Hacking Luma Isn't updating - Recently Updated From 11.06

vincentallen2

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2016
Messages
105
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
695
Country
United States
I spent sometime away, but I recently wanted to come back to my N3DS XL since I sold my SX OS'd Switch recently.

So here's what I did today:
I downloaded Luma 10.01, replaced boot.firm. Then I updated the system from settings to the latest firmware (11.10). After the reboot, I tried to go into Luma from the home menu. It states that it's trying to update, but it falls for some reason. I took a picture of the Luma screen

Can any of you explain to me what I'm doing\did wrong, please?
396412c7222ede04562f299f9660e1bc.jpg
846cb04b1063207175ae528d55e62149.jpg


Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
 

vincentallen2

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2016
Messages
105
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
695
Country
United States
Do you have the latest version of Luma Updater? It was updated after the release of 10.0 because older versions stopped working.
I believe so. I just downloaded it today, it 10.01.

Wait, is Luma updater different from Luma3ds 10.01?

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
 
Last edited by vincentallen2,

spectral

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2012
Messages
626
Trophies
1
Age
43
XP
2,518
Country
I believe so. I just downloaded it today, it 10.01

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Luma updater isn't actually part of the Luma firmware. It's a separate app. You need to download the latest version from https://github.com/KunoichiZ/lumaupdate/releases/tag/v2.4 . Either download and install the CIA using FBI to have it on the 3DS main menu or download the zip file and add the .3dsx file to your homebrew launcher apps folder to launch it through homebrew launcher.
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,099
Trophies
3
XP
18,338
Country
United States
You are already using the latest version of Luma3DS (10.0.1). Luma Updater is how you update Luma3DS, but there's nothing to update right now. You also need the latest Luma Updater for it to work properly.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Quantumcat

spectral

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2012
Messages
626
Trophies
1
Age
43
XP
2,518
Country
You are already using the latest version of Luma3DS (10.0.1). Luma Updater is how you update Luma3DS, but there's nothing to update right now. You also need the latest Luma Updater for it to work properly.
It is the easiest way to install to sysnand which just replacing the file on the SD card wont have done. Plus it will also create a backup in case something gets messed up.
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,099
Trophies
3
XP
18,338
Country
United States
It is the easiest way to install to sysnand which just replacing the file on the SD card wont have done. Plus it will also create a backup in case something gets messed up.
  1. It's easy to copy/paste boot.firm from the SD root to the CTRNAND root.
  2. I'd recommend Luma Updater if it weren't so unreliable.
 
  • Like
Reactions: spectral

spectral

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2012
Messages
626
Trophies
1
Age
43
XP
2,518
Country
  1. It's easy to copy/paste boot.firm from the SD root to the CTRNAND root.
  2. I'd recommend Luma Updater if it weren't so unreliable.
Other than it needing an update itself to work with 10.0+ I never had a problem with it. That being said I got into the 3DS stuff late so only needed to update luma a couple of times.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lacius

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,099
Trophies
3
XP
18,338
Country
United States
Other than it needing an update itself to work with 10.0+ I never had a problem with it. That being said I got into the 3DS stuff late so only needed to update luma a couple of times.
It often needs manual updates to work, arguably defeating the purpose.
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
38,471
Trophies
3
XP
29,180
Country
United States
download the update manually, place it on the root of your sd card, then update ctrNAND through godmode (there's a script that will do that for you including the custom splash screen).
 

vincentallen2

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2016
Messages
105
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
695
Country
United States
Luma updater isn't actually part of the Luma firmware. It's a separate app. You need to download the latest version from https://github.com/KunoichiZ/lumaupdate/releases/tag/v2.4 . Either download and install the CIA using FBI to have it on the 3DS main menu or download the zip file and add the .3dsx file to your homebrew launcher apps folder to launch it through homebrew launcher.
Thank you so much for the help! I was easily able to update Luma using the FBI method. I really appreciate your help, as well as everyone else's input. Thank you guys.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
e719aeb636e2367892942f6e2c1d7893.jpg
 
Last edited by vincentallen2,
  • Like
Reactions: spectral

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @mthrnite, Cheetah Girls, the sequel to Action 52's Cheetah Men.
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Pokemon Black I played that one a lot
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Honestly never messed with Pokémon on ds much
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    I played pokemon once, was bored, never tried again
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Oh Dragon Quest IX
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Spent like 5 hours on switch one never touched it again
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Sentinel of the stary skies
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ds is 20 years old this year
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    So MJ no longer wants to play with it?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    He put it down when the 3ds came out
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @K3Nv2, RIP Felix does great videos on the PS3 yellow-light-of-death.
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    Eventhough the New 3DS XL is more powerful, I still feel like the DS Lite was a more polished system. It's a real shame that it never got an XL variant keeping the GBA slot. You'd have to go on AliExpress and buy an ML shell to give a DS phat the unofficial "DS Lite" treatment, and that's the best we'll ever get I'm afraid.
    +1
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    The phat model had amazingly loud speakers tho.
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Jayro, I don't see whats so special about the DS ML, its just a DS lite in a phat shell. At least the phat model had louder speakers, whereas the lite has a much better screen.
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    They probably said "Hey, why not we combine the two together and make a 'new' DS to sell".
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's a DS Lite in a slightly bigger DS Lite shell.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's not a Nintendo / iQue official product, it's a 3rd party custom.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Nothing special about it other than it's more comfortable than the Lite
    for people with beefy hands.
    +1
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    I have yaoi anime hands, very lorge but slender.
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    I'm Slenderman.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I have hands.
    Veho @ Veho: +1