it's just gibberish, to confirm that it's still working, but the game developers made it so the games expect a certain amount or type of data or something. And if this isn't met, the anti-piracy kicks in.
     
  19. Guild McCommunist

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, for "some" carts. There's still a large amount of carts (most notably the R4, which while many deem "shitty" is still pretty large) that can't play it and no crack of it coming in the near future. There's also some issues such as freezing and crashing still happening on some carts.
     
  20. GeekyGuy

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    I can play it on my CycloDS with the cheat, but I get black screens after every time I save. [​IMG] Great game, though. So far, it's not too different from PiT, but I'm sure once Bowser comes into play, it will change up a bit.
     

Share This Page