I dont want Ubuntu (:

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by prowler, Oct 13, 2009.

Oct 13, 2009

I dont want Ubuntu (: by prowler at 10:51 AM (1,279 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. prowler
    OP

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm finding Ubuntu to hard, with the comand line and installing things. Windows is just easier. So i searched Google and i got this from Mircosoft website

    So the boot disc must not be capable of running then?

    I know this must be like confusing, because i talk weird lol. so the question is,
    How can i re-install Windows XP Pro and completely take off Ubuntu.
     
  2. nicman000

    Newcomer nicman000 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    Australia
    First, don't worry about removing Linux yet, just find a Windows install disc that works and boots. I'm assuming you changed the boot order/picked a device to boot from already? Because it sounds like you're saying that the current disc you have doesn't work/boot.
     
  3. flusflus89

    Newcomer flusflus89 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Aruba
    Insert the XP installation disc, reboot the pc with it inside and do it. just delete all partitions and install xp on the empty space. now if you have backup to do, it'll be harder...
     
  4. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,853
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    "It takes me too long to learn how to use the command line."

    *takes forever learning how to install Windows off of a boot disc*
     
  5. prowler
    OP

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i tryed booting the disc up, but it wouldnt load.
    it says error cant load and goes to boot ubuntu up.

    EDIT: I think i know the reason why my Windows disc will not boot up.
    I tryed it again, and it said it would do it with both my Ubuntu Disc and Windows.
    Them i was like wtf, so i tryed the other CD Drive, didnt work.
    But when i installed Ubuntu the first time, i had the use the second CD drive when on Windows to install it

    So, is there any way to change the BIOS so the boot disc will run from my second CD drive?
    The first CD Drive will not load the disc up. I tryed looking on system settings on boot up, but no luck finding any options

    EDITEDIT: Working now (: My first CD Drive was broke or something, so i couldn't boot up ma windows disc.
    So i made my Second CD Drive the Master, by taking it apart and doing them pin things, and it working fine (:
     
  6. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    "I'm finding Ubuntu to hard, with the comand line and installing things."

    Holy shit, I'm not sure I've ever heard something more stupid. [​IMG]
     
  7. baffle-boy

    Member baffle-boy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    EVERYWHERE
    Country:
    Canada
    ubuntu is a VERY good os... and installing things is as easy as opening the installer and finding what you want... but if you want something like xp but better try linux mint!
     
  8. mattsaysfooey

    Newcomer mattsaysfooey Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    Both of them have good uses. Install linux first then xp on another partition and dual boot?
    It's hard to game really with linux? Are any recent high resource games working on linux fully?
    Do win32 emulators handle applications like that? I haven't looked into running RE5 in gentoo or ubuntu
    has anyone tried to do this? :X
     
  9. Maat

    Newcomer Maat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hi-rez games on linux.....hammm linux doesn't have directx how dou plan to use hi-rez games?
    If you like to play newer games i think your best option is stay with windows, for the games.
    In my computer i have both windows and linux. Sometimes i use one or another, but evertime that i need to do something that really doesn't need something that only windows can do then i go to linux.
    I prefer to first install windows and then after that install linux it's more easy i think, because when you first install linux and then windows, the windows remove the linux boot and you would need to reinstall the boot.
     
  10. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Wha, wha, WHAT! What the hell did you just say? You can just create a partition and install Linux on the partiton and Windows on the main drive. At least that's what I do.
     
  11. Myidentityisasec

    Newcomer Myidentityisasec Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I had problems with windows and ubuntu too. XD
    All you do is use a CD instead of a floppy. That post was probably uotdated.
    Hope it works.
    :]
     
  12. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Eum, openGL? Also you can install directx in Wine afaik [​IMG]. For me not every shader works but aside from that Track Mania Nations runs fine (see play on linux if you're having a hard time).
     
  13. Raki

    Member Raki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    Germany
    most game developers use directX...just a few use opengl
     
  14. XWolf

    Member XWolf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    745
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think you missunderstood... Linux can use OpenGL to emulate DirectX - it captures the gfx instructions and re-routes through OpenGL. I have it working like this for Virtualbox (a virtual machine with XP installed on it within my Linux desktop).
     
  15. Vidboy10

    Member Vidboy10 Tsardom

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey hey, Give the guy some slack.
    When i first used Ubuntu i thought it was extremely hard to install stuff and such.
    But now i know how to use it! [​IMG]

    So don't worry, He'll figure out how to use it. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page