Homebrew [Question] How do I port a game [Like Doom] to the 3ds?

sniper220

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Australia
I have little experience in coding, But want to port a game to 3ds for fun. I figured Doom would be a good choice since it's open source and doesn't seem too complex, However, I have no idea where to start, Or if it's even possible for some one with very little coding experience. I'm aware that Doom 3ds ports exist, I just want to port it for fun/experience. Cheers.

Last edited by sniper220,

MORSHU8KRTXON

Sussy baka
Trophies
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
Country
Chad
I have little experience in coding, But want to port a game to 3ds for fun. I figured Doom would be a good choice since it's open source and doesn't seem too complex, However, I have no idea where to start, Or if it's even possible for some one with very little coding experience. I'm aware that Doom 3ds ports exist, I just want to port it for fun/experience. Cheers.
I recommend you first understand how doom's code works

placebo_yue

Trophies
XP
Country
Argentina
if you have no coding experience and no clue where to start i'd say you have at least months of research and learning before you can even think of doing such thing. If it was so easy anyone with little knowledge could do it, there'd be ports of every game ever released on every console because anyone would port their favourite games into every console. I know i would

Reactions: MORSHU8KRTXON

owoLinksu

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
how do I port gentoo to the 3ds? I have no exp

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

owoLinksu

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
im guessing a few years minimum of c/c++ programming and 3ds programming understandings. its not a pick it right up and go thing.