ROM Hack Translation Metroid: Other M - True Japanese Mod (English Fan Translation)

ScaryHobbit

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Metroid: Other M - True Japanese Mod
(English Fan Re-Translation Mod)
Version: 1.0.0

This is an open-source modding project intended to edit the NTSC-U (North America) version of Metroid: Other M to accomplish two main goals:
  • Convert the game's entire spoken voice-over from English to Japanese.
  • Replace the original botched English localization with one that is (hopefully) more accurate to the Japanese script.
Background:
In starting this project, I was heavily inspired by this outstanding video below created by Lexicon Lookout. While I had suspected it for years, his video really convinced me that there was quite a lot of character and plot details that was present in the the Japanese script that was utterly ruined by or outright missing from the English localization.
On top of that, while I'm not an expert on the language by any means, the Japanese voice cast sounds a lot better than their English counterparts in my opinion. Samus sounds less like an emotionless robot, and more like the experienced hunter that she is - and the rest of the cast sounds a lot more natural as well.

Normally one could just import the Japanese version of Other M, because unlike the US version, the Japanese version allows you to select between Japanese and English VA's and subtitles. However, I feel even this is not enough, as the Japanese version reuses the same botched localization for its English subtitles.
Fortunately, all of the Japanese audio tracks are still within the game files of the US version, despite not being selectable in-game. These tracks are found in the following formats:
  • .aix files in the sound>bgm folders, each marked as jp for Japanese.
  • Embedded within each .sfd movie file as audio track 2. Track 1 is the English track, and is read by the US version by default.