Hacking How to play games on the R4I-B9S?

Do you have an r4i-b9s?


  • Total voters
    8

kyledacat

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
49
Country
Canada
I have gotten an r4i b9s but I have no clue how to play games on it. I switched it to that but I can't find/ use the firmware right( If I have it ). I know how to switch it between the b9s and games but as I said I cant get the firmware to load it just gives me a white screen and I would love to play games on this wonderful card. So if anyone can help or make a video it is much appreciated.
 

Asure

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 1, 2017
Messages
32
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
61
Country
Netherlands
Post a picture of the card. Until you confirm the type, the below information is just for reference:

1. Flash the card back to R4i firmware using the selector. You'll need a 3DS with ntrboot hacked cfw to launch the flasher.
2. If you've done that, the card will indeed whitescreen when you start it (it should detect as touch bomberman normally.)
3. Put a normal fat32 formatted SD card in the r4i, with the 'kernel' files unzipped in the root.

Kernel files are here: http://www.r4i-sdhc.com/downloade.asp
 

kyledacat

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
49
Country
Canada
Post a picture of the card. Until you confirm the type, the below information is just for reference:

1. Flash the card back to R4i firmware using the selector. You'll need a 3DS with ntrboot hacked cfw to launch the flasher.
2. If you've done that, the card will indeed whitescreen when you start it (it should detect as touch bomberman normally.)
3. Put a normal fat32 formatted SD card in the r4i, with the 'kernel' files unzipped in the root.


Hey, I have tried that and still white screened. I don't know why. Do you know which one to use.
 

Asure

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 1, 2017
Messages
32
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
61
Country
Netherlands
No picture, no dice. There's a ton of clones.
Could be your SD card. Try a smaller SD card (mine working fine w/ 4 or 8GB SD cards.) or reformat the SD.
How is the card detected? Are you on a 3DS or 2DS or DSi and if so, which fw?
Post more information. My large glass orb seems to be malfunctioning today, sorry.
 

kyledacat

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
49
Country
Canada
No picture, no dice. There's a ton of clones.
Could be your SD card. Try a smaller SD card (mine working fine w/ 4 or 8GB SD cards.) or reformat the SD.
How is the card detected? Are you on a 3DS or 2DS or DSi and if so, which fw?
Post more information. My large glass orb seems to be malfunctioning today, sorry.


I got it from 3ds flashcards and I got some pictures for you. but they are too large to post. Do you know how I can get you the pictures.Maybe email?
 

Asure

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 1, 2017
Messages
32
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
61
Country
Netherlands
Upload to https://imgur.com/

Also please do not slowchat: You can post multiple things in a post, such as the type of device you are trying the flash cart on, the size(s) of your tested SD cards, firmware versions, things you tested already by yourself, and so on.

Those will allow me and others to help you much quicker. And by asking questions, you are not 'stupid'. Not knowing something does not make you 'stupid'. I don't know how to run a nuclear reactor for example. Stupid me ;)

Also, if that is you in person, change your avatar to a non-personal image.
Something like this https://i.pinimg.com/736x/d0/55/6f/d0556f9d7e248812e5645cde3b80dd35--james-jim-tall-man.jpg
Privacy is a real bigh thing on the internet.
 
Last edited by Asure,

kyledacat

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
49
Country
Canada
Also please do not slowchat: You can post multiple things in a post, such as the type of device you are trying the flash cart on, the size(s) of your tested SD cards, firmware versions, things you tested already by yourself, and so on.

Those will allow me and others to help you much quicker. And by asking questions, you are not 'stupid'. Not knowing something does not make you 'stupid'. I don't know how to run a nuclear reactor for example. Stupid me ;)[/QUOTE]


So im using a old 2ds with a 32 gigabyte fat 32 micro sd card i cant post links in this forum i have no permissions to do that but I think itried all the firmware versions but i can try again i just tried the 3ds logo one again but no luck. I really appreciate this help. Im also using a linux computer but i dont think that will effect anything. I have it so the .firm file says restore b9s flash and my 2ds is on 11.6 the latest version
 

Asure

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 1, 2017
Messages
32
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
61
Country
Netherlands
- Is the card detected as a game?
- If so which game
- The 32 GB SD card in the R4 sounds like a problem here. The R4 will whitescreen with no access to the filesystem.
- Try the card without a SD card inside. Some models give a 'NO CARD' screen after some time.

In short: White screen -> hanging at reading from SD card. -> Try another SD card (smaller one.. 4Gb or 8Gb or so.)
 

kyledacat

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
49
Country
Canada
it is detected as touch bomberman I will try a different sd card and oops I meant 16 gigabyte. my bad but i will try my 32 gig and it says no card without the card in any I can email you the imagur images if need be or if i can dm you ( no clue if on this site ) and I will try my other cards such as 2 gig and any others i have
 

Asure

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 1, 2017
Messages
32
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
61
Country
Netherlands
it is detected as touch bomberman I will try a different sd card and oops I meant 16 gigabyte. my bad but i will try my 32 gig and it says no card without the card in any I can email you the imagur images if need be or if i can dm you ( no clue if on this site ) and I will try my other cards such as 2 gig and any others i have

Looks like a generic R4 then, and so.. a long shot: Try unzipping this kernel on the 32GB SD card and tell us what it does :)
http://www.r4isdhc.com/KerneDownload/R4i-V3.9b English.zip
 
  • Like
Reactions: kyledacat

Asure

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 1, 2017
Messages
32
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
61
Country
Netherlands
If the smaller SD works, and the 32GB does not, it would appear the 32GB card is incompatible with your R4 :(
The kernel i posted does not matter. It has no impact on which size card the R4 would take.
You could try formatting the 32GB card again. But i'm afraid it is not compatible. Sorry.

I modded a New 3DS XL and they come with a 4GB microsd inside in my area. So i just stuck a 32GB in it, and harvested the 4GB cards for playing NDS games on :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: kyledacat

kyledacat

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
49
Country
Canada
So the suggestion did not work so I'm reformatting the micro sd and trying the stuff that worked on 2 gigs then if not working trying the 32 gig and does it play 3ds games... I've been wondering that. i reformatted the 16 gig and it works!!!!!1 thank you sooo Fu*king much

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Does this card support 3ds games?
 

Asure

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 1, 2017
Messages
32
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
61
Country
Netherlands
So the suggestion did not work so I'm reformatting the micro sd and trying the stuff that worked on 2 gigs then if not working trying the 32 gig and does it play 3ds games... I've been wondering that. i reformatted the 16 gig and it works!!!!!1 thank you sooo Fu*king much

These cards play NDS games only.
It's misleading advertising as they twist words and use 3DS so you get the impression it can play .3ds backups.
(It can actually play backups on 3DS, they didn't lie. It's just backups of NDS games ;))

Do as the rest of us, get Paul's freeshop fork, add the ticket db (you find it by googling like this http://lmgtfy.com/?q=freeshop+3ds+titlekeys) and work your way from there. The larger GB card goes in the 3DS device ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: kyledacat

Asure

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 1, 2017
Messages
32
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
61
Country
Netherlands
R4: These cards keep save files, yes. (in .SAV format, created on demand the first time you launch a NDS rom from the list.)
The SD card in the R4 is used to store NDS roms. I do not think there is over 4GB of good NDS games to keep around on SD but that's a matter of personal preference.

3DS: The SD card in the 3DS is used to store downloads. Pokemon Ultra is 3.8GB. Using freeshop your internal SD can fill up quickly. 3DS games save onto the SD card as well.
 
  • Like
Reactions: kyledacat

kyledacat

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
49
Country
Canada
R4: These cards keep save files, yes. (in .SAV format, created on demand the first time you launch a NDS rom from the list.)
The SD card in the R4 is used to store NDS roms. I do not think there is over 4GB of good NDS games to keep around on SD but that's a matter of personal preference.

3DS: The SD card in the 3DS is used to store downloads. Pokemon Ultra is 3.8GB. Using freeshop your internal SD can fill up quickly. 3DS games save onto the SD card as well.
yeah i use freeshop and all that stuff i had cfwfor years but im getting a 2ds xl so i needed to hack that too lol.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    The wolf tried eating her but failed
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    God help us all
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    *little red riding hood grabs the shotgun*
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Well shit my ring camera needs charged I wonder what was stolen from me
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Just opened 10 youtube tabs on my phone in chrome. Not even half of half of 600MB. lol
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Which phone do you have
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    a nearly 6 yr old moto g5 plus
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Not saying its not happening for you. Your image is right there. I just dont know why yours is so high and mine is so low. :)
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    It could be other factors high ram refresh rate etc
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    know a good app to double check? perhaps my phones own memory usage stats is full of shit. lol
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Samsung UI is probably a ram hog as it is
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Yeah. Could be a number of things. My old ass phone has a custom rom on it too so a lot of the bloat is gone, and its not using the moto UI
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @K3N1, I'm using an XCover 5
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    re youtube on phones. Newpipe is the way
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    3x playback speed and no adverts plus whole load of other things.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Until it gets a lawsuit notice
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    Not sure what path they would use for this one
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    On a different note entirely I randomly ended up on a hardware mods website. Lot of stuff for the GBA and DS it seems that I had missed entirely.
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    as well as the option to pay $2 for a surface mount standard fuse
  • Oleboy555 @ Oleboy555:
    i use re vanced
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    VPN YouTube premium $15 a year with a Turkey connection lol
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    D, E, F, G...
    K3N1 @ K3N1: