Hacking How to DLDI patch - Linux

Azimuth

Chicken Teriyaki Boy!
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2006
Messages
637
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
110
Country
Canada
Heres another small guide to help all those who use Linux and who dont have the time to read through the various readme files included with the patcher.

Grab the patching software and the patch for your flashcart from here

Extract the patching software and the patch and place them in one folder

Now place the .nds file you want to patch in the same folder.

screenshot1qu2.png


Open up the terminal

go to the folder we just created: cd ~/folder containing files
Execute program: ./dlditool ./Your Cart.dldi ./Your NDS File.nds

This should be the final result( i patched scummvm-b with g6fl.dldi)

screenshot2qd6.png


Note: There is a t parameter that can be added to patch specific extensions such as .ds.gba, this is useless
since the patcher auto-detects the extension and the patches the file accordingly

it takes 2 secs to patch a file on average

Hope this helped you, id like to here your feedback
 

axx

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Feb 8, 2007
Messages
1
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
France
the patching seems to work fine, but even though I'm using sclt.dldi as a patch, my .nds file still won't launch.. frustrating

very neat guide though!
smile.gif
 

KDH

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2007
Messages
241
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Kansas
Website
Visit site
XP
238
Country
United States
Hello.
I don't understand, but it doesn't work with me 
cry.gif




Ubuntu feisty, M3ds simply


NOTE: Every command below should be run as a normal user, not as root or using sudo.

It looks like you haven't actually extracted the archive. Open the file in your archive manager (Ark/File Roller/etc.) and extract it to ~/bin. Now open a terminal, cd to ~/bin and run:

Code:
chmod +x dlditool

Then you should be able to run it as you would any other command line program (assuming that ~/bin is in your PATH)

Code:
dlditool r4tf.dldi foo.nds


If you need to add ~/bin to your PATH then make sure the following is in either ~/.bashrc or ~/.bash_profile:

Code:
# set PATH so it includes user's private bin if it exists
if [ -d ~/bin ]; then
   PATH=~/bin:"${PATH}"
fi

That will make sure that as long as ~/bin exists it will be added to your PATH every time you login. To get it to work immediately, without having to logout run:

CODEexport PATH=~/bin:"$PATH"

See if that works for you.
 

Azimuth

Chicken Teriyaki Boy!
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2006
Messages
637
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
110
Country
Canada
@KDH

an easier method:

extract dldi tool to desktop,
chmod +x /home/user/Desktop/dldi
su
cp /home/user/Desktop/dldi /usr/bin/
now just type dldi to execute dldi in bash

this is a bit risky because you login as root. I see no need to do this unless you use the patcher a lot.
 

foobar

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
20
Trophies
1
XP
82
Country
I seem to remember a Really Good Reason? for being careful of the permissions set on files in /usr/bin

You definitely want to make root the owner and group for these files, and set permissions so that only root can write to them. Otherwise another user could just overwrite that file with, say, a script containing "rm -rf ~/".

chmod 755 filename
sudo chown root filename
sudo chgrp root filename
 

KDH

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2007
Messages
241
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Kansas
Website
Visit site
XP
238
Country
United States
@Azimuth

True, it is easier, assuming that a person using the method I posted happens to be using a distro that doesn't already have

Code:
# set PATH so it includes user's private bin if it exists
if [ -d ~/bin ]; then
 ÂPATH=~/bin:"${PATH}"
fi

in ~/.bashrc or ~/.bash_profile by default, or they haven't already added it themselves for another reason.

Both methods have the same end result, as you said, so its just personal preference. I prefer to keep programs that only I will use in my own ~/bin.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Damn that's cheap.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Slower speeds for gen4
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I'll reformat and have a 3tb raid0 m. 2 at least
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Lmao that sold out fast
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Yeet the cat.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Good idea
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i thought everybody knew cocktails are like 75% ice
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Yeah but not like this.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's not like they're complaining that their Slurpee is 99% ice or something, but if the cocktail calls for "shot of vodka, shot of vermouth, shot of gin, shot of Campari, three shots of juice, squirt of lemon" and ends up being a thimbleful of booze, that's a problem.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the funny thing is cocktails in norway are only allowed to have 1 20ml shot of booze
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    so..... yeah
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    we're used to only having a thimbleful of booze
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Booo.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    same thing if you want whisky on the rocks or something, you can't get a double
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but you could buy as many shots of whisky (or anything else) as you want and ask for a glass of ice and pour them in
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it's dumb
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Maybe.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    There was a comparison of the number of Ibuprofen poisonings before and after they limited the maximum dosage per box or per pill (i'll look that up). No limit on the number of boxes you can still buy as many as you want, so people argued it was pointless.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    But the number of (accidental) poisonings dropped because drinking an entire package of ibuprofen pills went from "I need a new liver" to "I need a new box of Ibuprofen".
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Here we have ketoprofen that used to be prescription-only because of the risk of toxic dosages, but then they halved the dose per pill and sell them in bottles of six pills apiece instead of twenty and it doesn't need a prescription any more. Yes you can buy more than one bottle but people simply don't.
    Veho @ Veho: Here we have ketoprofen that used to be prescription-only because of the risk of toxic dosages...