Tutorial  Updated

L4T Ubuntu Applcation Install guides.

So, instead of clogging up poor @bylaws L4T thread (sorry buddy!) with emulators apps, I figured it might be a good idea to try and make a separate thread for quick guides, and leave his one to troubleshooting actual L4T issues.

The intent for this thread is to leave behind quickshot guides for others to install applications we know works for Tegra Linux, so here's the one's I've managed so far, with the help of some folks in the L4T OS thread.

If others are going to add to this thread with their own little guides, try to keep each seperate command on it's own line, and if the command is too big for 1 line, seperate it as I have done in the Vulkan Dolphin guide. Little comments should go into square brackets and have the color changed to red. Try to keep it in a format that people can copy/paste each line as they're needed.

(It is advised to make a Swapfile, so please follow that guide first!)

sudo apt install nano
[You can change 1G to whatever size you want, I used 2G]
sudo fallocate -l 1G /swapfile
[If fallocate throws an error, you want to run the]
[next command, if it doesn't, skip it]

sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=1024 count=1048576
sudo chmod 600 /swapfile
sudo mkswap /swapfile
sudo swapon /swapfile
sudo nano /etc/fstab
[You need to add this entry to the file you just opened]
[to make the change permanent:]

/swapfile swap swap defaults 0 0
[To verify that it installed correctly:]
sudo free -h
[Something like this should be the output:]

       [total        used         free       shared  buff/cache  available]
[Mem: 488M 158M 83M 2.3M 246M 217M]
[Swap: 1.0G 506M 517M]

echo performance | sudo tee /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpufreq/policy0/scaling_governor

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:dolphin-emu/ppa
sudo apt-get update
git clone https://github.com/Tinob/Ishiiruka.git
cd Ishiiruka
mkdir build
cd build

[This next line is all in one, so copy/paste]
sudo apt install git cmake ffmpeg libavcodec-dev libevdev-dev libusb-1.0-0-dev libavformat-dev libswscale-dev libsfml-dev libminiupnpc-dev libmbedtls-dev curl libhidapi-dev libwxbase3.0-dev libwxgtk3.0-dev libpangocairo-1.0-0 libgtk2.0-dev libbluetooth-dev qt5-default qtbase5-private-dev libudev-dev libxi-dev

cmake ..
make -j4
sudo make install

[Once installed, execute with]
ishiiruka
[Then lock it to the sidebar for easy access]

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:libretro/testing
sudo apt-get install retroarch* libretro*
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade
[Easy enough to install]

sudo apt-get install xserver-xorg-input-joystick

[To use your joycons as a mouse, press the sync buttons on the rail of each joycon, then use the bluetooth app to connect to them both. Once both are connected, hold them like you normally do, and press L+R (L1, R1 in Playstation terms), and that should be it!]
[Another easy install, to change sensitivity, go to system settings, mouse, and make your changes]

sudo apt-get install kodi
[After installing Kodi, you will need to logout. Do not shut down or reboot, but if you did, follow the same instructions.]
[Log out, and you'll be at the login menu. Click the account, and it'll ask you for your password.]
[Underneath the password box, is a cog. Click the cog, and click Unity.]
[From now on, Kodi will not automatically start upon booting up linux.]
[Yet another easy one, but this is a very powerful media box program]

[Original Post https://gbatemp.net/threads/tutoria...ling-moonlight-embedded-on-l4t-ubuntu.537429/ ]
sudo apt-get update
[Next line is all 1 command]
sudo apt-get install libopus0 libexpat1 libasound2 libudev1 libavahi-client3 libcurl3 libevdev2 libenet7 -y && sudo apt-get install libssl-dev libopus-dev libasound2-dev libudev-dev libavahi-client-dev libcurl4-openssl-dev libevdev-dev libexpat1-dev libpulse-dev uuid-dev libenet-dev cmake gcc g++ fakeroot debhelper
libavcodec-dev libsdl2-dev -y

git clone https://github.com/irtimmer/moonlight-embedded.git
cd moonlight-embedded
git submodule update --init
mkdir build
cd build/
cmake ../
make
sudo make install
sudo ldconfig

[Now reboot your switch]
moonlight pair <pc local ip>
moonlight stream <pc local ip>

[Where pc local ip, you must put in your pc's ip address. To find that, on windows, open Win+r, in the dialog box, put in cmd.exe. In the new window, type in ipconfg, then look for your systems ip address. if you computer is wired to your network, it'll fall under "Ethernet adapter Ethernet".
If it is Wireless, then it'll fall under "Wireless LAN adapter WiFi"
Either way, you'll want the IPv4 Address.]
[In linux, just open terminal, the command "ifconfig" and look for IPv4]


[To configure your joycons to work with Moonlight]
sudo gedit /usr/local/share/moonlight/gamecontroller.txt

[Scroll to the bottom and copy/paste one of these style codes into the file]
[For Nintendo Style:]
050000007e0500000620000001000000,Nintendo Switch Joy-Cons,a:b1,b:b0,back:b9,dpdown:b15,dpleft:b16,dpright:b17,dpup:b14,guide:b11,leftshoulder:b5,leftstick:b12,lefttrigger:b7,leftx:a0,lefty:a1,rightshoulder:b6,rightstick:b13,righttrigger:b8,rightx:a2,righty:a3,start:b10,x:b2,y:b3,

[For Microsoft Style:] 050000007e0500000620000001000000,Nintendo Switch Joy-Cons,a:b0,b:b1,back:b9,dpdown:b15,dpleft:b16,dpright:b17,dpup:b14,guide:b11,leftshoulder:b5,leftstick:b12,lefttrigger:b7,leftx:a0,lefty:a1,rightshoulder:b6,rightstick:b13,righttrigger:b8,rightx:a2,righty:a3,start:b10,x:b3,y:b2,

[Then,press CTRL + X. Then press Y. Then close terminal and reboot your switch.]
 
Last edited by ,
D

Deleted User

Guest
OP
Hey, so I downloaded and install Retroarch 1.7.6 cause I saw is the version in which Vulkan works, but now its gkve me an error everytime I try to play a game. Can somebody help me please?
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
OP
Hey, somebody knows some apps that I could install? Obviously apps that doesn't are in this threat. Thanks :3
 

BaffledBatsandSlother

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 18, 2020
Messages
46
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
129
Country
United States
Will apache open office work on the switch? They have ubuntu versions but they are x86 which I assume won't work on the switch. Anyone know of a good word processor that works on L4T?

Also, what is the best web browser to use on the Switch with L4t?
 
Last edited by BaffledBatsandSlother,
D

Deleted User

Guest
OP
Hangover Installation Tutorial

1. Get L4T running on your Switch and connect to network. Going to assume you have the basics down. I had to reflash my SD card because I screwed up the DE so I'm writing this tutorial off of a fresh install.

2. Install required dependencies: sudo apt-get install git build-essential mingw-w64 mingw-w64-i686-dev mingw-w64-x86-64-dev libfreetype6-dev

3. Clone the Hangover repository: git clone <link removed because this forum is dumb, google "wine hangover github" and you'll find it>

4. cd into the hangover directory: cd hangover

5. Initialize submodules: git submodule update --init --recursive

6. Both times I've tried to build this, the qemu submodule seems to initialize to an empty commit. To fix this, cd into the qemu directory and reset: git reset --hard HEAD

7. cd back up to the hangover directory: cd ..

5. Build the project: make -j4

6. Rerun make -j4 until there are no errors. You may want to enable the overclock/performance mode for this step as it will take a while.

7. Symlink libgcc_s_sjlj-1.dll into hangover build: ln -s /usr/lib/gcc/i686-w64-mingw32/7.3-win32/libgcc_s_sjlj-1.dll build/qemu/x86_64-windows-user/qemu_guest_dll32/libgcc_s_sjlj-1.dll
Someone knows if this still works?
 

The Official GMan

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 16, 2016
Messages
48
Trophies
0
XP
339
Country
United States
I've edited this post to hide the old instructions: RetroPie is now supported from the official github. All you need to do is follow the instructions from their official github https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup BUT DO NOT do a sudo apt-get dist-upgrade.
So the new safe instructions are:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install git
cd
git clone --depth=1 https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup.git
cd RetroPie-Setup
sudo ./retropie_setup.sh


the spoiler below contains the original message contents for reference, do NOT FOLLOW THE SPOILER
For anyone interested, I've made of fork of the Retropie-setup script to allow it to install emulationstation and the emulators which work in it onto the switch and tegra x1 dev boards. You can find it here https://github.com/theofficialgman/RetroPie-Setup

Edit: @StarGazerTom Maybe consider adding this to the original post?

[Update/Install Retropie Setup Script from thofficialgman fork]
sudo apt-get install git
cd
git clone --depth=1 https://github.com/theofficialgman/RetroPie-Setup.git

[Run Setup Script]
cd RetroPie-Setup
sudo ./retropie_setup.sh
[Navigate to Basic Install using Keyboard Arrow Keys and use Enter to Select and then install]
[Navigate to Manage Packages/depends/sdl2 and install from source (this fixes DBUS errors)]
[Note: Selecting Update RetroPie-Setup script will install the latest setup script from theofficialgman fork so feel free to use it in the future]

[Once Installed Execute With]
emulationstation
[You should also be able to launch from the rpie application which was created]
 
Last edited by The Official GMan,

enderer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
381
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,652
Country
United States
sudo apt-add-repository ppa:dolphin-emu/ppa
sudo apt update
sudo apt install dolphin-emu-master

cmd to install dolphin (non-ishiiruka)
i'm told ishiiruka is outdated at this point.
please update OP
 

groslaine

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
34
Country
France
remove .txt from file and move this file to usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d (do it with sudo mv) and reboot or logout and login.
The mappings are as follow: Left click mouse is B , Right click is A, L and R control volume, ZR and ZL control brightness, Screenshot button enables or disables mouse mode , Home button is Escape, Plus button is enter, Minus button is back.
(copied from discord)
It's work very nice for me, the only problem is when I plug back my "real" mouse its doesnt move the cursor anymore. Even if I disable mouse mode (with screenshot button).
 

Yo_Homie

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
102
Country
United States
Is there any way to keep the cursor on screen for touch input? It keeps disappearing so, when I use the joycon mouse, I cannot see my cursor.

Edit: I figured it out! (Only took 30+ minutes of searching...) Just run:
sudo gsettings set org.gnome.settings-daemon.plugins.cursor active false
And the cursor sticks!
 
Last edited by Yo_Homie,

jimh54

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
72
XP
124
Country
United States
I installed the triple boot "amsPLUS_v0.14.4_CFW_MultiBoot_inkl_Lakka" from PSXtool.de. I have a running ubuntu install but i don't know if it is L4T. I assume it is because it runs on the switch. Is there a way to verify this? If not, Can I install this on. top of that install? I'm new to linux.
 

Yo_Homie

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
102
Country
United States
I installed the triple boot "amsPLUS_v0.14.4_CFW_MultiBoot_inkl_Lakka" from PSXtool.de. I have a running ubuntu install but i don't know if it is L4T. I assume it is because it runs on the switch. Is there a way to verify this? If not, Can I install this on. top of that install? I'm new to linux.
When you open the file manager and click on "Other Locations" there should be a mount that says "L4T-README". That is the easiest way to check that I can think of.
Edit: Spelling
 

jimh54

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
72
XP
124
Country
United States
Thanks Yo_Homie, Is there a way to view the current partition table? I do not have L4T so i want to use the same partition that the current Linux Distro lives on without ruining the Android or Lakka partitions.
 

Ridge

they/them
Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2015
Messages
389
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
Virtual Reality
Website
twitter.com
XP
401
Country
Norway
Has anyone got Pro Controller working with Moonlight? I've searched in the main thread, this thread, the Switchroot and Linux 4 Switch Discords but no dice. Could be that I just suck at searching if the answer is out there, but anyways.

I can connect my Pro Controller via Bluetooth, but buttons don't work - again, I'm trying to use it in moonlight-qt specifically, and to confirm it's not just a Moonlight issue, I tried it in RetroArch as well, without any luck. Admittedly, I have no idea how to map buttons to gamepad functions on the OS level.

On version 3.2.0, fresh install.

So TL;DR, Pro Controller with Moonlight/L4T Ubuntu - possible, or no go?

--update--
So it turns out this shouldn't be an issue to begin with, so I reflashed the Linux image and it just.. worked. So I guess if you find yourself not being able to use the Pro Controller in any apps, reflash!
Thanks to Azkali and gman for being so willing to help with this in the Linux 4 Switch Discord, absolute gems.
 
Last edited by Ridge, , Reason: press f

Yo_Homie

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
102
Country
United States
Thanks Yo_Homie, Is there a way to view the current partition table? I do not have L4T so i want to use the same partition that the current Linux Distro lives on without ruining the Android or Lakka partitions.
I am not sure... You could try downloading the latest version of Hekate and seeing if it recognizes your existing Linux partition. If it does, then all you need to do is download L4T as normal into your main fat32 partition and tell Hekate to install it. I highly recommend backing everything up prior though.
 

evil_santa

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2020
Messages
379
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
1,839
Country
Germany
I installed the triple boot "amsPLUS_v0.14.4_CFW_MultiBoot_inkl_Lakka" from PSXtool.de. I have a running ubuntu install but i don't know if it is L4T. I assume it is because it runs on the switch. Is there a way to verify this? If not, Can I install this on. top of that install? I'm new to linux.
Inside the image is L4t Ubuntu 3.0.0 pull the update from psxtools and you have 3.2.
Android is also included.
Lakka are only files no Partition.
I made the images whit 2 guy's from psxtools.
 
Last edited by evil_santa,

sergio_prado

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 26, 2014
Messages
72
Trophies
1
Age
41
Location
Barueri, Brazil
XP
643
Country
Brazil
If anyone interested, Here's a Dolphin emulator package ready to install. Compiled from the source by me few day ago.

It's the main Dolphin, wich in my tests prove to be faster than Ishiruka's.

To install, unzip and tap/double click on the .deb file and choose install on the window that will open.

You may need to install some dependencies. To do that, open Terminal and paste/type this:
sudo apt install git cmake ffmpeg libavcodec-dev libevdev-dev libusb-1.0-0-dev libavformat-dev libswscale-dev libsfml-dev libminiupnpc-dev libmbedtls-dev curl libhidapi-dev libwxbase3.0-dev libwxgtk3.0-dev libpangocairo-1.0-0 libgtk2.0-dev libbluetooth-dev qt5-default qtbase5-private-dev libudev-dev libxi-dev

By the way, after compiling a program, you can make a package of it, that can be easily installed and shared afterwards.:)

To accomplish that, you will need a program called "Checkinstall". To install it, type/paste this on Terminal:
sudo apt-get install checkinstall
Then, after you compile a program, to create the package you just type the following on the Terminal: sudo checkinstall --install=no
..and answer some questions that the program will ask. For more info on how to use Checkinstall: https://ostechnix.com/build-packages-source-using-checkinstall/

Hope it helps, and incentive you guys to share some apps here.:)
 

Attachments

  • dolphin-emu_arm64.zip
    6.8 MB · Views: 249
Last edited by sergio_prado,

ZachyCatGames

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2018
Messages
3,398
Trophies
1
Location
Hell
XP
4,209
Country
United States
If anyone interested, Here's a Dolphin emulator package ready to install. Compiled from the source by me few day ago.

It's the main Dolphin, wich in my tests prove to be faster than Ishiruka's.

To install, unzip and tap/double click on the .deb file and choose install on the window that will open.

You may need to install some dependencies. To do that, open Terminal and paste/type this:
sudo apt install git cmake ffmpeg libavcodec-dev libevdev-dev libusb-1.0-0-dev libavformat-dev libswscale-dev libsfml-dev libminiupnpc-dev libmbedtls-dev curl libhidapi-dev libwxbase3.0-dev libwxgtk3.0-dev libpangocairo-1.0-0 libgtk2.0-dev libbluetooth-dev qt5-default qtbase5-private-dev libudev-dev libxi-dev

By the way, after compiling a program, you can make a package of it, that can be easily installed and shared afterwards.:)

To accomplish that, you will need a program called "Checkinstall". To install it, type/paste this on Terminal:
sudo apt-get install checkinstall
Then, after you compile a program, to create the package you just type the following on the Terminal: sudo checkinstall --install=no
..and answer some questions that the program will ask. For more info on how to use Checkinstall: https://ostechnix.com/build-packages-source-using-checkinstall/

Hope it helps, and incentive you guys to share some apps here.:)
The official dolphin PPA works https://wiki.dolphin-emu.org/index.php?title=Installing_Dolphin
Or have you made some change(s)?
 

sergio_prado

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 26, 2014
Messages
72
Trophies
1
Age
41
Location
Barueri, Brazil
XP
643
Country
Brazil
The official dolphin PPA works https://wiki.dolphin-emu.org/index.php?title=Installing_Dolphin
Or have you made some change(s)?

I didn't made any changes. The reason for me to compile was because the version avaiable on the store doesn't work (like some other emulators on there, it doesn't run and crash when i try to open it. That same problem occurs on the Retroarch , Mame and Dosbox.

But when i compile it, it works. I don't know why, but it's is the only way it works, at least for me. So far, thats the only way i find to make Dolphin and Retroarch run.
 
Last edited by sergio_prado,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: sure, it can be hands free