ROM Hack KazoWar's BWSE tutorial to edit RGCN and RLCN?

raulpica

With your drill, thrust to the sky!
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
11,056
Trophies
0
Location
PowerLevel: 9001
XP
5,713
Country
Italy
This might help you:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FShcefr5W9U
or
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DQJc7GWrlxY

Also, official thread: http://projectpokemon.org/forums/showthread.php?14752-Kazo-s-B-W-Tools
 

KazoWAR

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
1,951
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Winter Haven
XP
2,002
Country
United States
That's great, but how do I use the DSDecmp? I dragged the a/0/7/2 folder into it and it gave me a 2_dec. I tried using both the original 2 and 2_dec in BWSE 2.0, but it tells me DSDecmp failed to decompress.
no, you do not use DSDecmp, use BWSE. BWSE will automatically use DSDecmp to decompress and compress the files for you. just use the combo box to quickly pick an image.

you can see an example in this video in the bottom right corner.
 

supagokuman2

YouTube Gamer
Member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
146
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
San Antonio, TX
Website
youtube.com
XP
103
Country
United States
Sorry, but it won't work for me. I extracted folder a/0/7/2 using kiwi.ds, but when I try to open it in the BWSE 2.0, it rejects the folder. DSDecmp is in the same location as BWSE 2.0 too, so I don't quite understand how to make this work ^^"
 

supagokuman2

YouTube Gamer
Member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
146
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
San Antonio, TX
Website
youtube.com
XP
103
Country
United States
Use Tinke to unpack the narc files
Thanks it works now, but it glitches up the sprites I'm trying to put in.

Can you clarify some things for me?
What must I do for a sprite to work in the game?
Every sprite that I've tried to insert always glitches. The mugshots, the overworlds, everything.
I have the correct amount of colors (16 or less) and they are perfectly alined on a sprite sheet and they have a background different to the sprites.
What in the world am I doing wrong? I can't figure it out!
trainerspritey.png

The Trainer Sprite I'm trying to do ^
I have his overworlds and mugshot too, tried
to use them both, and they glitch. Mugshot becomes just
a bunch of matrix lines, overworld has a transparent face, this has transparent
stripes through his shirt and pants.
 

KazoWAR

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
1,951
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Winter Haven
XP
2,002
Country
United States
i am not sure about that, i don't use photoshop.

there is a plugin for paint.net that allows you to save images in a index color mode. you can set the max colors allowed and it will attempt to mix colors that are about the same in to a single color. but it makes the image not look as good the more colors it has to merge to reduce the color count down to 16. i think it was called LowColor
 

supagokuman2

YouTube Gamer
Member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
146
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
San Antonio, TX
Website
youtube.com
XP
103
Country
United States
I think I found out how to do it in PhotoShop. Image > Mode > Indexed Color...

It actually says:

Colors:

I edited it to 16 and it doesn't glitch in BWSE 2.0 anymore (YES!) but, how do I compress the files now? I'm not used to Tinke, the files are different than what I am used to. I know I must use kiwi.ds, but what do I do?

EDIT: Yes, it works! I found out how to do it. Thanks so much for your help!

Do you, by any chance, know how to make the rival sprites not move, by the way? ^^"

Also, the only sprites I'm still having trouble with are the mugshots, I made SURE they indeed ARE 16 colors, but they look all negative In-Game (Cheren & Bianca) and the eyes and hair are see through (Hilbert, I used a Trainer Red sprite)

Any chance you have a BWME 2.0 as well? Would save my life!
Then I would just need to learn how to insert music properly and I continue my project!
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: ♫ We al live in a Flex seal submarine ♫