Hacking M3 DS Real Problems now DS will not power on

egartin

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Apr 13, 2007
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
46
Country
United States
I ordered two M3 DS Reals for a friend of mine. One boots up correctly, the other one does nothing. The DS lite loads like nothing is inserted, tried different memory cards and two different DS lites. Looking at the M3 I can see a small gap between the outer edge of the case and the contacts (it is flush on the other three M3s I own). So I thought it might not be going in far enough to make contact. So I put the M3 in the DS and push it in farther (like when you eject it) and hold it in and the M3 works correctly. So I was thinking maybe when the put it together it was not fitted right. I opened it up and found the board to be glued to the case and cannot be adjusted easily. So I immediately put it back together and thought I would try it again. Well I inserted it in my DS and the light flashed on for a second and no power. Now the DS will not power on at all. Tried removing the battery from the DS and still no go. When I plug the power adapter in the DS it flashes orange once then goes out. What in the world could have happened?
When I took the M3 apart I was really careful not to touch anything inside.

Thanks,

E
 

rabartels

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
1
Trophies
0
XP
114
Country
Netherlands
I have seen a simular topic here

gba-nds

(http://www.gba-nds.com/index.php?option=com_fireboard&Itemid=27&func=view&id=1424&catid=48&limit=6&limitstart=0)

Here some one bricked a DS lite crimson red.

I'm in progress to get one, but i'm now affraid to use it with the m3 real adapter

Regards.

Xander
 

llatnik

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
66
Trophies
0
XP
45
Country
Well, I dont think it'd be "bricked" in the dead firmware sense since if it was the firmware the unit would still charge, it just wouldnt boot

given the problem relates to the power I WOULD say try replacing the battery. but the battery should still charge, in the recent model DS lites the chargers stop drawing power once the battery's output voltage is higher than the charge supply's (5-6 volts if memory serves) but given yours is stopping almost as soon as you plug in the power Id say your damage would be in the power regulation, and as far as i know you cant get replacement parts like that

this is all just conjecture though, I'm not an Electrical Engineer or anything, and I could be horrifyingly wrong. I just thought Id add my 2 cents^^
 

Zinhoude

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
26
Country
United States
When the charger is plugged in and the orange light blinks for a second it pretty much means ur DS is dead.

Me along with others had the same symptom.

Someone got his repaired and found out the main circuit board got fried.
 

Digital1980

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
499
Trophies
0
XP
190
Country
United States
using a slot 1 device doesnt alter your warranty, so you should be covered


That is good to know! The thought of "bricking" my DS with the use of an adapter had never occurred to me? Sorry to hear about this problem, it sounds like a mechanical flaw in design to me. Either way, I would assumed you are entitled to repair. Good Luck!

Digital
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Alot of users just want it for attention tbh
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I know a forum that said if you're good and don't ask you usually get it
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    you mean this forum?
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Nah others
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    You know what they say, I want never gets.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Iirc temp usually votes people in or holds an application every once in a blue moon
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    ^ that
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    They're pretty good at hiring the sexy ones
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Inc. Dinoh
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    550k members and only about a dozen staff they hold their own pretty well
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Stupid region locked digital keys are the dumbest thing next gen consoles have come up with
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    @DinohScene, that Xbox code ever work?
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    yeh it was the PC version of 76
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    regardless, the hubby took it : D
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    lawl the site said xbox
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Was given a PC Game Pass key for free on Temp, didn't work because region locking. :(
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Or as I like to call it, RACISM.
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    Now for someone to hack that thing and make pixel pr0n
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It maybe possible.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Will be perfect for onlyfans links
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Gamers: I bet your 4k oled ain't a jump rop
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    No, but I can take my OLED jump rope for a 4k
  • Shape @ Shape:
    That's a race.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Someone needs to take over a hundred or two of my Facebook girls lol
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Someone needs to take over a hundred or two of my Facebook girls lol