ROM Hack Making an OoT3d Randomizer, Need Advice

Deleted member 489645

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Switzerland
Hi all.
I'm new here, so I'm not sure if this is the correct place to post this.

I'm thinking of making a randomizer for OoT3d, so I came to this forum to look for similar 3ds rom hacks to see how it's done; however, I can only find translations, and texture and music swaps, which is not what I want. I found out how to dump a ".cia" from my game cartridge using GM9 and mount it using ninfs, but that's about it. I read somewhere I needed to know assembly to make changes to a ROM's code, so I need to learn ARM assembly in this case, right? I also looked into NTR plugins, but I think that only manipulates the RAM, which will not help in making a randomizer(?)

Basically, I'm a complete newbie who wants to do something but does not know how and where to start. Can someone give me pointers? I know this won't be easy.

BTW, a randomizer is when the item locations are randomized based on a seed and logic, so the chest that normally contains the Kokiri Sword might contain bombs, 5 rupees, or Saria's song, etc.
Typically, the user provides the ROM to a computer program, which provides a modified, randomized ROM for the user to play on.
Since this is my first time doing something, I do not mind sacrificing things such as logic temporarily while I learn the ropes.

I appreciate your help.

22/05/2019
EDIT: So, I've been searching a bit more, and I found Pocable's OoT3d "Randomizer," (search it on GBATEMP, I don't think I'm allowed to link) which is really a "BetaQuest" where the entrances are randomized. I think the program just changes the names of the files in the "scene" folder with other files randomly. Maybe a similar thing can be done for an item randomizer?

Anyway, I think for now I need to learn a normal programming language to make a GUI for users to use the program and other stuff.
Then, figure out what all the files correspond to from the extracted ".cia"