help on my r4 won't work with 4g micro sd

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by nodacrunch, Nov 8, 2010.

Nov 8, 2010
  1. nodacrunch
    OP

    Newcomer nodacrunch Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Philippines
    can please some help me cause my r4 won't work with my new 4gb micro sd its just stuck/hang on the loading screen but when i tried it with my previous 1gig micro sd it just worked fine.could some determined what's the problem?cause i need the 4gb micro sd memory space for other media stuff like music and videos and pics etc...
     


  2. ShinyLatios

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    its not r4sdhc is it?
    you can't use SD carts bigger than 2GB on a normal R4
     
  3. nodacrunch
    OP

    Newcomer nodacrunch Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Philippines
    huh?what the? how can you determine if you have a normal r4?i thought r4 works fine with other memory sizes of micro sd
     
  4. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try and use a SD card bigger than 2GB. If it gets stuck at 'Loading' you have a normal R4.
     
  5. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    The "problem"* most likely is that you have an original R4 which does not support MicroSDHC.
    Non-SDHC MicroSD's have a capacity of 4GB maximum, however the VAST majority of 4GB cards are SDHC. The few 4GB Non-SDHC cards are extremely expensive when compared to SDHCs (a 4GB NonSDHC will run you ~$50, when that $50 could get you a 16GB MicroSDHC).
    And even if you DO buy one, they aren't guaranteed to work since they are considered 'non standard'.


    I really don't consider owning an original R4 a problem, since it's one of the better non-DSi carts out right now in terms of compatibility and speed of updating thanks to WoodR4.
     
  6. nodacrunch
    OP

    Newcomer nodacrunch Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Philippines
    arrr..so what i should i do should i buy a r4 that is compatible with 4gb micro sd? >.<

    Is there a way to upgrade a normal r4 to be compatible with 4gb micro sd ^^
     
  7. Dartz150

    Member Dartz150 GBATemp Official Lolicon Onii-chan™

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,383
    Location:
    On a Strange Journey
    Country:
    Mexico
    No, it's impossible [​IMG] , buy another card if you want, personally, [​IMG] I recommend you to buy a SuperCard DSTWO, is the best Card at this time [​IMG]
     
  8. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,805
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    There is no way to make SDHC work on R4, period.
    Please avoid R4 clones as well. I would suggest investing in an Acekard 2 or if you have the extra cash go with a Supercard Two
     
  9. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    No. You should get a 2gb stick and be happy that you have arguably one of the best flashcards for the DS. [Acekard 2i and DSTWO I consider for DSi's]

    Seriously. 2gb is more than enough space to work with.

    If you want to use your 4gb SDHC card, don't get an R4. Get an Acekard 2i or DSTWO. As they're better than the R4 brand in terms of compatibility, working wise, and features.

    Acekard 2i

    Supercard DSTWO
     
  10. MFDC12

    Member MFDC12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Country:
    United States
    i would not say it is one of the best. anyways, why would you consider it for dsi's? they work fine on lites/phats. not to mention acekard 2.1's are marketed for lites/phats
     
  11. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    I consider it that because that's what it's basically meant for, in my mind anyways. But it being one of the best now because of the Wood firmware, bumps it up in terms of compatibility better than A LOT of cards, and with more updates too.
     
  12. nodacrunch
    OP

    Newcomer nodacrunch Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Philippines
    ahh oke thanks for the info guys but i just thought we can hack games and other stuff why we can't the firmware of this flash cart to upgrade its firmware and more features for that where not gonna buy a new flash cart just get a more feature,compability and etc.. im just so curios about that if there a way^^
     
  13. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    Wouldn't that require changing the hardware, and not the software...?
     
  14. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can't do what you ask.

    You have 2 choices:[*]Get a flash cart such as the Acekard 2i or DSTWO which works with MicroSDHC cards[*]Only use MicroSD cards, ie those which are 2GB or below.That's it, no hacking the firmware and no workarounds. While there are a few 4GB Micro (non SDHC) cards around, they are non standard and are expensive.

    A 2GB card can normally be picked up for peanuts. I imagine you have other devices such as a Mobile phone which can make use of the 4GB card.
     
  15. nodacrunch
    OP

    Newcomer nodacrunch Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Philippines
    if i buy r4 sdhc would be that oke and would be compatible with XL & DSi cause i beginning thought to buy a new one for the coming holiday season ^^
     
  16. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    As others have said.. DO NOT get an R4i/R4 SDHC/R4 whatever.
    If you absolutely must use the SDHC card get a SuperCardDSTwo or AceKard 2i.

    Also, it's impossible to 'hack' the R4 to work with SDHC since it's a hardware limitation not a software one.
     
  17. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    No. The only cards of the R4's that work with the DSi/XL are the brands that have "R4i" written in it. But you'd be doing yourself a favor by getting an Acekard 2i. There are a lot of problems with R4's that aren't the original like yours.
     
  18. nodacrunch
    OP

    Newcomer nodacrunch Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Philippines
    if i get a acekar2i would be that possible to plug it to my Lite?

    and shadowsoldier i have a question if i order through shoptemp.net if would be possible to pay through western union cause i don't have any credit cards ^^
     
  19. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    Acekard 2i works on everything, same with DSTWO.

    And if you can put money into a paypal with your bank, pay that way. I think that's the only way Shoptemp accepts payments is through paypal.
     
  20. nodacrunch
    OP

    Newcomer nodacrunch Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Philippines
    aw, that's too bad i don't had any bank account../sob
     

Share This Page