Linux Modem Clue

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by mthrnite, Mar 23, 2007.

Mar 23, 2007

Linux Modem Clue by mthrnite at 4:00 PM (1,093 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. mthrnite
    OP

    Former Staff mthrnite So it goes.

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523
    Location:
    th' south
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys, I just installed Xubuntu on a Dell PII laptop. The install went well, but...
    .. and here's where I expose my Linux ignorance to the world...

    I've got a PCMCIA 56k modem I wanna use with it, a Zonex ZFM5600CF to be precise. It was listed as linux compatible, but I've no clue how to set it up in this thing. I've got my number and password in to the Network configuration dialog, but I don't even know how to dial this thing to connect. There were only windows drivers on the install disc, do I even need drivers for this modem? I've scouted around the Ubuntu site, but I've got the kids this week and can only study this in a piecemeal manner.

    Anybody wanna throw a clue my way, and narrow my research a bit? I'll check back, but right now the pressing issue for me is that Flash won't fit into Green Lantern's force shield... (oh noes!)

    edit: I think I've got the force shield thing figured out, but still having problems with the modem.
     
  2. iamwhoiam

    Member iamwhoiam Honorary R4 Fanboy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,201
    Location:
    Hull/Manchester, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hang on..... 56k? [​IMG]
     
  3. mthrnite
    OP

    Former Staff mthrnite So it goes.

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523
    Location:
    th' south
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, 56k.. for the little old lady across the street. Fast things scare her.
     
  4. Kyoji

    Member Kyoji ウッーウッーウマ

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,474
    Location:
    :'(
    Country:
    United States
    I think how slow and inefficient 56k is will scare her more [​IMG]
     
  5. mthrnite
    OP

    Former Staff mthrnite So it goes.

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523
    Location:
    th' south
    Country:
    United States
    Well, configuring a 56k PCMCIA modem is scaring the hell outta me... but give the customer what they want. Dial-up is cheaper and she's just interested in email, not really surfing. I wanted to install windows 98.. but she doesn't want to pay for that either, thus linux. urg.
     
  6. inovermyheadd

    Newcomer inovermyheadd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    Give up on the 56k modem my friend. I tackled that bitch for many hours last year with Ubuntu. If you absolutely need to use a modem, fork out the money for a external serial modem. Those will work provided you have a serial port. Linux doesn't like the "soft" modems that are provided with most windows laptops.
     
  7. gryto

    Member gryto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Show us the place where it was listed as linux compatible.
    Generally, hardware modems are easier to set up than software modems (as the above poster said). It would just be plug, select serial port perhaps, and dial.
     
  8. mthrnite
    OP

    Former Staff mthrnite So it goes.

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523
    Location:
    th' south
    Country:
    United States
    This is it:
    Zonet PCMCIA 56k Modem
    Also on the page is says 100% hardware modem.
    I've had the kids all week, but dropped them off with their mom (my babies' momma) today, so tomorrow.. STUDYSTUDYSTUDY!
    I've dabbled in Linux before, but I'm honestly a noooooob, so I may be making a stupic miskate somewere.
    ..or PCMCIA is a biatch.

    I'll have some more pointy questions tomorrow when I sit down with it again.
    Thanks for the replies amigos!
     
  9. phoood

    Member phoood taking it to a whole new level.

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001
    Location:
    Jewgoslavia
    Country:
    United States
    might want to give ubuntuforums.org a call.
     
  10. gryto

    Member gryto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Yes, I'd also recommend the forums there.
    I don't have no experience with PCMCIA modems, but with a modem which plugs into the serial port, you just point the dialer to /dev/ttyS0 (or similar). I'm guessing this'll be different with PCMCIA. I'm not running (x)ubuntu atm, so I can't check this, but there may be a symlink /dev/modem which you could try using.
    (What have you done thus far, have you tried a dialer yet?)
    Ah, I just read you used the Network configuration dialog. When I used dialup I used a dialer like wvdial, gnome-ppp(which uses wvdial) or kppp to dial, I haven't used that dialog before, so again, the ubuntu forums would certainly be of more help.
     

Share This Page