Hardware Is there any way to mod a regular nintendo switch with an OLED modchip?

Mustigusti

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
Unfortunately I made the mistake of buying an OLED modchip even though I only own a regular one (not software hackable except through caffeine). They arent that expensive I could easily just buy the correct one and wait for it to come but the shipping is just excruciatingly long. 5 long weeks... So I'm asking if its even theoretically possible to use an OLED chip here without bricking my system. The CPU-cables I can buy, they dont take as long.

I'm thankful for any answers and sorry if I broke any rules this is my first time making a thread in this forum.

Mustigusti

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
I found this picture below named OLED on V2. If I follow this exact schematic it should work right?
Post automatically merged:

This should work also:

Attachments

• OLED-on-V2-Diagram-Version-2.jpg
    OLED-on-V2-Diagram-Version-2.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 32
  • OLED-on-V2.jpg
    OLED-on-V2.jpg
    988.5 KB · Views: 28

zamastyle

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
The diagrams look accurate. The only thing to keep in mind is that your chip may have points in a different order than what you see here. Make sure to connect
CMD to the A point
RST to B
DAT0 to C
CLK to D

The oled cpu ribbon will work on a v2 so install that portion like normal.

Trophies
Website
github.com
XP
Country
Korea, North
When you say "regular" Switch, what is the model number. If it was manufactured before summer of 2018 you can use the RCM exploit while you wait for a OLED to Core chip conversion kit to be mailed out.

Also FWIW Caffeine won't work unless you are on a very old firmware.

Reactions: Mustigusti

Mustigusti

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
Should work as long you wired it correctly.