Hacking i need to downgrade to 5.50

Ace Overclocked

My CPU's hot but my core runs cold.
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2010
Messages
2,115
Trophies
1
Age
24
Location
Somewhere
XP
1,181
Country
Italy
i have a psp 6.20 and i need to downgrade it for psp3d compatibily for some dude and we need 5.50 for that, i have 6.20 pro b-8 can i use hellcat's flasher to downgrade it like the old days? it's a psp 100 btw
 

Jetowa

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 1, 2012
Messages
76
Trophies
0
Age
39
Location
Louisiana, USA
XP
88
Country
United States
pull out your pandora battery and stick and get cracking ^_^

Btw: Why do you need to downgrade, the plugin should work fine on 6.20
 

Ace Overclocked

My CPU's hot but my core runs cold.
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2010
Messages
2,115
Trophies
1
Age
24
Location
Somewhere
XP
1,181
Country
Italy
i agreed with the guy to give him my old psp1000 for a new 3000 because of my emus, plugins and portals, he wants psp3d to work and it doesn't work very well on my current fw while it worked perfectly on the old prome, it black screens me on some games (kh bbs fm for ex) and doesn't work and overlags.
psp3d started becoming unusable when i got into 6.xx cfw

pull out your pandora battery and stick and get cracking ^_^

Btw: Why do you need to downgrade, the plugin should work fine on 6.20
i modified my version.txt and it accepted to update but i won't press x until i get confirmation from here
 

Ace Overclocked

My CPU's hot but my core runs cold.
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2010
Messages
2,115
Trophies
1
Age
24
Location
Somewhere
XP
1,181
Country
Italy
also i should point out that i have the latest version (2.2), so is there any alternative, i need to be swift because i will trade tomorrow
 

xist

ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2008
Messages
5,859
Trophies
0
XP
973
Country
Well you've already made up your mind....putting him on a rubbish firmware which can't easily access the PSN seems rather pointless. PSP 3D is on 2.21 and works on PRO. If you want to downgrade to a firmware i'd never inflict upon anyone, especially not a user unfamiliar with CFW then go ahead.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

Ace Overclocked

My CPU's hot but my core runs cold.
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2010
Messages
2,115
Trophies
1
Age
24
Location
Somewhere
XP
1,181
Country
Italy
Well you've already made up your mind....putting him on a rubbish firmware which can't easily access the PSN seems rather pointless. PSP 3D is on 2.21 and works on PRO. If you want to downgrade to a firmware i'd never inflict upon anyone, especially not a user unfamiliar with CFW then go ahead.
actually i'm pretty familiar with cfw, but yes psp3d works on pro but, it lags more than on 5.50, cannot access a flots of games when on 6.20 (no bbs, almost ni dissidia which didn't work before but is unplayable now, most games get a blue screen/blackscreen/crash anyway), unless it works perfectly on 6.20 pro b10 it will be pointless for this guy who doesn't even know psn and only cares about stuff he can't get with cfw...
i'm trying pro b10 before going back to the old prome
edit:his psp is 6.60, can i downgrade to 6.20 when i get it (i personally use 6.20 pro, it's much better i know, but if psp3d won't work for him it'll break the deal)
 

xist

ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2008
Messages
5,859
Trophies
0
XP
973
Country
Why not just leave it on M33? At this point in the game neither a 5.00 or 5.50 CFW will play all the latest games, nor natively access the PSN.
 

Ace Overclocked

My CPU's hot but my core runs cold.
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2010
Messages
2,115
Trophies
1
Age
24
Location
Somewhere
XP
1,181
Country
Italy
Why not just leave it on M33? At this point in the game neither a 5.00 or 5.50 CFW will play all the latest games, nor natively access the PSN.
he will want to play dissidia 012/bbs at maximum so i should probably do prome, it's more efficent exept for psx virtualization, or does m33 have dissidia support
also it seems psn lover still does its job

edit: also i'd like to thank you for now and before, i owe everything i know about cfw to you and my psp wouldn't have been succesfully modded if it wasn't for your help in 2010
 

xist

ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2008
Messages
5,859
Trophies
0
XP
973
Country
5.50 firmwares are less efficient in every regard than 5.00 M33 apart from an increase in native game compatibility.

It's difficult to advise one way or another as without knowing your friend it's impossible to know how likely it is he'll have problems. Sooner or later he's bound to if he's using something that outdated, so it'd be better if you put him on something you're more comfortable helping him with.
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
29,431
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
27,445
Country
Poland
Uhm... it's a PSP-1000. Literally nothing is standing in the way of 6.60Pro B10fix1, the *latest* and *best* CFW out there. If PSP3D has issues on it then it's due to a crappy MSPD, not due to the firmware. Besides, how big is this plugin anyways? You can install it on FLASH if it has loading issues on a slow stick.
 

Ace Overclocked

My CPU's hot but my core runs cold.
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2010
Messages
2,115
Trophies
1
Age
24
Location
Somewhere
XP
1,181
Country
Italy
Uhm... it's a PSP-1000. Literally nothing is standing in the way of 6.60Pro B10fix1, the *latest* and *best* CFW out there. If PSP3D has issues on it then it's due to a crappy MSPD, not due to the firmware. Besides, how big is this plugin anyways? You can install it on FLASH is it has loading issues on a slow stick.
is it because of the ms?
issues never happened before updating to 6.20
and how can i put it on flash?
 

xist

ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2008
Messages
5,859
Trophies
0
XP
973
Country
is it because of the ms?
issues never happened before updating to 6.20
and how can i put it on flash?

And this is why being familiar with CFW and being familiar with CFW are two entirely different things. How about you speed test that MS?
 

Ace Overclocked

My CPU's hot but my core runs cold.
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2010
Messages
2,115
Trophies
1
Age
24
Location
Somewhere
XP
1,181
Country
Italy
is it because of the ms?
issues never happened before updating to 6.20
and how can i put it on flash?

And this is why being familiar with CFW and being familiar with CFW are two entirely different things. How about you speed test that MS?
sure i'll edit
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
29,431
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
27,445
Country
Poland
is it because of the ms?
issues never happened before updating to 6.20
and how can i put it on flash?

And this is why being familiar with CFW and being familiar with CFW are two entirely different things. How about you speed test that MS?
I'm assuming it *is* a problem with the stick because I had that issue with POPS Loader. Using one of the adapters I bought with one SD card boots it normally, using the same adapter with two doesn't because the adapter is likely fake, using it with a Sony MSPD works normally aswell. Speed Test gives relatively the same results on all three setups, it's the *lag between dedecting the card in the slot and actual readout* that causes this. I double-checked it by resetting VSH with an already detected adapter and plugins that did not work... magically worked. So yes, it could be the MSPD, especially in the case of adapter use. Unfortunatelly I still need to have a single-SD setup for POPS as it's rather big and the dual-SD mode on the fake adapter just doesn't seem to cut it. I need to buy another batch of those, I gave the genuine one to my girlfriend. :P Or... just put my PSX games on the Sony card... :P

This is my recommendation - boot the PSP, let it detect your stick, reset VSH from Recovery Menu and try again.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://i.imgur.com/IXlPrt6.jpeg +1