I think I know how to get N64 roms and GBA roms running on the DS

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by eric_4_life, Nov 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eric_4_life
    OP

    Member eric_4_life GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    Canada
    First, let me just say that I came up with this by following the principle of the Wii wad injection. I know it's not the same on the DS, but coders have been able to port several games on to the DS like Doom + Doom mods and even Starcarft. The idea would be to build a sort of emulator coded for 1 N64 or GBA game, sort of like the Wii does with the virtual console. The end result would be a port. I know that for this to work, a lot of hacking would be required and this project is beyond me, so that is why I am proposing this idea to you guys.

    Just give me your feedback
     
  2. Arno

    Member Arno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Country:
    United States
    Can't be done.
     
  3. jowan

    Member jowan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Medellin
    Country:
    Colombia
    why theres still people who thinks it can be done?
     
  4. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Run along now, don't reply on the topic and let it die out once more.

    Emulating N64 on DS can't be done (it just isn't powerfull or compatible enough), use the search function.
     
  5. ackers

    Member ackers GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dude the DS can no way run N64 games. Even the PSP struggles with it.
     
  6. CorruptedAngel

    Member CorruptedAngel GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The problem the ds has:

    ARM-9 CPU running at 67Mhz and an ARM-7 unit running at 33Mhz. 4Mb of main RAM, with additional chunks of cache and shared RAM for the processors and 656Kb of video RAM.

    this is not enough to emulate a console that has about the same kind of specs. emulation requires loads more resources than running a game natively. the ds can handle a port because it has similer specs. but in a port the game it rewritten for the ds. the ds simply has not got enough ram and processing power for emulation of the n64 and never will have
     
  7. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you might as well try to emulate a PS3 on a gameboy.

    N64 CPU = 93.75mhz + 62.5 MHz (sound processor)
    N64 RAM = 4mb
    N64 screen = 320x240 to 640x480 (with RAM expansion)

    NDS CPU = 66mhz + 33mhz
    NDS RAM = 4mb
    NDS screen = 256x192 (x2)

    No amount of hacking is going to get an N64 game running on an NDS. The ONLY way is to code the entire game again, with reduced features and quality.
     
  8. ZenZero

    Member ZenZero GBATEMP's regular arse.

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,270
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i think his theroy is a good one...

    because the DS CAN emulate the N64 - just at a very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very slow rate. I have always believed that it is possible - we just dont know how.
     
  9. psycoblaster

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
     
  10. Noitora

    Member Noitora ::

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,768
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    I love how you used the ! after DS little coder [​IMG]
     
  11. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    N64 emulation on DS is impossible. To play GBA games, use slot2.

    Thread closed.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page