Homebrew It is possible to install normal ds games as .cia on the 3ds?

Isle41

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2011
Messages
207
Trophies
0
XP
305
Country
Gambia, The
The title you mention is either a GBA game (which is currently not possible) or DSiWare and as far as I'm aware impossible. Normal DS Games (ie, like Kirby Mass Attack) is also impossible.

Whether the possibility of any of these will change in the future, I don't see a reason why they'll always be impossible. I think Gateway was working on GBA support.
 

JazzCat.CL

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2012
Messages
206
Trophies
0
Website
chevaduchat.wordpress.com
XP
456
Country
Chile
The title you mention is either a GBA game (which is currently not possible) or DSiWare and as far as I'm aware impossible. Normal DS Games (ie, like Kirby Mass Attack) is also impossible.

Whether the possibility of any of these will change in the future, I don't see a reason why they'll always be impossible. I think Gateway was working on GBA support.
Nice, i really want to see what is the 3ds up to in the future
 

Idaho

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2013
Messages
862
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
1,246
Country
France
I once asked smealum on twitter and he said it could be possible at least for retail games and maybe for DS homebrews...
 
  • Like
Reactions: JazzCat.CL

froggestspirit

D/P/Pt Demix Guy
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2011
Messages
1,270
Trophies
0
XP
1,486
Country
United States
I'd imagine it's not too different than dsiware code-wise. I heard that inazuma eleven was released as a ds downloadable game in japan, and that might give a clue to injecting NDS roms, unless it's just a remake of the DS game?
 

dubbz82

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
1,572
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
1,189
Country
United States
I'd imagine it's not too different than dsiware code-wise. I heard that inazuma eleven was released as a ds downloadable game in japan, and that might give a clue to injecting NDS roms, unless it's just a remake of the DS game?


That would be awesome if it was actually a VC and not a full blown port. I'd love to be able to eventually just have all my ds games accessible, since unlike most VC emulators, this one more likely than not would be doing direct pass through straight to the ds hardware, emulation compatibility for it should be at (or at least very near to) 100 percent.
 

froggestspirit

D/P/Pt Demix Guy
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2011
Messages
1,270
Trophies
0
XP
1,486
Country
United States
it'd basically just be getting it to read the rom fro the SD slot rather than the cart slot. how easy that would be, i do not know. I believe everything is possible though...
 

Apache Thunder

I have cameras in your head!
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
4,294
Trophies
3
Age
35
Location
Levelland, Texas
Website
www.mariopc.co.nr
XP
6,212
Country
United States
Getting DS games to run from SD card would require modification to TWL_FIRM (GBA VC titles are actually handled by AGB_FIRM, I've just mistakenly lumped that in with TWL in my past comments about this. :P ).

Not something Gateway nor any one else has done yet. I don't see why it wouldn't be possible. But most of the devs here aren't really interested in this. Gateway is probably the only ones that might make this happen.
 

DoJo_Master

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 7, 2013
Messages
637
Trophies
0
Age
30
Website
www.3dsthemes.com
XP
461
Country
Canada
Getting DS games to run from SD card would require modification to TWL_FIRM (GBA VC titles are actually handled by AGB_FIRM, I've just mistakenly lumped that in with TWL in my past comments about this. :P ).

Something Gateway nor any one else has done yet. I don't see why it wouldn't be possible. But most of the devs here aren't really interested in this. Gateway is probably the only ones that might make this happen.

a-chance.gif
 

JazzCat.CL

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2012
Messages
206
Trophies
0
Website
chevaduchat.wordpress.com
XP
456
Country
Chile
Getting DS games to run from SD card would require modification to TWL_FIRM (GBA VC titles are actually handled by AGB_FIRM, I've just mistakenly lumped that in with TWL in my past comments about this. :P ).

Not something Gateway nor any one else has done yet. I don't see why it wouldn't be possible. But most of the devs here aren't really interested in this. Gateway is probably the only ones that might make this happen.
I hope see that one day!!
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    pretty alright, just showered
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Just saw what happened in chat lol
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    with the meme child?
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    spouting nonsense and throwing baseless accusations won't get them anywhere
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That's true
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Honestly, when will they learn.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Right now I'm re-calibrating the laser for my SCPH-1002
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    As many of the earlier models are prone to failure
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    I'm so glad the boyfriend his laser still functions without any issue
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    The eBay listing said that it won't read discs, but it actually does although FMV is laggy as well as CDDA. So it most definitely needs re-calibrating.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    I wish I could get things from ebay, just sit there and spend tonnes of money
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    m4x, you're a new user but very knowledgeable and helpful on the forums - why did it take you so long to register?
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @DinohScene,
    Now the spindle doesn't seem to spin properly :(
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Might have to go figure
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @cearp,
    I have autism and am quite knowledgeable when it comes to computers.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    check the wiring on it, might have gotten loose over the years
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @cearp,
    My brain works differently to other people.
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    sure, but most new users wouldn't be answering ds + gba questions. == we are lucky to have you, thanks!
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Why it took so long is because I've been on Discord throughout my life, but have met a lot of toxic people on there and was always treated a lot like shit.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @cearp,
    Thank you so much! :)
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    discord is shit :x
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @DinohScene,
    I know right. I did originally have an account here on GBATemp back in 2021, hardly ever used it so I ended up deleting it.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Reason was because of Discord, was so attached to it that it affected my mental health really bad.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I'm much better and I am so happy to be with this community.
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: I'm much better and I am so happy to be with this community.