Hacking Question Launch homebrew without holding down "R" in atmosphere

nanchan

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 10, 2015
Messages
83
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
581
Country
United States
I cannot seem to find the thread on how to setup so I can launch homebrew app without having to press "R" in atmosphere. I know I can just live with pressing "R", but I prefer not to.

What I recall was that I needed to update /atmosphere/loader.ini and include the homebrew app in atmosphere/title/XXXXXXXX. Appreciate it if someone who has done this recently for the latest atmosphere can help out with the additional detail.
 

link42586

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 9, 2018
Messages
321
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
1,174
Country
United States
I believe u can change it with kosmos toolbox (extra program) as i have mind set to hold L...the R button tends to break inside from the pcb and not work correctly so I switched mine to L. Even if it clicks like normal it could have broken off still and not work as it should.
 
Last edited by link42586,

Bo0pNasty

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 18, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
74
Country
United States
I believe u can change it with kosmos toolbox (extra program) as i have mind set to hold L...the R button tends to break inside from the pcb and not work correctly so I switched mine to L. Even if it clicks like normal it could have broken off still and not work as it should.

This is what I do. Fairly quick and easy
 

EmulateLife

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
3,979
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,889
Country
United States
I know some would not do what I do but just giving an alternative way of avoiding holding R. I make nro2nsp forwarders for each and every rom (I have like almost 400) you can give each game it's own icon and it makes it look like you have a legit switch game instead of loading an emulator and then a rom. So it's easier to access the game and looks cooler IMO.
 

nanchan

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 10, 2015
Messages
83
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
581
Country
United States
I know some would not do what I do but just giving an alternative way of avoiding holding R. I make nro2nsp forwarders for each and every rom (I have like almost 400) you can give each game it's own icon and it makes it look like you have a legit switch game instead of loading an emulator and then a rom. So it's easier to access the game and looks cooler IMO.
Great idea, but wouldn't that just be the same as installing the homebrew nsp and come with the restriction that you cannot launch it while a game is running?
 

EmulateLife

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
3,979
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,889
Country
United States
Great idea, but wouldn't that just be the same as installing the homebrew nsp and come with the restriction that you cannot launch it while a game is running?

I don't know what you mean. There's no restrictions. You launch them the same as any other switch game and it has the extra ram included. You don't have to do anything else but launch the game.
 

pLaYeR^^

Doctor Switch
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,151
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
Austria
XP
3,873
Country
Austria
I don't know what you mean. There's no restrictions. You launch them the same as any other switch game and it has the extra ram included. You don't have to do anything else but launch the game.
I think she meant that you can't run hbmenu while another game is running that way. You would need to close the other game.
 

EmulateLife

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
3,979
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,889
Country
United States
If you need to access homebrew menu you can use any nro2nsp forwarded nsp and hold R only if needed. Otherwise you just play the game. I don't see the issue.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/USB-C