HELP ERROR ret = -1

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by cokeman118, Jun 9, 2009.

Jun 9, 2009

HELP ERROR ret = -1 by cokeman118 at 6:00 AM (1,985 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. cokeman118
    OP

    Newcomer cokeman118 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I'm completely lost on this one. I've done tons of searching, did all kinds of stuff that people said to do in the threads, and I cannot fix this.

    I had system menu 4.0 did the upgrade a while back per the Ultimate 4.0 guide. Everything was working until I decided to use Wad Manager 1.4 and tried to load a WAD file...every time I tried it said ERROR ret=-1. I've read to use a different SD card since it might be bad. I figured this couldn't be possible because Ive used it all this time and it worked fine. So I tried another one...same problem. I know for a fact both SD cards I have are good because they both worked fine before. Also I get this error if I try to use the IOS35 downgrader saying like "you are a pirate, good bye...blah blah blah" I've tried everything to fix this...nandclean with DVDx 3.4 gift fix...or something like that, shared2clean, both seem to work...but they don't fix the problem. Then I read you have to remove you VC/Wii ware games that are installed as wads, so I did that also with Any Title Deleter and it still doesn't fix the problem. Last resort I formatted my wii to it's original system menu (3.2U) Reinstalled the HBC with the twilight hack, installed boot mii, and tried to install a WAD file and I still get the error!! What am I doing wrong???

    If anyone can help I would greatly appreciate it! I don't remember having this problem in the past, even with 3.2U
     
  2. wiiNinja

    Member wiiNinja GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    United States
    Does this happen to every wad you tried? Or have you only tried that one wad?
     
  3. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. carbonyle

    Member carbonyle GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Are you sure that your wads arent corrupted? And try to format your sd card : it resolved a lot of problem (and always unmount correctly your sd card)
    Are you using the IOS 249 as firmware for wad installation with wad manager 1.4? (but if your wii is 3.2 that should not be a problem)
     
  5. cokeman118
    OP

    Newcomer cokeman118 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    ok, it seems my WAD directory wasn't named correctly and was actually WADS...so I changed it and now I can load wad files with wad manager. But now when I try to do the 4.0 upgrade when I try to install cios36 rev13 through network mode I get an Exception DSI occured error and a code dump. Also if I try cios38 through network mode I get the same error and a code dump. So what could be causing this to happen??
     

Share This Page