Homebrew is it possible to remake sonic generations in unity and port it to 3ds?

Ruben123wtfYT

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 16, 2020
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
16
XP
37
Country
Chile
i will like to have the original sonic generations in 3ds but nobody tried to port it before, so i will like to remake it in unity I would like to carry it with all its contents but mainly the levels in 3d
 

Osaxely

Developer of MC Addons Manager
Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2020
Messages
107
Trophies
0
Age
16
XP
322
Country
France
Yes it's possible but good luck xD
I've tried to create a game with Unity 3DS (with Nintendo sdk) and it was very laggy on the old 3ds, the system crash at launch of the app if there is too much elements on the screen.
It's difficult to dev on 3DS with unity.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Scott_pilgrim

Osaxely

Developer of MC Addons Manager
Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2020
Messages
107
Trophies
0
Age
16
XP
322
Country
France
Normally I can't tell you that but the old 3DS has only 64Mb of RAM, Unity player take a lot and 3DS OS the rest.
So there is 1.5mb (or 2.5mb I don't remember) free to develop a game

EDIT : And there is 6mb of graphics memory, that's not high
 
Last edited by Osaxely,
  • Like
Reactions: Scott_pilgrim

placebo_yue

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2019
Messages
494
Trophies
1
Age
31
XP
682
Country
Argentina
Wait, isn't there a sonic generations for 3DS? why remake it?
Also, as people said, developing for 3DS on unity demands some serious, heavy optimization. A minor fuckup on the code or the formats and compression on the audios or the textures and your game suddenly drops to 10 FPS or so. (on O3DS)
 

Shadow#1

Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
10,447
Trophies
0
XP
5,983
Country
United States
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,097
Trophies
0
Location
Alola
XP
11,915
Country
Norway
Wait, isn't there a sonic generations for 3DS? why remake it?
Also, as people said, developing for 3DS on unity demands some serious, heavy optimization. A minor fuckup on the code or the formats and compression on the audios or the textures and your game suddenly drops to 10 FPS or so. (on O3DS)
It's different. IIRC it has no 3D stages.
 

Luke94

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2016
Messages
197
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
152
Country
Poland
I was wondering how would it be working on Unreal Engine 4 by using fanmade unofficial Framework named Sonic Dash. Who heard about Unreal Engine 5? I tried Jazz Jackrabbit 3(probably in circa Anno Domini of 2000)intro in Unreal Engine 4. This game was never finished such as Sonic-16,Sonic Mars,Sonic X-Treme. There’s also Dreams game Engine on Sony PS4 and PS5. But this application/program got recording YouTube songs. In 1993 Amiga I mean Commodore company was already dead,bankrupted so do you recognize soundtrack of Sonic-16 gameplay tech demo footage animation?
 

Luke94

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2016
Messages
197
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
152
Country
Poland
I saw Sonic '06 unofficial project 2006 made in Unity. There's also unofficial fanmade Sonic Dash Engine Framework. Well I have Nintendo Switch I don't have Wii U anymore(my brother and I sold this game console. I have PC Windows 10 64-bit Pro,iPad(iOS),Motorola One Plus(Android),Sony Playstation 4,Playstation 2,Playstation 3,Nintendo 3DS.
If you could make this awesome game in Wii U too, it will be formidable ! ^^.
 
Last edited by Luke94,

Jilou

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
161
Country
France
@Luke94 Thanks for the information, I hope someone can do the same thing with Sonic Generations ^^.
(I'm so sad for you that you don't have your Wii U, there are so much beautiful games on it)
 
Last edited by Jilou,
D

Deleted User

Guest
If Sega couldn't do a full port with an actual team and budget and had to resort to doing a special version, i sriously doubt 1 person with Unity can do it (no offense)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Scott_pilgrim

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Attempting to recover a 2tb worth of movies and this 320 weirdly won't initialize
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    huraay for keeping backups
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    huraay for that backup drive being the issue back up a back up of a
    back ups :teach:
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    if only you could encode the backup in your DNA and carry it with you
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    In 20 years we'll probably have micro sd cards implants in our heads
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    microsd?
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I'd be okay with getting my brain taken out and replaced with one as long as its not intel or apple
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    shiet get on with the time grampa, we're using picoSD now
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Only the most important humans will have nvme installed in their head
  • _Shimon @ _Shimon:
    oh shit this exists
  • Arras @ Arras:
    wait this is where the shoutbox went?
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    What are everyone's
    thoughts on gpu prices atm?
  • Arras @ Arras:
    high
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    lol yes they are high, mate of mine just got a 1080 for $700 AUD
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    second hand which is nuts as when the 3070 came out here that's how much it was new at the time
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I
    f you have tech that can decently run games don't buy anything yet wait a year or two
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    I just got a core build upgrade, minus gpu due to price, will be running my GTX780 until I can afford an upgrade
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Prices are up because of bots and
    shortages it'll die down with a year or two
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    Yeah I imagine there will be a short period where prices are low then the next series will come out and low and behold have high prices again
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Today's games look just fine at 1080 with decent 60fos unless you have disposable income it's not really worth it
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Probably won't be that long until theirs 4k capable apus around $400
  • PeeJay Bonobo @ PeeJay Bonobo:
    And I'm here stuck with my 3800X (though I need to plan if I want to upgrade to a 5900X) and an RX 5700 (XT BIOS).
  • p1ngpong @ p1ngpong:
    DEAD
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    ALIVE
  • Slluxx @ Slluxx:
    oh wow, chat available from any where, nice
    Slluxx @ Slluxx: oh wow, chat available from any where, nice