Installing .jars

TheGoldenKing

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi I'm brand new to installing games and apps on my phone and I recently downloaded some games in .jar format for my phone, but I couldn't get them to work. I tried putting them on my phone, but it doesn't let me open them. I also tried opening them on my computer while my phone was plugged in, but I got a mainframe error message. I have an Lg Sentio is there anyway I can install these games or is there a better way to get free games on the phone? Thanks in advance.

FireEmblemGuy

Celebrating a decade of shitposting
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Most phones don't let you directly install Java apps due to the potentially malicious nature; if you could go online and download them through your phone they might install that way, but that'd incur data charges and might not even work.

I'd recommend asking someone at a forum that's good with phones; back in the day I asked around at HowardForums but as I haven't been there in years I don't know if the place is even still running.

scrtmstr

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Netherlands
well you're on an LG, which is on a firmware that blocks all .jar installations. SE's and nokias do allow you to install .jars you've downloaded. The only phones that don't are samsungs and LG's, along with some others. I might be wrong though, but it's my experience and I download a lot of .jars.

Quanno

Trophies
XP
Country
Netherlands
I have a samung, but i can install .jar just fine. You need to open up de .jad file, usually included with the .jar.

If not, try to google for it and edit it with the corresponding .jar

SifJar

Not a pirate
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
My LG phone lets me install .JAR files just fine.

I would advise getting a .JAD file to go with your .JAR files, some phones require those. Google for a JAD Maker.