I have a question about Acekard and 3DS

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by xxteargodxx, Jun 14, 2011.

Jun 14, 2011
  1. xxteargodxx
    OP

    Member xxteargodxx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    Okay so I just want to make sure I have everything right before I go ahead and do anything when I get my Acekard in the mail. I've ordered an Acekard 2i from ValueDeluxe and I have a Nintendo 3DS updated to I believe the latest firmware the one that gave the internet browser. If it helps to identify this (I'm not sure how to identify what firmware I have yet) it says 6316 next to some footprints at the top left of the top screen.

    Also I have a 16gb micro sdhc 4 given to me with my Motorola Droid that I plan on using for my Acekard. I'm not sure what brand it is but if it helps it says C16G Japan.
     
  2. molh394

    Member molh394 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    209
    Country:
    Singapore
    Ask ValueDeluxe if your cart has been updated to work on the latest 3ds v2.0 update (yup, that's the one you have). If it has then all you have to do is to follow this user's guide to set it up.

    If it has not you will have to get a DS phat/lite (or failing that, a DSi or 3DS which has not been updated to the latest firmware) and update your new acekard using it, as your new Acekard will be blocked by your 3DS. For further details please see my faq on this.
     
  3. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    If you've updated your 3DS to v2.0 then you're in a bit of a bind. You need another DS Lite/Phat, or a non 1.4.2 DSi to load the latest Acekard firmware onto the cartridge so that it is compatible with the 3DS v2.0.

    Follow our handy guide to update the firmware on the Acekard once you get it. It's for 1.4.1 but the process is identical for the other firmware updates

    http://gbatemp.net/t218103-updated-n00b-gu...your-acekard#11

    Get the latest Acekard firmware update from their website

    www.acekard.com
     
  4. xxteargodxx
    OP

    Member xxteargodxx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I have my brother's DS Lite laying around the house I could use to update the firmware if needed. Though a previous Acekard 2i has been used with it before is it okay if I still update my new one with it even though another Acekard 2i has been used with it before as well?

    I'm going to shoot ValueDeluxe an e-mail now and ask that question too. Thanks for the quick responses, I do appreciate it.
     
  5. xxteargodxx
    OP

    Member xxteargodxx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    Have not gotten an email back from Value Deluxe, yet. I had planned on trading in Pokemon Black for cash to buy an acekard 2i from real hot stuff. I asked on the phone how much for the game in cash, he tells me $16. I get there and the idiot then offers me $12 bucks so I can't order from Real Hot Stuff.

    Stupid gamestop, pisses me off -_-
     
  6. molh394

    Member molh394 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    209
    Country:
    Singapore
    It is ok.
     
  7. xxteargodxx
    OP

    Member xxteargodxx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    I asked Value Deluxe and they said it has been updated to work with the latest 3DS firmware. SO I guess I'll find out when it comes in the mail.
     
  8. molh394

    Member molh394 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    209
    Country:
    Singapore
    That's great! You can look forward to playing DS ROMs (and homebrew) on your 3DS then! [​IMG]
     
  9. xxteargodxx
    OP

    Member xxteargodxx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah can't wait for it to get here..Boy do I wish mail from Hong Kong was faster lol.
     
  10. molh394

    Member molh394 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    209
    Country:
    Singapore
    Can't be helped, it's free shipping after all.
     

Share This Page