1. Sebasuri335

    OP Sebasuri335 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Colombia
    Well, first of all hi guys.

    I was following a tutorial on how to install luma and all that stuff for an old 3ds in the version 11.13, but i had hacked it before, and apparently I didnt clean the hack well or something and i had a problem.
    I'm going to explain the full backstory and hope that somebody can help me a bit, since i'm quite stressed now xd.

    So I hacked my console about 3 years ago for the first time, and enjoyed some of the hacked games and stuff. Then i let the 3ds away and came back at it about 1 year later, i had some problems at the time updating everything, but following multiple video tutorials it ended ok and i enjoyed some other games before letting the console away once again.

    Yesterday for some reason i got interested once again in the console, thought of turning it on and it worked, since i'm kind of dumb, i updated the 3ds before reading anything about how to update homebrew, luma and stuff, then i got the error "missing one firm" or something like that, and after replacing boot.firm as i was advised by some tutorials, it turned on ok and i thought "let's update everything, but first i will need to format it all according to the first tutorial i saw", so i formated everything, ran a script in god mode 9 that was supposed to erase any hack that i had before, and started following the other steps of the tutorial. When the time for the exploit came and i accessed homebrew i thought everything was going well, until it was time to install b9s,and apparently i didnt erase arm9loaderhax or something that didnt let me install b9s, so i followed another tutorial on how to update to b9s, but then the next problem happended: since i erased everything, i dont have luma, or atleast it wont open when pressing start+power nor select+power, and i simply dont know what to do. On my stress i decided to erase everything from the sd card again and im stuck here, the console turns on just right (which i think im quite lucky of), but i basically cant hack it because there are some residues that i dont know how to erase in order to be able to insall luma, fbi and all that stuff again.

    I thought of restoring the nand but it has bbeen 3 years since the last backup i had, and somehow lost it.

    Any ideas on what i can do?

    PS: Sorry for that long ass paragraph and bad english use, writing isn't my thing right now. And sorry for not taking note of any of the errors that i had, i know it would make hepling me much easier, i dont know why i went so reckless into this now, i was way more careful before.
     
  2. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,097
    Country:
    Australia
    Double check you really don't have A9LH by downloading GodMode9 from https://github.com/d0k3/GodMode9/releases and getting the bin file and renaming it to arm9loaderhax.bin, and put that on your SD card. See if GodMode9 launches when you turn on your console. Since your console boots without an SD card,and nothing happens when you hold Select then press the power button, you probably successfully removed A9LH but just to make sure (in case you're not holding Select at the right time or the button is broken, and you might have arm9loaderhax.bin in your CTR-NAND which means you don't need the SD card to boot).

    If it doesn't, that should mean the detection is a false positive. You can ignore the warnings and install it anyway. If it won't let you at all there is a tool around that will bypass the check, I can try to find it for you if you need it. Nothing too terrible will happen if you do have A9LH still, somehow, just means you might need to buy an ntrboot flashcart.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2020
    Sebasuri335 and H1B1Esquire like this.
  3. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen The Backup Reminder
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,420
    Country:
    Germany
    An error has occurred:

    Failed to apply 1 FIRM patch(es)

    Press any button to shutdown



    I know those video guides are strange and bad sometimes… but seriously: Why does one suggest to delete everything including the CFW?! That does not make any sense and is very dangerous.


    If replacing boot.firm did the trick for you, there was nothing from the CFW that needed updating anymore. Updating the tools would have been a simple replacing .3dsx files and installing new .CIA files. Messages about A9LH make me think about b9sTool. It is very careful with this and reports false positives if A9LH had been installed in the past. For more information and overriding the error (at your own risk!) see:
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/a9lh-detected-brick-avoided-11-9.529846/#post-8488867

    Edit:
    Please stop using questionable video guides and continue with https://3ds.hacks.guide/finalizing-setup once you get b9s installed.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2020
    Sebasuri335 and Quantumcat like this.
  4. Sebasuri335

    OP Sebasuri335 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Colombia
    Thank you, i checked the way you said and i think i actually dont have a9lh, so i would like to try bypass the thing and force the instalation. From reading a bit more, i saw that the method im using is called fredtool or something like that, so if you know how to force the install i'd thank you a lot. The one i've seen is apparently for b9stool, and so i dont know if that's the one i should be looking.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I will from now on. The link that you put is for b9stool i understand, so the options im supposed to get are not the same, I don't understand the method to bypass the check xd, sorry for being this newbie.

    From reading some more, i now know that the method im using is called fredtool or something like that, it involves a flipnote exploit that i don't understand a lot, but after going through it, there's where i get the "a9lh detected, Brick avoided" thing. Do you know any way to bypass the check in that method?

    I've seen the thing about updating from a9lh to b9s, but as i mentioned in the original post, i cant start luma, which is needed for the guide, it was the first thing i tried.

    Edit: Just saw a post by a guy with the exact same problem, linked to that troubleshooting page that you linked me to, and he apparently fixed it there, i honestly dont understand a single thing of that b9stool troubleshooting thing, what am i suposed to do? add those files to my sd and start again the a9lh to b9s tutorial?

    Edit 2: Now i saw another post that bypasses the check by renaming a file, but from the zoogie's troubleshooting guide, i understand its easier to brick this way than using that tool that i dont understand xdddddddd
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2020
  5. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen The Backup Reminder
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,420
    Country:
    Germany
    Ah, crap! I did not even have a look at https://github.com/zoogie/b9sTool/releases and missed that it has a new version and completely changed A9LH handling. Bad Sinchen! Do your homework before posting!!

    Are you using the latest version of b9sTool or something bundled from a video? On previous versions the check could be bypassed by renaming key.bin to danger_skip_a9lh.bin

    At this point I very much doubt there is still A9LH on your system and going from current TROUBLESHOOTING.md it should work on the second attempt with the latest version of b9stool.
     
    Sebasuri335 and Quantumcat like this.
  6. Sebasuri335

    OP Sebasuri335 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Colombia
    It was bundled in the tutorial, so i'm not sure im using b9stool, but i do have a file named "boot.nds" that has the exact same modification date as the v5.0.2 (the one previous to the latest update) on the page you just linked me to, so i think it could be it.
    Should i replace that file with the one in the latest update of b9stool and try the process again?

    Edit: Just read the troubleshooting for v5.0.2 and it says the renaming thing. Would it be better to just rename the key file or replacing the b9stool file?

    Update: Decided to take the risk and change the boot.nds file to the one in the latest version of b9stool, it all worked wonders from there, followed the instructions, and it was actually a false positive, so with this update i was able to bypass the check and continue with the instalation normally. I also decided to stop using the video guide and finished the setup according to the written guide. Thank you two very much xd.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2020
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - (hacking, xddddddd, console