lagging troubles with verizon fios.

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by modshroom128, Dec 24, 2007.

Dec 24, 2007
  1. modshroom128
    OP

    Member modshroom128 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,002
    Country:
    United States
    ive been experiencing some minor lagging with all my xbox live games lately.
    my 360 has an ethernet cable connection to my wireless router, and halo 3 will tell me i have full green bars, yet i still get minor lag in all my matchmaking games. i have alot of crap in this house wirelessly connected to my router, that definatly effects online gaming, so i need to upgrade something to get rid of my minor and sometimes major halo 3 lag.

    should i switch to road runner cable?

    or should i simply upgrade my fios package to get a much higher upload speed.
    http://www22.verizon.com/content/consumerf...+and+prices.htm



    any other suggestions on how to get rid of lag while your in a house filled with a whole bunch of wirless internet leaching computers??? (and i cant turn them off)
     


  2. Spikey

    Member Spikey Your Special Someone

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,284
    Country:
    United States
    Why would you want to get rid of lag? Poor lagman... :'(
     
  3. modshroom128
    OP

    Member modshroom128 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,002
    Country:
    United States
    thank you for that post.
    it solved my problem.
     
  4. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, might wanna upgrade your upload speed.
     
  5. modshroom128
    OP

    Member modshroom128 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,002
    Country:
    United States
    would that make it so i can connect my wii ps3 ds ipod touch 4 laptops 2 computers and ANOTHER 360 all at the same time to my wireless connection and not lag?

    upload speed???
     
  6. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    not all at the same time, no, unless you get some really kickass internet, which you dont find much of in the US
     
  7. nintendofreak

    Member nintendofreak Around. Shoot me a PM.

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,333
    Location:
    Cal Poly Pomona / (323)
    Country:
    United States
    What are your speeds??
    (download/upload)
     
  8. modshroom128
    OP

    Member modshroom128 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,002
    Country:
    United States
    5 mbps d/l
    2 upload
     
  9. blade85

    Member blade85 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    174
    Country:
    United States
    maybe you can turn off some of the the things using ur internet connection...

    i dont see why you would need to connect all of those things to the internet at the same time....
     
  10. modshroom128
    OP

    Member modshroom128 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,002
    Country:
    United States
    cant do that.
    and even when i do, i still lag.

    so would upgrading my upload speed be the best option?
     
  11. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    are you running torrents or any limewire programs that use using upload connection slots?
     
  12. modshroom128
    OP

    Member modshroom128 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,002
    Country:
    United States
    i told you, even when i shut everything else down but my 360 and phones. i still get lag.
     
  13. iffy525

    Member iffy525 not famous

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    751
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe Verizon Fios is just bad? I don't know.
     
  14. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
    Well, run a speedtest and ping some sites (try to find the xbox live servers and ping those?)
     
  15. modshroom128
    OP

    Member modshroom128 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,002
    Country:
    United States
    how to speedtest
     
  16. JKR Firefox

    Member JKR Firefox Back.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I assume you have a Windows based PC? If you do, go to the run command and type cmd. When you see the black dos box pop up, type ping www.yahoo.com (or w/e website you'd like to test, just be sure it isn't behind a firewall). Look at the min/max/avg speeds and number sent and received. You should see none lost and hopefully pings time under 100 ms. Alternatively, you could try going to a speed test website like speedtest.net. The ping test is more accurate tho.

    - Fitzy
     
  17. iffy525

    Member iffy525 not famous

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    751
    Country:
    United States
    type speed test in on google. First link i think.
     
  18. modshroom128
    OP

    Member modshroom128 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,002
    Country:
    United States
  19. JKR Firefox

    Member JKR Firefox Back.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    That should be plenty of speed for Xbox Live bud. I have a 8mb cxn and run an Xbox 360, PS3, Wii, and 3 computers of it, most often at the same time. You may be having actual issues with the internet cxn itself. Try running multiple tests and compare the results. Don't run off to Verizon and give them more of your money until you can confirm that your service from Verizon is what is causing your issue.

    Edit: Also when did this issue begin? I do believe I read something a day or so ago about intermittent Xbox Live issues over the past while...let me know and I'll look into it.

    - Fitzy
     
  20. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    I run Verizon FiOs too. [​IMG]

    5 Down/ 2 Up

    Do you have bad weather where you are currently? (Snow, hail, storm, harsh rains)
    I believe that the weather affects Fiber Optic internet.. Feel free to correct me, as I get slow internet in bad weather conditions. [​IMG]

    ~Nero
     

Share This Page