Kirby's Return to Dreamland problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by tosco123, Feb 18, 2012.

Feb 18, 2012
  1. tosco123
    OP

    Newcomer tosco123 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Brazil
    My Wii is running the game with no problem, except that when I enter the Onion Ocean world the game keep saving forever then I can't even move or do anything else. Does anyone have the same problem or a solution? (running the game through CFG loader, with 249 ios)
     
  2. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,637
    Country:
    United States
    Huh. i had the white screen freeze after the title but ios 249 fixed that. Onion Ocean works for me, but i cant do anything with the challenges or special stages or my wii freezes.
     
  3. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    You guys DO realise that there is no "IOS249" (aside from the nintendo one, but that's a stub), right? For anything else, 249 is just a slot to which you can install "a cIOS" to.

    To clarify: if the conversation above was about cars, it would be as follows:
    person 1: my car makes a funny noise. How do I fix it? It's parked in a large garage.
    person 2: that's strange. I have my car also in a large garage, but it doesn't make that noise.


    Yeah, I know: things aren't exactly easified because everyone is naming those slots, but that's just the way it is. Anyway...Kirby return to dreamland isn't a problem game, so it should run fine on cIOS d2x r7 base IOS56 (or even install beta 8). Just install that to slot 249 and it should work fine.

    Can't say I've heard of this problem before, though (I finished that game about a week ago). This kind of problem could be because of a bad image. :unsure:
     
  4. tosco123
    OP

    Newcomer tosco123 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Brazil
    Where can I find this cIOS d2x r7 base IOS56? If I update the CFG loader, could it solve the problem?

    I don't think the problem is caused by a bad image. I downloaded it on a site where I download all my games and I have never had a problem like this, except Donkey Kong Country Return (sometimes, the loads never end)
     
  5. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    you can find d2x from modmii. its a pc progrm that downloads file fresh from ninty then patches them accordingly.
    when getting d2x get slot 249 base 36 and slot 250 base 57.
     
  6. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hmm...I would suggest following wiiflowiki's suggestion for an indication which base IOS'es to install which slot. Base IOS56 is pretty much always suggested as the default one, as it's the most versatile/fastest one (most loaders have 249 as default, and neogamma cannot use a different one).

    (you can use that link for a beta of v8 as well, but I haven't followed progress, so I can't tell how stable it is).

    Either way: it doesn't really matter, as long as you can keep track which d2x version and which base IOS you actually use for the game.


    Also: @[member='tosco123']: please edit your link. You're not allowed to mention download sites here. I know that hinders things, but those are the forum rules.


    I had that endless loading on donkey kong country return as well (it happens when the island is supposed to show through the clouds or when entering/exiting a level, right?). It was caused by the cIOS I was using, which is a reason to update your cIOS in itself. :)
     
  7. tosco123
    OP

    Newcomer tosco123 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Brazil
    @Wever The endless loading on DKCR happens only when I was entering or exiting a level. So, the only thing that I have to do is update the cIOS? The 249 or another one?
     
  8. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Games always run on one single cIOS. So for DKC, it's best to check your loader which cIOS that is and update that one. Chances are high it'll be 249, so installing d2x v7 base IOS56 should do the trick. :)

    That same cIOS should be good for Kirby as well, btw.
     
  9. tosco123
    OP

    Newcomer tosco123 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Brazil
    Does d2x v8 base IOS56 work? If it works, I just need to install it and change the base IOS on the CFG Loader before launch the game?
     
  10. tosco123
    OP

    Newcomer tosco123 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Brazil
    I followed the wiiflowiki's suggestion that @Wever mentioned but, unfortunately, I still have the same problem ;/

    Does anyone have another suggestion?
     
  11. pepxl

    Member pepxl GFX W!Z4RD

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    more than likey a bad dump, am past Onion Ocean and havent had a single problem with either game
     

Share This Page