ROM Hack [HELP] Replacement for Nintendo Miiverse Applet

Status
Not open for further replies.

xXDungeon_CrawlerXx

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
2,087
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
Liverpool
XP
3,233
Country
Hey Guys,

right now, I'm working on a replacement for the Nintendo Miiverse Applet.
Replacing the Icon and the Banner was the first part I worked on.
You can see some example pictures here:
DOUkO_UXcAEYPTr.jpg

upload_2017-11-12_4-48-28-png.105683

I've worked on a private Homebrewtool which I want to start with this Applet.
It's a combination of some different functions.

I've tried one thing to replace the Applet.
1. I've created a CIA of my Homebrew which I can perfectly boot from Home Menu itself (like a game).
2. I've extracted the CIA, modified the DecryptedExHeader.bin and the NCCH.header and rebuilt the CIA.
3. I've encrypted the CIA with Decrypt9/GodMode9 and installed it to the NAND.
4. The Application doesn't show in the Home Menu. When I try to boot the App through the Applet Icon...:
- 4b. When I delete the Miiverse Applet (00 00 04 00 30 00 00 BE 02) it crashes instantly with the black "An exception occured" Window (because theres no app).
- 4c. When I install my Homebrew over the Miiverse Title ID, it shows "Miiverse" (it's normal) and gets stuck there (should load the homebrew shortly after).

Here are the changes I did on the CIA to install it on NAND (Left original / Right edited for NAND):

upload_2017-11-13_3-26-7.png
upload_2017-11-13_3-28-40.png


My goal is it to replace the Miiverse Applet with something else, unfortunately I'm stuck with loading a different App besides of Miiverse.
Is there a way to change the Title ID the Applet loads when clicking on the Icon?

Would be awesome if someone could help me out with the research.
 

MrMcTiller

GBATemp's Tiller
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
1,181
Trophies
0
Age
19
Location
Iowa
XP
1,428
Country
United States
OK, so where is the applet data located. I know where the actual Miiverse files are (the .tmd, .app, etc.) But where is the Miiverse Icon located?
 

xXDungeon_CrawlerXx

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
2,087
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
Liverpool
XP
3,233
Country
OK, just thinking that if people want to help with this, they also would want to change the Icon.
probably.
When we've found out how to replace the Applet with another App (by changing the Title ID for example? not sure), I'll write a All-In-One Tutorial.

But first I need some help with this.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MrMcTiller

8BitWonder

Small Homebrew Dev
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
2,465
Trophies
1
Location
47 4F 54 20 45 45 4D
XP
4,735
Country
United States
Is there a way to change the Title ID the Applet loads when clicking on the Icon
I'm in no place to sift through it right now, but I'd recommend searching through various files in the homemenu to see if the miiverse TID pops up and try changing that to another TID.

Out of curiosity, your app is launching correctly from NAND right? If you launch it from FBI it doesn't crash?
 

xXDungeon_CrawlerXx

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
2,087
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
Liverpool
XP
3,233
Country
I'm in no place to sift through it right now, but I'd recommend searching through various files in the homemenu to see if the miiverse TID pops up and try changing that to another TID.

Out of curiosity, your app is launching correctly from NAND right? If you launch it from FBI it doesn't crash?
Okay, have to modify my Application and need to try it again.
I installed my App on NAND as "000400300000BE02" (Miiverse (olv) EUR) and it crashes when I boot it via FBI.
Installed on SD it works without problems.

Getting Error:
An error occurred (ErrDisp)
Error type: generic
Process ID: 15
Process title ID: 0x0004003000009802

Address: 0x00207570
Error Code: 0xd9605c05
 

xXDungeon_CrawlerXx

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
2,087
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
Liverpool
XP
3,233
Country
Okay, have to modify my Application and need to try it again.
I installed my App on NAND as "000400300000BE02" (Miiverse (olv) EUR) and it crashes when I boot it via FBI.
Installed on SD it works without problems.

Getting Error:
An error occurred (ErrDisp)
Error type: generic
Process ID: 15
Process title ID: 0x0004003000009802

Address: 0x00207570
Error Code: 0xd9605c05

Fixed that.
I can boot my Homebrew (installed on NAND with Title ID: "000400300000BE02") from FBI without problem but when I try to boot it from Miiverse Icon, it will stuck at the Miiverse Intro Screen (haven't changed this screen yet)
23517439_1704556289575428_4704512777366135259_n.jpg

We need to fix that, but I haven't found out how, yet...
Please help with that
 
Last edited by xXDungeon_CrawlerXx,

xXDungeon_CrawlerXx

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
2,087
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
Liverpool
XP
3,233
Country
Status
Not open for further replies.

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • cearp @ cearp:
    I'm colored too
    +2
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I'm always coloured.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Turquoise is not a creative color.
    +2
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @DinohScene, That's true.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @Veho, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B03jxGzEaEg -- you're also not a creative colour.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    do not listen to Veho, this man is clearly on drugs and wants you to eat pixels
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @DinohScene, Judging by the looks of things, yes.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I don't deny that I'm on drugs.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    You honest about that? :creep:
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Someone on drugs would be holding a knife.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    no, I'm just holding a lighter
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    trust me, I'm green
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I can see that you are.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's not easy being green.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I came across yet another one of those "gaming on a $2 laptop" videos and I'm irked, again.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    This time it's a "budget phone" that costs $99... on a Cyber Monday sale... if you sign a two year contract with the provider... only in America. It's $600 everywhere else.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Well, can't you just select 'Don't recommend channel' so that YT wouldn't keep recommending them?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Because it's not just one channel doing it.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It could be just YT in general.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's like wack-a-mole, you ignore
    one video and two more pop up.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That happens to me A LOT
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Don't know why that is, but it's really annoying
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Had to unsubscribe to some channels, but they keep coming back
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    So I do feel your pain :(
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: So I do feel your pain :(