How to "reset" my Wii and re-mod it?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by CharAznable, Sep 15, 2010.

Sep 15, 2010
  1. CharAznable
    OP

    Member CharAznable GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    United States
    So yeah, I've had my Wii modded for ages now, and to be quite honest the whole thing is a mess of various mods. Preloader (the old one, that's no longer supported), BootMii, CIOSCORP, and probably some other stuff I'm forgetting too. Point is, I'm starting to get freezes in certain newer games, and I think that getting my Wii up-to-date with the newest IOSes and such would help. And either way, it would be nice to just clean things up a bit.

    Anyway, could anyone help me out here and tell me what the best way would be to just clear everything out and get the latest files available? Thanks!
     
  2. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    A System Update would start you off relatively fresh.
     
  3. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Or use the guide in my sig, in step 1 tell the automod.bat that you have System Menu 3.1, then proceed from step 3 onwards.
    That will uninstall pretty much all mods and remod your Wii in one go. However custom channels will stay...

    Edit: You may need to put this modified config.xml into the sciifii folder on your SD card once the automod.bat is done: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=K202VSIP

    (I really ought to implement a "fix" option into that guide...)
     
  4. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    use comex nand formater
     
  5. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah that will make his Wii really fresh, but won't that also delete his savegames, the rights to his legally bought VC/Wiiware games, etc.?
     
  6. Lexip;

    Member Lexip; GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    Aren't cioscrapped ios's version maxed out? You might need to uninsall cioscrap before updating.
     
  7. elmoreas

    Member elmoreas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    United States
    Did you make a NAND Backup before doing all those mods? If so I can help you.
     
  8. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    oh really? you can help him if he has a NAND backup of his own wii?
    then what does bootmii do?
     
  9. dn_angel000

    Member dn_angel000 Phantom User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Country:
    United States
    Update the HBC 2 the latest version then run an official Nintendo Update from the Settings that will give u IOS58 (If u don't have it already) then in the HBC launch the HackMii Installer and reinstall the HBC 2 IOS58!
     
  10. burritoboy9984

    Member burritoboy9984 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Country:
    United States
    Alternatively, you could hit up the modify any wii sticky, grab the up42.zip, load up MMM, load a cios, and install all the ios files inside the "other" folder. Then you will have the latest ios's.

    -Erik
     
  11. elmoreas

    Member elmoreas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    United States
    If he has a NAND backup made of his own Wii from before it was modded and Bootmii is installed as boot2 then he can in essence return his Wii to about as Virgin as it can get once hacked. And then can try to start over.
     
  12. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He could also use 'ModMii'

    I've used this to 'update' my Pre-Modded Wii when I also started having 'freeze' issues on a couple of games.

    No need to 'virginize' the Wii as it will overwrite all necessary ios etc with the latest versions (although using the NAND backup idea above is a good idea IMHO)
     
  13. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    Poland
    And You are absolutely 100% sure that wii disc drive is working just fine like when was brand new.

    http://gwht.wikidot.com/ios249
    http://gwht.wikidot.com/usb-loader

    Still freezes?
     
  14. Sao Mortel

    Member Sao Mortel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    1 uninstal cioscorp (i think you can use latest darkcorp to do that)
    2. download latest ios and rec cios with modmii
    3. Install them with a wad manager
    4. install latest priiloader
     
  15. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    Why everybody seem to recommend modmii...............I would say run the latest version of Pimpmywii, it will check for every cios and will replace bad ones and add missing ones and it's totally customizable.
    Once you are done with it, your Wii should be fully hacked and up to date and you will be able to run everything you want from it.
     
  16. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That is why I always recommend ModMii -------------------------------------------------------------^^^^^^^^^

    - I tried PimpMyWii (although it was an older version) and that's when I started having 'lockups' on my games - so tried ModMii (when it was known as NUSAD) & I've had no problems since
     
  17. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    Well I tried a ' fairly ' recent version of Pimpmywii, and everything went smooth as a butter knife and my Wii has never been in better shape.
    I feel Pimpmywii is unfairly misjudged , maybe because of some issues with very early releases, but I can assure you, when I used it , it was a pleasure.
    It simply analyzed my Wii and gave me a list of outdated/missing cios, and then I had the option to fix whatever I wanted to fix.
    What more can you ask for ?
     
  18. CharAznable
    OP

    Member CharAznable GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    United States
    See, the big reason I want to re-install all the necessary files on my Wii is because not only are games freezing, but things like the Mii Channel and WiiWare games are freezing too. Or like last night, I tried to load Wii Music. First time, it froze after I selected "Music Videos". Then for the next 6 or 7 tries I got a black screen on startup. Then for no reason at all it worked again, but froze after exiting a menu. The freezes are completely random and I have no idea what's causing it. -_-

    So if completely clearing out all the necessary files on my Wii and re-installing them doesn't fix things, I don't know what will.
     
  19. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    Like I said, PimmyWiiwill update and fix all the problems, why don't you give it a try ?
    "Completely clear" your Wii is not necessary and only the most riskily thing you could do.
     
  20. dn_angel000

    Member dn_angel000 Phantom User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Country:
    United States
    I would just rehack it all over again since the new hacks (Even though there the same version(s)) will overwrite everything!
     

Share This Page