1. BetterDuck

    OP BetterDuck I am truly remarded
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    United States
    I feel like since OpenMW is open source, it could be done. But I'm curious of the limitations of it, I know for a fact reflections would be out the window and shadows probably wouldn't be possible either. Lots of visual effects would have to be sacrificed due to the age and limitations of the 3ds gpu. But wouldn't it still be awesome and equally hilarious to play Morrowind on 3ds?
     
  2. LuNyX

    LuNyX Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    France
    I dont think the 3ds has hardware requirements for this...
     
  3. BetterDuck

    OP BetterDuck I am truly remarded
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    United States
    I feel like it does, but like I said, it'd be severely limited.
     
  4. LuNyX

    LuNyX Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    France
    If you work a lot for this, you can do it, i think, but this isn't sure... You can try anyway, for see if the console can load a game like this with the parameters decreased to the maximum ?
     
  5. Rahkeesh

    Rahkeesh GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    1,445
    Country:
    United States
    Can you even fit the current UI into 240p? The Switch port barely works as is.
     
  6. BetterDuck

    OP BetterDuck I am truly remarded
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    United States
    Shit I didn't even think about the ui. Maybe some solution with the bottom screen could be worked on.
     
  7. QueenAdrian

    QueenAdrian Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I've asked this very question on the OpenMW forums and the consensus there was "no."

    Looking into it, the 3DS doesn't have enough VRAM. I figure MAYBE a port that somehow downsizes all the textures could possibly work (I'm no developer, take that with a grain of salt), but a straight port likely isn't happening.
     
    BetterDuck likes this.
  8. BetterDuck

    OP BetterDuck I am truly remarded
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    United States
    I don't have much hope as it'd probably look like King's Field when it's all done. Still it'd be an entertaining project. If I knew how to even get started I would just for the fun of it.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - possible, OpenMW,