How to use the Recovery Menu on LG Optimus 2x

Discussion in 'Android' started by Delta517, Jun 6, 2012.

Jun 6, 2012
  1. Delta517
    OP

    Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Norway
    So I'm having some problems with a LG Optimus 2x and I wanted to do a Factory Reset. I have succesfully entered the Recovery Menu and it gives me the option to "wipe data/factory reset", but I can't figure out how to select it :/ I have tried every single button, but all that happends is that with the volume buttons I can change options and with the Home Button I can only hide/show the menu. :( None of the other buttons to anything :(

    Help? :)
     
  2. Chalky94

    Newcomer Chalky94 Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Depends what recovery you have installed. But more often than not it's the 'sleep/wake' button to select and the 'volume rocker' to go through the options.
     
  3. Delta517
    OP

    Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Norway
    It's all stock ;) I tried the "Sleep/wake button" but it does nothing :/ I tried holding it in and pressing it with different combinations off buttons :/
     
  4. Chalky94

    Newcomer Chalky94 Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's weird because I just watched a video to make sure I was right, and even in the video the man used the 'sleep/wake' button on the top of the phone to select :/
    Sorry man
     
  5. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In general, it is volume buttons to navigate and power to select an option. If that does not work for you, you can try doing a factory reset from the phones Settings menu instead of via recovery menu. It should do the same thing. Go into Settings, then Privacy, then select "Factory data reset" (This could be different on your phone. On mine it is under "Storage", not "Privacy"). This is of course assuming the problems you are having do not prevent you booting the device and loading the Settings.
     
  6. Delta517
    OP

    Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Norway
    That's the problem, I cant turn it on :( It just freezes on the booting stage :(
     
  7. Chalky94

    Newcomer Chalky94 Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Boot into download mode then and flash with Odin.
     
  8. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is Odin not only for Samsung phones? (and also possibly outdated by Heimdall?)

    Try seeing if you can get into fastboot mode, then you can use fastboot.exe to flash with.
     
  9. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When the menu was hiding/reappearing, did it say "(x) button disabled" or or something similar at the bottom of the screen?
     

Share This Page