I think I ruined a graphics card

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by Harsky, Dec 28, 2007.

Dec 28, 2007
  1. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A while back, I ordered an MSI 8600GT from ebuyer for my cousin (the version which had a very large cooling unit). Anyways, it worked on my PC and worked on his one... barely but nonetheless I thought it was within my budget for a decent graphics card so I went to ebay and bought one (but without the large cooling unit).

    It arrived today. Plugged it in and it ran okay... for literally 30 seconds before it switched itself off and at that point I knew something went badly wrong. I guess I should've been lucky that it wasn't an 8800GT otherwise I really would crying but guessing that my card is now beyond repair, what should've been done to prevent this happening again?

    Oh and somehow I have a feeling it's PSU related which is something I'm dreading since the idea of reconnecting everything makes me sad.
     


  2. Arkansaw

    Member Arkansaw GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    986
    Country:
    East Timor
    Use the cooling unit?
    replacing the PSU isn't nearly as troublesome as replacing the mainboard
     
  3. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You know, I figure I might as well get a new PSU unit as well. But I'm lost in figuring out which unit I need. Any ideas?
     
  4. Extreme Coder

    Member Extreme Coder GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    Cairo, Egypt
    Country:
    Egypt
    So the PC doesn't turn on anymore?
     
  5. cubin'

    Member cubin' GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,866
    Country:
    Australia
    It might not be ruined.

    Yeah it sounds like a power supply issue.

    What was your old graphics card? What are your system specs? Do you know how powerful your current PSU is?
     
  6. crkdshad

    Member crkdshad GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    Try using a power supply tester? They sell them at radioshack, etc.
     
  7. Arkansaw

    Member Arkansaw GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    986
    Country:
    East Timor
    For the record, I have heard reports about 8800GT and 2x 500GB hard drives drawing more than 500W. These days, gfx cards are not the only components screaming for power.
     
  8. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    How big is your power supply?
    It sounds like a big power eater.
     
  9. jumpman17

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
    Check your power supply. When I bought the GeForce 5200, it ran for 30 minutes, then my tower overheated and killed the power supply.
     
  10. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I went to my local PC store and bought a new PSU unit. It was a 570W one so it's literally double the watts of my previous one. Now, I plugged my 8600GT back into the PC... and still nothing. Absolutely nothing at all. Which is why I'm still using my old one albeit with at least an upgraded PSU so nothing is lost.
     
  11. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Was it a generic/crap brand PSU? Cos if so the wattage means absolutely ZILCH
     
  12. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Old PSU was an FSP Group PSU (ie one that came preinstalled in my PC that was bought by my dad from a PC store). New one is made by Trust and is this one

    http://www.trust.com/products/product_detail.aspx?item=14888
     
  13. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  14. cenotaph

    Member cenotaph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    341
    Country:
    United States
    If there's no reaction whatsoever, I'd start troubleshooting the motherboard - your old PSU might have killed it.
     
  15. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can't see how the motherboard is responsible for this consider it's still working.
     
  16. cenotaph

    Member cenotaph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    341
    Country:
    United States
    Forget what I posted, I didn't read your posts properly and missed out on some (vital) info.

    Note to anyone who might be reading: this is what you get for having a short attention span.
     
  17. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    While I'm at it, I can't decide if the 570W they slapped on the box is just a cheap ruse and in truth, it isn't enough to run the card. I really don't want to risk getting another card and having the same thing happen.
     
  18. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    Its probably a cheap ruse. My PC case came with a claimed 600w PSU. Popped my 8600GT in there and nothing. So I checked the PSU to see if the +12v rails were providing enough juice......hell no, only 15A and the card's minimum requirement was 18A. Anyways, went out and bought a good 500w Ultra brand psu and it provides more than enough power.
     
  19. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm... I was confused when I was buying that I just grabbed the first one that came to sight. This is the exact specs for the PSU.

    [​IMG]

    Something tells me I got the wrong one. Need to know since I'll be exchanging this as soon as possible.
     
  20. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Just do some searching on the net for the right brands, there's lots of guides and reviews out there.

    Enermax, Antec, Corsair, Seasonic, etc. etc.
    A well-known brand doesn't necessarily mean good though, some have fallen from grace in a big way (thermaltake for instance, though I think they're bringing out a new line which is half decent)

    If you really really must go cheap, get a "Task" branded PSU - they're basically as good as you'll get in a budget PSU.
     

Share This Page