m3 sd & FTP

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by sk0ld, Jan 16, 2008.

Jan 16, 2008

m3 sd & FTP by sk0ld at 1:51 PM (1,004 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. sk0ld
    OP

    Member sk0ld GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    United States
    I have recently bought a m3 lite, and since then I've found removing the sd and adapter to be a hassle. One of the first pieces of homebrew I started searching for was a ftp server. I found 2, combox, and dsftp, and in both cases, I am able to save large files to my pc with both servers with no problems at all. The problems start when I try sending anything larger than a 256k file to my ds. After the file supposedly transfers, the server quacks, and upon restarting the server and client, the only thing saved to the sd is a 0 byte file. Now because both servers behave so similarly regarding this situation, I suspect the dldi driver is at fault, but I wanted to hear some others experiences with ftp and the m3 sd's before I try to contact either chishm , or their support. (danny?)
     
  2. sk0ld
    OP

    Member sk0ld GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    United States
    Common people, try it out. You can't all be happy with the way you're currently accessing files on the sd. I know I'm not the only person on this board with a slot2 m3 sd.
    Another program you could try is DSOrgranize. It'd be a good idea to backup your files first. Try moving some files around, downloading the from the homebrew database, etc. anything that involves writing to the card. Then please post your results.
    I want to know if it's my m3, formatting, or sd card (kingston japan 2G) to blame, and not the dldi drivers.


    http://giesler.biz/~bjoern/en/sw_dsftp.html
    http://masterlilou.wordpress.com/
    http://www.dragonminded.com
     
  3. crazyshiza

    Member crazyshiza GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    I use dsftp with my m3 perfect lite without problems. I don't use it for big files because it's too slow but files that are a few megabytes in size have given me no problem.
     
  4. Xeronage

    Member Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    612
    Country:
    DSFTP works fine on my M3Perfect Lite, however, don't try sending tons of files at once, because it'll run out of sockets for some reason.
     
  5. sk0ld
    OP

    Member sk0ld GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    United States
    ..Well now I'm thinking it's my card that's to blame.
    Just to set the record straight, you're using the latest dsftp (2.5)
    .nds version patched with chishm's dldi driver, from root, launched with start?
    FAT16 or 32?
    You might as well list the sd cards and ftp clients you're using as well.

    It's odd that the dldi tester will pass all tests, and that's writing a 1M file, much larger than I've failed to write with any other program. I can also save and run larger files downloaded from the DSOrganize database when the dso executable is patched with the alt version dldi driver (move,copy,rename browser functions are still broken) but again when I try it with chishm's, it'll save a 0 byte file. Neither of the ftp servers will start when patched with the alt version.
     
  6. sk0ld
    OP

    Member sk0ld GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, so I borrowed a 1G kingston japan from a friend, and had pretty much the same results. The only differences I noted, were that the patched DSO would only sometimes start, and that a patched DSFTP would restart my m3 after connecting to the AP.. and would only really "work" when I launched the file through DSO. I still couldn't save a 3M file. I suppose the silver lining is that I am getting differences with the cards. I just ordered a 2G sandisk premier, but I'd still like you guys to list the details of your setup. I should also mention that I'm using a launch ds, and starting my m3 with flashme forceboot.
     

Share This Page