How do I manually update my FBI?

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by mestreonda, Aug 22, 2018.

  1. mestreonda
    OP

    mestreonda Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Aug 22, 2018
    Brazil
    How do I manually update my FBI?

    I can not update using .cia
     
  2. NFates

    NFates Wants to understand™

    Member
    6
    Mar 13, 2016
    Dominican Republic
    Probably home.
    You can go to the "Update" command in FBI, or use TitleDB in the app.

    But why can't you use a .cia?
     
    Itzumi and TurdPooCharger like this.
  3. MarKSlasH

    MarKSlasH Member

    Newcomer
    4
    Jun 24, 2009
    Brazil
    I've downloaded the latest fbi cia file, put it on a folder of sd card and install it with fbi. You will need a computer to do this.
     
  4. mestreonda
    OP

    mestreonda Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Aug 22, 2018
    Brazil
    20180822_093058. 20180822_225814.
    the FBI does not recognize .cia files and when I try to update or download some application from this error
     
    Last edited by mestreonda, Aug 23, 2018
  5. Durelle

    Durelle Acadien Einnnn~!

    Member
    4
    GBAtemp Patron
    Durelle is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Dec 22, 2016
    Canada
    NB, Canada
    Looks like a bad Cia, might be currupted. Find a different version from a better source maybe?
     
  6. mestreonda
    OP

    mestreonda Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Aug 22, 2018
    Brazil
    [QUOTE = "Durelle, post: 8233493, membro: 408968"] Parece uma Cia ruim, pode ser interrompida. Encontre uma versão diferente de uma fonte melhor, talvez? [/ QUOTE]
    I already downloaded from 4 different sites and nothing
     
  7. OrGoN3

    OrGoN3 GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    8
    Apr 23, 2007
    United States
    Do NOT use the FBI from TitleDB!!!!
    NEVER download a CIA except from the actual source! In this case, FBI's GitHub page.

    If you're using the CIA, you'll need to download the new CIA and install it (https://github.com/Steveice10/FBI/releases/download/2.5.2/FBI.cia).
    If you are using the 3DSX file, you'll need to download the new 3DSX file and place it in SD:/3DS/FBI/FBI.3dsx. You can download it here (https://github.com/Steveice10/FBI/releases/download/2.5.2/FBI.3dsx). You can also pop out your SD card and put it in the computer to help this process.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    That's clearly not FBI's CIA file. You said your issue is with updating FBI. Is that actually your issue or is your issue that you can't install games? It's one or the other.
     
    Durelle likes this.
  8. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    18
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
    You can try network install, but if the .cia isn't recognized as an installable title you probably have a bad/corrupted SD card or the file is bad.
     
    NFates likes this.
  9. mestreonda
    OP

    mestreonda Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Aug 22, 2018
    Brazil
    the FBI does not recognize the .cia files or when I select it it does not appear the option to install the .cia just to delete the file rename, move and others
     
  10. OrGoN3

    OrGoN3 GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    8
    Apr 23, 2007
    United States
    OK, but that's not what you said in the OP. We can't help you with random CIA's. Make sure they are valid and make sure your SD card isn't corrupt. Make sure FBI is updated, and that you're using the latest version of Luma3DS. Then, you're golden.
     
  11. mestreonda
    OP

    mestreonda Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Aug 22, 2018
    Brazil
    [UPDATE]
    I was able to update the FBI using homebrew but I can only download .3dsx files in the titleDB option
     
  12. zacchi4k

    zacchi4k GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    7
    Feb 6, 2015
    Italy
    Somewhere eating pizza
    Are you sure you're actually trying to install the cia file and not something else?
     
  13. mestreonda
    OP

    mestreonda Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Aug 22, 2018
    Brazil
    yes the FBI says it's a file plus he does not recognize it as .cia
     
  14. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Wolf-husky™ definitely not Lilith

    Member
    25
    Sep 13, 2009
    Antarctica
    Many moons away
    Can you give the actual error code?
     
Loading...