1. Ruby Gloom

    OP Ruby Gloom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,557
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Anyone ever think of using the Vinesauce Rom corruptor with a 3ds rom? What would happen...?
     
  2. ac3ds

    ac3ds PlayStation Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    It would probably fail to boot because of all the security checks... I am going to try it later!:yay3ds::P
     
    Dgabriel and Thelostrune like this.
  3. Ruby Gloom

    OP Ruby Gloom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,557
    Country:
    New Zealand
    We do have the option in the corrupter to start at certain bytes. Maybe avoiding the security checking?
     
    Dgabriel likes this.
  4. 0x40

    0x40 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United States
    Even with crypto checks patched out it would just crash. NES roms are very different from 3DS roms in the way they are coded.
     
    Dgabriel and Thelostrune like this.
  5. ac3ds

    ac3ds PlayStation Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    Ooh I forgot about that, can't wait to try this later!
     
    Dgabriel likes this.
  6. Ruby Gloom

    OP Ruby Gloom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,557
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Well, here's the thing.
    VRC can corrupt more than just NES roms. And more than roms themselves. They corrupt any file you want.
     
    Dgabriel likes this.
  7. 0x40

    0x40 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah. You can probably corrupt the game's sprites and sound if you extract them from the romfs and still have them render/play, but corrupting the actual code would just make it crash.
     
    Dgabriel likes this.
  8. Ruby Gloom

    OP Ruby Gloom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,557
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I'm still going to try it.
     
    Dgabriel likes this.
  9. Thelostrune

    Thelostrune GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Messages:
    553
    Country:
    Norway
    You can probably corrupt individual files, if possible. It'd probably be funny to corrupt model files that way.
     
    Dgabriel likes this.
  10. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    That's what I was thinking as I saw Smea's Twitter video of showing Ocarina of Time 3D with messed up Link.
     
    Dgabriel likes this.
  11. shutterbug2000

    shutterbug2000 Cubic NINJHAX!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,088
    Country:
    United States
    I've already done this ;)
    [​IMG]
     
    Dgabriel and Deleted User like this.
  12. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    FRICKIN HOW??!!!!?!??! :wtf:
     
    Last edited Dec 13, 2015
  13. shutterbug2000

    shutterbug2000 Cubic NINJHAX!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,088
    Country:
    United States
    I just corrupted the Mario's bcmdl(contained in an szs) in the romfs and loaded it with HANS.
     
  14. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    I might wanna try it out someday.
     
    Dgabriel and shutterbug2000 like this.
  15. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    I'm gonna try this later with CorrupTool.
     
  16. ll0rT

    ll0rT GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    You can try using NTR debugger to corrupt RAM memory. Write some random data on random adresses of game's PID.
    Also easy corrupting method for Majora's Mask: just open and close ntr menu. This will mess up npc textures xD
    Edit: I found the screenshots I took.
    top_0004.jpg top_0007.jpg top_0009.jpg
    Edit 2: These are results of RAM corrupting in ORAS. I somehow changed clouds into tetris blocks :D
    top_0007.jpg top_0006.jpg
     
    Last edited by ll0rT, Dec 13, 2015
    Thelostrune, Ridge and Deleted User like this.
  17. Ruby Gloom

    OP Ruby Gloom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,557
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Gateway released an update allowing us to write to memory of games. Should this work or no...?
     
    Deleted User likes this.
  18. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    I'd imagine it would.
     
  19. Ruby Gloom

    OP Ruby Gloom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,557
    Country:
    New Zealand
    What would be the best addresses to write to? The ones closer to 0 or the higher ones? I'm new to this idk what i'm doing.
     
  20. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    It's probably best start a little while after the start of the RAM dump.
    If there's a RAM map available for whatever game you're RAM corrupting, then I'd suggest maybe looking at where stuff is stored, and deciding a good offset to start at that way.
    there's probably not very many if any ram maps for 3ds games though, i'm just going off of what i do for rom corruption
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - corrupting, [Idea],