Keep hearing conflicting advice on the R4i Gold 3DS (r4ids.cn)

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Aftcomet, May 7, 2012.

  1. Aftcomet
    OP

    Newcomer Aftcomet Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    Canada
    Some people say it works on the new firmware and some say it doesn't. Everywhere I look people are giving conflicting information. I'm still on the launch 3DS firmware and would like to update to the new one. I don't have a NDS so I have to be careful.

    My card's current firmware is 1.47. I'm on the DSi 1.44 kernal. The icon that shows up for me is Chronicles of Narnia. It even says on the r4ids.cn website that the update works without any need to update. They even show a video but in the video there is a "Dorasu" icon instead of a Narnia one.

    Can anyone provide definitive advice?
     
  2. Skelletonike

    Member Skelletonike ♂ ♥ Gallant Pervert ♥ ♀

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,842
    Location:
    Steam City
    Country:
    Portugal
    I have an R4i Gold 3DS as well, and it's quite simple, does your flashcart show Spongebob, or is it Prince Caspian?
    If it's Sponge Bob, then you need to update your firmware (they have it there, the new one that's for the 1.44 DSi firmware), otherwise, if it's already Prince Caspian that your R4i shows as, you have nothing to worry about.
     
  3. Aftcomet
    OP

    Newcomer Aftcomet Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    Canada
    It's Prince Caspian for me, so it's safe to update?
     
  4. Skelletonike

    Member Skelletonike ♂ ♥ Gallant Pervert ♥ ♀

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,842
    Location:
    Steam City
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yeah, it should be since Prince Caspian was released with the 1.44 fix for the DSi, which for some reason also made it compatible with the latest 3DS firmware.
     
  5. Aftcomet
    OP

    Newcomer Aftcomet Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    Canada
    Alright here goes....
     
  6. Aftcomet
    OP

    Newcomer Aftcomet Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    Canada
    It works!
     
  7. jrk190

    Member jrk190 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    718
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I have this, and I'd go ahead and get the Supercard DStwo. I can't get my R4 to work, I'm sure I need to update the firmware, though.
     
  8. Aftcomet
    OP

    Newcomer Aftcomet Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    Canada
    It was wierd for me. I updated everything to the latest version. But the first time i tried the card I got an error. I then reset the 3DS and tried it again and it worked.

    Make sure you have the DSi Kernal 1.44 and Firmware 1.47 with the Caspian logo and you'll be fine.
     
  9. jrk190

    Member jrk190 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    718
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    That's my problem, I forgot to update the firmware :/
     

Share This Page