Installing Wad's screwed me over.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by sonknuck23, May 12, 2008.

May 12, 2008
  1. sonknuck23
    OP

    Member sonknuck23 Mighty Switch Force >

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    I purchased Pokemon Puzzle League on Saturday. (Cost me 1,000 points.) Now, I dumped it, packed it into a .wad and tried to install it myself; it didn't work (big suprise.) When it brought me back to the Wii menu, my Pokemon Puzzle League was gone. (I guess since the .wad install failed, it erased my game.) So, I went to the shop channel to re-download it.

    ..
    ..

    It says I have to pay 1,000 points. I have to re-purchase the game. I can't re-download it for free like all of my other titles.

    I've also lost Lostwinds, and I didn't even get a chance to try it..

    Now, unless someone can pack my files into a .wad and get it working, I Just got screwed over and I'm really not happy about it. I just want you all to be aware of this.
     
  2. Vampant

    Newcomer Vampant Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just wondering if you bought it why did you try to install it like the hack ones?
     
  3. Arakon

    Member Arakon GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Country:
    Germany
    well, it's a known fact that illegally installed wad files have an illegal ticket file. that obviously overwrites your purchased ticket.
     
  4. sonknuck23
    OP

    Member sonknuck23 Mighty Switch Force >

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    It's not known to me, I don't even know what the f*** a ticket is, Lol. Anyway.. I just wanted to let you guys know not to make the same stupid mistake I did. I do, however, have the .app files needed to pack Pokemon Puzzle League and Lostwinds. I can't pack .wad's, 'cause they always end up not working. SO if anyone can, PM me and I'll send you the link.
     
  5. sonknuck23
    OP

    Member sonknuck23 Mighty Switch Force >

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    Just to test them. Everytime I've tired to pack .wad's, they never work, so I tried using a different PC to pack them and see if they'd work. I've done it before and never had this problem, so I figured why not.
     
  6. Arakon

    Member Arakon GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Country:
    Germany
    do you still have the original dump you made (of your nand filesystem)? if the error is -4100 when you try to install the wad, then your PC produces defective wad files. try on another PC or using the blaze wad packer to create a new wad from your nand dump, then try again to install that.
     
  7. jurai

    Member jurai GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    338
    Country:
    this is why you shouldnt hop into installing items in your nand when you don't know what you are doing.
     
  8. sonknuck23
    OP

    Member sonknuck23 Mighty Switch Force >

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for the negativity, jurai. I appreciate it. It's what I needed to kick-start my oh-so awesome morning of losing 20$ due to trying to get 2 titles for all of you.

    Arakon: the error I'm getting is -1022. Same error I usually get with this PC.
     
  9. Arakon

    Member Arakon GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Country:
    Germany
    still, if you have a valid nand dump, then you can create a working wad from that. use the blaze packer with the -p option.
     
  10. sonknuck23
    OP

    Member sonknuck23 Mighty Switch Force >

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    The only problem with that is I don't understand how to do it. I usually use that .jar file that does all the work for you. Can I use that to get all the files together and then pack them with the Blaze packer?
     
  11. sonknuck23
    OP

    Member sonknuck23 Mighty Switch Force >

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    Arakon: I cannot thank you enough. It worked. I got Pokemon Puzzle League back and it's in .wad file. I seriously appreciate your advice and help, you just made me the happiest girl on earth. Seriously, I'm so so happy right now!! haha. Thanks alot to all of you, seriously.

    Sinky
     
  12. Lazycus

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    His comment was no more negative than your post. The title should be 'I screwed myself by installing WADs without doing proper research'. You admitted that you made 'a stupid mistake', we're just agreeing with you. Do some more research and you should be able to get both games back, or continue firing off half-cocked and live with the results.
     
  13. sonknuck23
    OP

    Member sonknuck23 Mighty Switch Force >

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    ..Thanks, but I sort of figured it out, Lol. : ) ; I got Pokemon Puzzle League, but I'm having an issue with Lostwinds. When I gather all the files together to pack it, it doesn't seem to have file 00000004.app. Why's that?
     
  14. dweirdo

    Member dweirdo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    224
    Country:
    Lithuania
    are those usa Wiiware games? didnt know they r out.
    oh well...
     
  15. Arakon

    Member Arakon GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Country:
    Germany

    if you use the blaze packer and have the shared1 folder in the right place, it shouldn't miss any files.
     
  16. sonknuck23
    OP

    Member sonknuck23 Mighty Switch Force >

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    It's weird, 'Cause that's what I'm using... It worked fine with Pokemon Puzzle League, but I Can't get it to work with the WiiWare title Lostwinds. :::: Now I can't get it to find 00000007.app. This is weird, Lol.
     
  17. sonknuck23
    OP

    Member sonknuck23 Mighty Switch Force >

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, topic can be closed. I managed to get it to work, both PPL and Lostwinds. : )
     
  18. DaveMode

    Newcomer DaveMode Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    What a great thread. It went from an "oh shit I'm fucked" despair, and then to "wait maybe I'm not fucked", and finally to "sweet I got this figured out and I'm no longer fucked".

    But seriously, congrats sonknuck - hopefully we'll all be playing these games soon.
     
  19. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,853
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    Grats getting it to work OP

    Folks doing technical work and sticking their necks out when it could cause trouble, THIS is the kind of posting I like to see.
     
  20. porchemasi

    Member porchemasi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    CANADA
    Country:
    Canada
    im sure someone owns these and a proper release will be out anyways. ull get to play these 2 games 1 way or another... u didnt loose $20 just yet
     

Share This Page